We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Alvear Palace Hotel(Buenos Aires)
US$452
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa(Buenos Aires)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mine Hotel Boutique(Buenos Aires)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$647
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$535
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Legado Mitico(Buenos Aires)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alvear Art Hotel(Buenos Aires)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
281
175
48
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
175
48
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh ceilingsantique furniturecage liftold world styleheart of buenos airesbring earplugscentral baspent two nightsthree nightsfacing the streetwithin easy walking distanceyogurtthe location is perfectrooneyskieranargentinaelevator
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2009

The decor in the common areas of this hotel was really amazing.

We arrived, and had given advance notice that we were celebrating our honeymoon. We were put in a room (that upon our departure when asked how our stay was and asked to review the hotel on tripadvisor) that we were told was the smallest one. Not sure why. We did not pay the smallest rate. It was nicely decorated but small. Also, our room was very noisy at night- until 3-4 in the morning.

While this is in el centro, el centro doesn't have a neighborhood feel like all of the other old city neighborhoods do. Not a fault of the hotel's, but a downside to staying there.

We did take advantage of the great free tango lessons. Breakfast was nice.

I was just surprised by the room we were placed in. I should note that we did not complain.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetheworldtofind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We were travelling around South America on Honeymoon during January-February ´09 and picked Rooney´s for our stay in Buenos Aires. We selected it due mainly to the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and the hotel´s photo´s on their website. It didn´t disapoint. The hotel is perfectly located in the Central district and Kieran and his staff couldn´t have done enough for us during our stay in BA. This is a truly unique hotel in terms of it´s look and feel. Don´t be put off by the on-street entrance, this is a genuine boutique hotel similar to what we found in Paris and Milan. The hotel is on the restored 3rd Floor of an old building and the antique furniture and decor give the place a very elegant look. Even though it has a very old feel it was spotlessly clean and did a really good, continental style breakfast. However it´s the extras that really make this hotel one to go back to, the free Tango lessons were a perfect Ice-breaker with other guests. As soon as Kieran found out we were on honeymoon he moved us to the best room when it came available and left a bottle of champagne to boot. I´m not suggesting that people try and scam the poor man on this by inventing ficticious honeymoons but we thought it was a lovely, genuine personal touch!! That´s the main selling point of this hotel, you´re really made feel like a guest. If the big chain hotels float your boat then this is probably not for you, if you like something a little unique with a personal touch then we couldn´t recommend Rooneys highly enough. If we´re ever back in BA then there is only one place we´d stay.

Paddy & Siobhan, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padraig_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

I stayed at Rooney's for five days earlier this month. I have nothing but positive things to say. The hotel is adorable and the online photos accurately reflect the hotel/rooms. Staff is incredibly nice and always there to help or offer suggestions. Nico is the person we spoke to the most and our vacation would not have been the same without him- thanks Nico!
I stayed at this hotel with my best friend and we're in our 30's. With that said, we found the location convenient to Recoleta and a short cab ride from anything else we wanted to explore. We also felt very safe (which is important for two women ) and the rooms were suprisingly quiet despite facing the street.
By the end of our trip, I was sad to leave Rooney's. It sort of felt like a second home. I'll definitely stay there on my next trip to Buenos Aires!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zozo0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

Rooney's Boutique Hotel
In my opinion It is not more than an ordinary Bed and breakfast and certainly not a "Boutique Hotel" in my sense of the term.
First the good things:
The antique elevator is may be interesting but combersome to get in and out; if someone does not close the (two) gates the "lift" will not come down and someone must go to the floor where it is stuck to first close the gates.
The lobby area is cozy; the staff is super friendly and helpful, particularly Martin the manager was great and everybody is fluent in English. The organisation, service, including house keeping is very good and the (one included) Tango lesson is fun and a nice asset. The Geograpic location is not too far from the main attractions and bus stops as well as subway stations are nearby. Many good restaurants are close and relatively inexpensive. Shopping for particulary leather goods (shoes bags etc) is much better than at the Florida.

Not so good:
The part of the Sarmiento street where Rooney's is located is not good at all; we found it dirty, noicy and not safe at night.
Breakfast is adequate but no eggs are served or available.
Rooms:
Nice towels, good linnens, comfortable mattresses. nice smelling soap, and even (re-filled) lotion and shampoo bottles.
However; I have never seen rooms where the height of the ceiling exceeds the size of the room itself.
With some exceptions the funiture looks like it came from a garage sale. The rooms are very small with hardly space for luggage and most have no storage space for clothing. There is a safe but the TV has only local channels and a very poor signal' (no exception; only "snowy pictures").

The bathrooms are the smallest I have EVER seen and were probably made in a closet space. There is no room AT ALL to put ANY of your personal stuff (this is probably why upon arrival the towels, soap etc are needly displayed on the bed) . We were offered an "Upgrade" ; the new room was much less than the first one but had at least a very small cabinet to put some of our amenities. We had no warm water but one very friendly female receptionist that doubled as a plumber (her own words) fixed the problem the next day.

The old appartment floor once belonged to a famous Poet and was (poorly) converted into hotel rooms.The painting, wood repairs etc. looks bad and maintenance has obviously not been kept up with. To me it looked like the sloppy conversions and repairs were probably performed by non-professionals.

We were offered 4 days for the price of 3 but in my opinion and compared to equally priced other and much better bed and breakfast facilities in BA; despite the discount it was still overpriced.
In all: I will not stay here again. The place is advertised as a sort of charming, upscale and very de luxe "Boutique hotel". For some it is may be charming but Rooney's is certainly not upscale and "de luxe". At best I would call it an "improvised B and B".

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

we had a very comfortable stay, the Web site was totally accurate , the room was as good as in the pictures and the staff could not have been more helpful.
We only stayed for three nights and it was a perfect location to see the city. It is a very busy, noisy city and our room looked out over the street but this was fine and in a strange way added to the atmosphere. Although it doesn't look like it on the Web site "Boutique" is a good description for the style of this Hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryBond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews