We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #188 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights in February and had a very pleasing stay. Rooney’s is a definitive boutique hotel. From Kieran the owner, to Nico on reception the place is extremely well run. The décor is fantastic and the pictures don’t lie. Kieran told us he bought most of the pieces in second hand auctions. They add such flavour to the hotel. It has to be noted that the location isn’t the best but with taxis being so cheap we hardly noticed. We had a quiet standard double room at the back of the hotel which was a little cramped but hey this is city living. Some standard rooms seemed better than others so if you’re not overly happy with yours you can always ask for another one. Breakfast was a small, simple buffet consisting of cereals, bread and cheeses and ran from 8-10am. Free tango classes run every Monday, Wednesday and Friday so get involved but watch out the teacher Horatio, he’s a real ladies man!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n1cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Rooney's Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2009

Maybe it was my fault for asking for as quiet a room as possible (having read the Trip Advisor reviews!!!), but we found ourselves in a room which was cramped with very little surface or storage space and looking out onto a drab (and quiet!) rear courtyard.
That gripe apart, the public spaces of the hotel are palatial, the staff unfailingly friendly, courteous and helpful and the breakfast very nicely presented.
The location is ideal for mid-town explorations, but the immediate neighbourhood is chaotic and frenetic ... but, hey, that's part of the charm of this great city anyway!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonofagandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

As I travel frequently throughout North & South America it is refreshing to stay in a hotel that does not look like the same boilerplate format of the bigger chains. At Rooney's my wife and I received great personal service and advice on nightlife and restaurants in the local area. We stayed in one of the larger rooms which was more than adequate with regards space and luxury. I have to also say as it is boutique style it may not suit people with kids although I think they do not disuade families from staying.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwardDrogheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

We cannot speak more highly of Rooney´s: beautifully restored building and comfortable rooms, fantastic staff that really looked after us, perfect location to explore BA, not to mention the extras: WIFI, Tango and homemade breakie.

My wife and I had a truly boutique experience at Rooneys and we will for sure be back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevenoz65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay in Rooney's Boutique Hotel in the Capital Federal District of Buenos Aires. The hotel occupies the 3rd floor of a well-maintained building, just off Avenida Corrientes, a busy thoroughfare and the hotel is also very close to Av. Santa Fe which is a key shopping street in Buenos Aires and the theatre district. The hotel is decorated in a French style, with exquisitely decorated rooms featuring period style furnishings. The key strength of this hotel however lies in its reception staff - nothing is too much trouble such as organising airport transfers, tango show tickets, booking and recommending restaurants. The air-conditioned rooms are also kept to impeccable standards of cleanliness. Breakfast is a modest affair and could be improved upon without too much trouble e.g. offering more than one cereal, serving fresh orange juice and using tea-pots for morning tea, rather than having to ask for more hot water etc. A hand-towel rail within the bathroom would also be handy. These are small quibbles though. Buenos Aires is a fabulous city to visit and having travelled throughout the country to Iguazu Falls, Bariloche, Villa L'Angustura and San Martin de los Andes, and seen amazing sights and scenery, it is its people that are certainly its best asset. One thing to be aware of - B.A. has the same dangers any large city of 4 million plus inhabitants would have and the hotel is in a downtown location, so use your 'street smarts' when entering and leaving the hotel, do not display expensive jewellery, cameras or under any circumstances open your wallet on the street. Any porteno (Buenos Aires citizen) will tell you the same thing and all are very security conscious themselves. I would highly recommend Rooneys to my friends, I would also stay there again and once again, the staff such as Nico and all of the team in reception are a superb asset to any business.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Alison066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

The website of Rooney's represents exactly what Rooney's offers. High value for your money - English speaking staff. When the owner of the hotel is on site daily you know that you will have the best service the establishment can offer. We were greeted with smiles from the Staff and owner Kieran. Rooney's is located in the central area of BA within walking distance of all of the attractions and other districts. There is no need to worry about any noise from any of the rooms as mentioned in previous reviews. Kieran has listened to his guests and has addressed the noise factor by putting in double paned sliders in the rooms facing the street along with even more protection of leaving the original windows. We personally saw the work that had been done and we can assure you that Kieran has corrected this without disturbing the antiquity of the building. This is a 100 plus year old building. Kieran has refurbished what was once a boarding house for writers and poets. Each room is well appointed and has it's own flavor. There is a beautiful sitting room to enjoy at night for a glass of wine where you can experience the lights of this theater district. Rooms are spacious, Beds are extremely comfortable, Soft sheets, Plush towels and a Great shower head with a tub. The added bonus is the The Tango Class. Do yourself a favor and don't be shy and take advantage of the outstanding lesson given by two beautiful dancers. This was a highlight! This is a boutique hotel to be enjoyed by those wishing to experience the more realistic taste of BA versus the large hotel chains. If you want what the large hotels offer you are best to stay with your comfort zone. This is a Safe Boutique Hotel with excellent security. We wish Kieran much success with this little gem. Our pictures were taken after a day or so of being in our room. We should have taken the photos when we arrived as our room was immaculate.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Our stay in this Hotel was very dissapointing.
On the positve the place is very clean, and the location is good.
Unfortunately the negatives are many.
It's on the 3rd floor of a building, the lift is quaint "old worldy" however if like our party, there are more than 2 of you then be prepared for a tight squeeze in the lift or and long climb up the 94 steps up to the reception.
We booked a tripple room which turned out to be a twin with an extra bed, it was cosy! The bathroom was quaint, old worldy however the bath was "unsteady" as was the sink.

We booked 3 nights at the start of our trip (we got a promotion deal of three nights for the price of two and a 10% discount if we'd paid US$ cash) We thought it was a fair price. When we asked to book for 3 nights on our return in Feb we were quoted twice the price ( which is definitally over priced especially since we had three people in one room!). I asked for the same rate and was told it was a Janurary only promotion.

I settled the bill before we went for dinner on the eve of our early morning departure when I returned from dinner I was told they "misscalauated" and I owed an extra US$5.00 ( apparently the airport transfer quoted in dollars was not incldued in the 10% cash discount!!!). I paid the 5 buck's and cancelled our reservation for the return trip to Buenos Aires and I am really glad I did! We got way better value for money and service in the subsequent hotel we stayed in.

In Rooney's we found the service weak, the receptionist couldn't even tell us where the local post office was. On our return to Buenos Aires we did not stay in Rooneys we stayed in a 4 star hotel in San Telmo wonderful service, spotless, excellent location, fantastic breakfast and very friendly and professional staff.

Rooney's is definitally over priced and "punching above its weight", we got way better service and deals in every other hotel we stayed in in Argentina. I would not recommend it & neither would I stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ebscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
Europlaza Hotel & Suites
#153 of 443 in Buenos Aires
508 reviews
Intersur Suites
#186 of 443 in Buenos Aires
141 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#81 of 443 in Buenos Aires
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Atlas Tower Hotel
Atlas Tower Hotel
#202 of 443 in Buenos Aires
167 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#47 of 443 in Buenos Aires
768 reviews
San Nicolas
Globales Republica
Globales Republica
#182 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooney's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooney's Boutique Hotel

Address: Sarmiento 1775 | 3rd Floor, Buenos Aires CP1042, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#85 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £74 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rooney's Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few blocks from the Obelisco, Rooney's Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires just off the main avenues of this pulsating city.Located in the former residence of the writer and poet, Leopoldo Lugones and amidst numerous milongas, tango schools, cafes, restaurants and theatres, this exceptional building has long been part of Buenos Aires' cultural landscape.Rooney's Boutique Hotel promises a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere with 14 lovingly designed and individual suites, a lounge bar, cafe and tango patio.Thoughtfully decorated throughout by designer Paula Piatti, we promise you an oasis of calm in a city that never sleeps.The exceptional location and the unique building, combined with free tango classes, make Rooney's Boutique Hotel the ideal choice for visitors who want an insight into the real Buenos Aires.Surrounded by the original milongas, Tango schools, theaters, cafes and restaurantes of Buenos Aires, guests will be able to soak up the rich culture of this fabulous city.Rooney’s also offers packages to its guests so that they can enjoy the best destinations of Buenos Aires and its surrounds during their stay at the hotel. Utilising our intricate local knowledge and mindful of the expectations of our guests, we are able to guarantee that you enjoy Buenos Aires to its full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rooney's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rooneys Boutique
Rooneys Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing