We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great people, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rooney's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #190 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed 28 January 2011

This hotel has been renovated beautifully - very charming. All the people that work there speak good English and are extremely helpful. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

The rooms are comfortable, very clean. It was so nice to have a hot shower! The location is close to the subway and Avenue Corrientes (major road). Close to bars and eateries.

Only 10 rooms so it was very peaceful. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezzagallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

The friendly and helpful staff is what makes Rooney's stand out. We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our Argentina trip and returned for 3 nights at the end. The rooms are decorated beautifully and are very clean. The hotel is located centrally, what can't be reached within walking distance is only a short taxi ride away. There is also a Subte station very close by.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPandTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Loved our stay at Rooney's. have been to BA 5 times now and I love the place and I always try and find somewhere a little different to stay. Rooney's is no exception. From the heavy decorative wrought iron gate to the traditional lift, it ticks all the boxes.

It's well located - but taxis are very cheap in BA anyway.

A bit noisy but earplugs worked well.

Staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed our first three nights in Buenos Aires at Rooneys. On subsequent visits we stayed with friends so this was our only hotel experience in BsAs. We liked the style of the place immensely. Just anglo/irish enough to feel comfortable but not like you were staying in a B&B in the Cotswolds. The location couldn't be more authentically Buenos Aires, for better or for worse. They are located in Congreso which is in the heart of the tango universe. Beautiful buildings, some in ruins, are all around you. It's also a 24/7 kind of area, so light sleepers should be forewarned and bring earplugs.

One of the best things about it is the tango lesson in the hotel. It is a wonderful, non-threatening introduction to Tango. We had a couple of lessons before we came to BsAs, but Horacio was a fantastic teacher and we felt that we improved much faster with him than we had at home.

The breakfast was also delicious and varied. A perfect way to start a day of sightseeing, dancing and shopping!

I loved the decor, the colors and the furnishings of the common areas. It felt elegant and comfortable at the same time!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

This is hotel feels so homey - completely different from the experience you would get from a hotel chain. Tucked in a residential building with antique elevator - it surprises me at every corner. From the beautiful architech to the friendly staff to its wonderful location, I feel like I am visiting mom's house. My flight was early and they gave me the room at 11 AM. And next morning since I had to catch an early flight, they prepared my breakfast before its regular hour.

The only regret? I only stayed for one night. Will definitely stay there again! And the tango class was wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJ3000GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

standing in a crowed street, open the door and dropped in into a another century. Surely the rooms are not big and you have to book a quiete on up to number 9. But everything is clean; the service is perfect. Vanesa, Nico and all the othes helped us in every single issue we had. if you want to stay in the center, feel the center of this city, but also look for a family atmosphere with extremly nice people, than you are rigt in choosing Rooneys.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coveredwarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We had a great time staying at Rooney's even without taken the tango lessons. Nice staff, great rooms, good breakfast (my friend ate all the media lunes) with fresh fruit, eggs to order and coffee with hot milk as much as you like and a good central and noisy location in buenos aires with buses roaring pasts. You can close the isolated doors and windows if you don't like noise but we did like it noisy, very buenos aires!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#49 of 444 in Buenos Aires
785 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#52 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 471 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#123 of 444 in Buenos Aires
2,443 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 444 in Buenos Aires
3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooney's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooney's Boutique Hotel

Address: Sarmiento 1775 | 3rd Floor, Buenos Aires CP1042, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#85 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: £76 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rooney's Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few blocks from the Obelisco, Rooney's Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires just off the main avenues of this pulsating city.Located in the former residence of the writer and poet, Leopoldo Lugones and amidst numerous milongas, tango schools, cafes, restaurants and theatres, this exceptional building has long been part of Buenos Aires' cultural landscape.Rooney's Boutique Hotel promises a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere with 14 lovingly designed and individual suites, a lounge bar, cafe and tango patio.Thoughtfully decorated throughout by designer Paula Piatti, we promise you an oasis of calm in a city that never sleeps.The exceptional location and the unique building, combined with free tango classes, make Rooney's Boutique Hotel the ideal choice for visitors who want an insight into the real Buenos Aires.Surrounded by the original milongas, Tango schools, theaters, cafes and restaurantes of Buenos Aires, guests will be able to soak up the rich culture of this fabulous city.Rooney’s also offers packages to its guests so that they can enjoy the best destinations of Buenos Aires and its surrounds during their stay at the hotel. Utilising our intricate local knowledge and mindful of the expectations of our guests, we are able to guarantee that you enjoy Buenos Aires to its full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rooney's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rooneys Boutique
Rooneys Boutique Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing