We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an overnight stay ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Iruna Mar del Plata
Ranked #38 of 156 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Zurich
Level Contributor
365 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Good for an overnight stay ...”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The room was rather small and there was not much space for our lugagge. The window was facing other rooms in the opposite wing of the hotel - however with leaning out of the window you were able to see the sea.

We arrived by car and were able to park the car just besides the hotel - they charged an additional fee for the parking. The wifi in the hotel room worked nicely.

The breakfast in the hotel was good - like in many other places - the choice of fresh food is rather small.

The concierge was very helpful and we were given an excellent recommendation for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bariloche-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    115
    99
    42
    15
See reviews for
74
114
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I was so aprehensive about booking this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor, but I got a great deal on a 3 night stay here over a long weekend staying with my partner. I was very pleasantly surprised the hotel was very appealing from the outside in a great location near to the beach and the city centre. The staff and reception area were lovely and overall the hotel definatly lived up to its 4 star rating. The only down side were the rooms being a little on the small side but they were clean and well serviced twice daily. The hotel had a gym and lovely deck that caught the sunshine on an afternoon. Breakfast was sufficient and buffet style and adequate for anyone's needs. I would definatly stay in the Hotel Iruna again, it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missfinedining78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I had trepidations after booking my room at the Iruna and then reading the reviews here. But none of the negative things I saw here happened to me. I found the desk staff very helpful, they speak English or Spanish and did anything we asked of them with no problem. The room service was amazing, fastest I seen. Don't recommend the hotel restaurant, the food is so-so at best, but there are lots of restaurants within walking or cab distance, and the staff made good recommendations. Yes, the rooms are on the small side, but ours was certainly all we needed. Great ocean view, good TV, hot water, bidet, comfortable bed, top notch maid service. I would stay there again because of the great service, central beach location and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmanblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessen
Level Contributor
145 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Hotel looks ok from the outside, has however seen better days and has the charme of an Eastern European Hotel from the 70ies. Our room was horrible, small, filthy and looking into the backyard and all kind of exhausts and A/Cs. Dinner was also fairly poor and service not really existing. Don't know if other rooms were better than our "Standard" but would not recommend this place. Parking was good. Breakfast also fairly poor.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hskuehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mar del Plata hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Iruna for a week while my husband while he was on a conference. The rooms were small but pleasant. The hotel staff was very accommodating, very friendly and made our stay there very enjoyable. The hotel does not have a pool and although it is next to the water it is not the kind of beach to sit out on and read all day. Overall it was a nice and cute place.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — small
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ewolfe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

I went to Mar del Plata in November 2006. I had asked for a room with ocean view when I booked my reservation months earlier. They gave me a room with two windows facing another room windows. Almost no natural light in the room for being so enclosed. They gave me a room adjacent to another room with little or no privacy, only a door with a latch was in the middle, and I was awaken by the phone calls on the next room. My phone didn't work, they even forgot to wake me up my last day when I needed to leave eralier. Fortunately (?) my next room neighbor was on his cell phone talking next to my door by my bed... And he woke me up. The service in the hotel was awful, the elevators are very small and slow, many times we have to wait for a long period of time to get to our room or to leave our floor. The rooms are not thoroughly cleaned: I bought a sweater my first day in Mar del Plata and a little label fell off on to the carpet floor. It was there until my last day at the Hotel Iruna. Very scary situation. I don't recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to have a good time in Mar del Plata... Of course I won't go back...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — find another hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank charso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2006

I just stayed at the Hotel Iruna during an early December conference in Mar Del Plata. My room was not large by US standards and had no view, but it was extremely quiet and comfortable, with a nicely appointed private bath with bidet and hair dryer. The room had air conditioning (ask for a remote control at the front desk), phone, and cable TV. There was no clock provided so bring your own travel alarm. The bed was comfortably firm, the linens fresh, and I slept soundly. The desk staff were helpful and professional and the housekeeping was excellent including bed turn-down service each evening.

My conference group ate breakfast and either lunch or dinner in the hotel each day. Breakfast was served buffet style with croissants, cold sliced ham and cheese, pies and pastries, yogurt, bread, jam, dulce de leche, cereal, milk, juice, and fresh fruit salad. Lunch and dinner started with a salad buffet including a variety of fresh and cooked vegetables, olives, sliced cheeses, and cured meats, followed by a main course (e.g. baked chicken and potatoes) and then dessert and coffee. Dinner is served from 8:30PM to 11:30PM.

The hotel offers free wireless internet access in the lobby, but since the whole place was full of conference attendees who all wanted to check their email at the same hours, the wireless network was often overwhelmed and not reliable. Guests could be found hanging out in the lobby late into the night, typing on laptops, and hotel wait-staff were on hand to serve drinks from the bar at all hours. An internet cafe is also available nearby.

The hotel is across a busy street from the beach which was full of vacationing families. Excellent shopping can be found within a few blocks. Our conference program was held at the law school building a few blocks away.

Be sure to bring an electrical adapter if you intend to plug in your cell phone or laptop chargers. The plugs in my room were diagonal in shape (like those in Australia) and carried 200V. Here's a sketch of the plug shape:

top: / \

bottom: |

Bus transportation between Buenos Aires and Mar Del Plata can be arranged via a company called Tienda Leon, whose station is a short taxi ride from the hotel. The private vans are comfortable but beware, they are not equipped with bathrooms and stop only once along the 6 hour ride. Air connections are also available.

The Iruna hotel was terrific for a conference venue or vacationing adults; but I would not bring my kids here on vacation, as the hotel does not offer a private beach or pool and there is no lifeguard on duty at the public beach.

  • Liked — Attentive and helpful hotel staff.
  • Disliked — The view--my room had a view of the airshaft.
  • Tips/Secrets — Shop for leather goods at El Detalle in the Galeria Sacoa, Rivadavia 2339. Tiny shop, great deals.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin_from_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mar del Plata hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Guerrero
Hotel Guerrero
#19 of 156 in Mar del Plata
325 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel
Sheraton Mar del Plata Hotel
#9 of 156 in Mar del Plata
875 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Hotel Casino
NH Hotel Casino
#48 of 156 in Mar del Plata
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Ostende
Hotel Nuevo Ostende
#26 of 156 in Mar del Plata
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Facon del Mar Hotel
Facon del Mar Hotel
#3 of 156 in Mar del Plata
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Gran Hotel Provincial
NH Gran Hotel Provincial
#14 of 156 in Mar del Plata
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iruna Mar del Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iruna Mar del Plata

Property: Hotel Iruna Mar del Plata
Address: Diagonal Alberdi 2270, Mar del Plata B7600GYB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Mar del Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 156 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Iruna Mar del Plata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the sea, in Punta Iglesia, strategic and favored position By the proximity to the main theaters, shops and banks of the city of Mar del Plata ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Iruna Mar del Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing