We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get pampered”
Review of Hotel Costa Galana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Costa Galana
Ranked #6 of 157 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second time here, and it's always better than I expect. The spa is well equipped and kept, they have a great outdoor pool and the breakfast is awesome. The treatment you get is their best feature. I recommend it and will come back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank megawati278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here with our family to celebrate the New Year. Staff was friendly and helpful. We used and enjoyed all the facilities, pool by the ocean, heated pool on the third floor, spa. The breakfast served ample amounts of food, but besides the fresh fruit, the quality of the breakfast was below par. For the price you're paying they should really have better medialunas. However, it was a relaxing and carefree stay overall.
Check with your travel agent for promos. We got extra discounts for staying 7 nights and they threw in a handful of free lunches/dinners/drinks.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatalinaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here with member of my family early January. The hotel has pro's and con's but my overall opinion is that it was an amazing place 15 years ago. The place looks a little dated and could do with bringing up to date. That said, the service was excellent and the food/drink was also. The only reason I am being critical of this hotel is that we had to pay USD $276 per night and for this, in other cities, you do get ultra-modern facilities. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: From what I saw, the rooms on the higher floors are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The location was good and the view very nice, but the service is very average. The front desk attendant told us our room was not ready (@5pm), just a few more minutes and then he left and never returned! After we waited for another attendant, they never apologized for the delay. They also never explained anything about the hotel (breakfast, spa, restaurants, amenities, etc.). In addition there are not stairways (emergency only) and the elevators took forever! On a positive note, the beds are comfortable (but ours had 2 twins for a married couple) and the showers are very nice. Overall, it was too expensive for a mediocre hotel, but you paid for the view and location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just spent the weekend in Mar del Plata and stayed at the Costa Galana. It was not what I had expected! Although it did have a great location and the bed was very comfortable, I had expected total impeccable, but found several things not to our liking. First, the shower had 1/2 a glass door and although the water didn't spray out the back (where the door wasn't) it leaked terribly out the front where the door was. Second, the light was terrible. If I hadn't had my kindle with a light attachment I wouldn't have been able to read. Third, the man in the room adjoining ours felt like he was IN our room. He was not a part of our trip, but his phone conversation was!! (and he wasn't talking very loud, it's just that the walls felt paper thin.) The bed was great, but the pillows were big hard foam. I know everyone has their preference to pillows which is why I think a 5 star hotel should have a couple hard, a couple soft, etc. Also, there were no drawers, just shelves.

Next the breakfast was okay. They served many many many plates of medialunas, fruits, some cheese and ham, totally runny eggs, greasy bacon, lots of sweet cakes, cereals, yogurts, some juices, and basic bread. There were two other types of bread, a white roll and a brown one. I would have liked to see a bit more variation in the bread department! Also, they played Eric Clapton both mornings for breakfast! I would have appreciated a more calm type of Sat/Sun breakfast music selection instead of soft and not so soft rock n roll! And last, there was no coffee maker in the room. I have stayed in many many hotels not with 5 star ratings and they had little coffee makers in the room!

The hotel did have its up points. The staff was very courteous! The maid brought us a down comforter on Sat night after I had seen other rooms that had one and we didn't. The bell boys and door men, and the front desk people were all very helpful. When I asked in the morning for a reservation to be made for dinner at a restaurant and then spent the entire day until 7 at night out, I was very happily surprised to find in my room a note with the information of the restaurant and the reservation!

The spa was amazing. Beautiful views, clean, and well equipped. The only down side is that you have to book ahead as when I went at 7 am on Sat morning all spa appointments were already booked for the day up until 9 at night, what a shame!

Next time I will probably look at a boutique hotel instead of such a large one!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a 5-star hotel and worthy of its rating. We didn't try the restaurants (but the menus are reasonably-priced) and forgot to take gym gear to try the fitness club. However the room offers any amenities, sheets and towels are changed everyday, room service is quick, efficient and reasonably priced. There is an open-air swimming pool and a spacious garage. The town centre is somewhat distant, though, approx. 5 kms / 3 miles.

Room Tip: Any room is good, as long as it faces the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank albul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A very modern, luxury hotel, in Argentina well known coastal town of Mar del Plata, right across the street from the beach and walking promenade, perfect for runners or simply walking for pleasure. The hotel has its own spa and outdoor swimming pool, garage facilities with valet parking,excellent dining facility, as well as well appointed and spacious rooms. A very ample buffet breakfast is included in the price of the rooms as well.

Room Tip: Front rooms and corner rooms have excellent ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ines Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mar del Plata hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Mar Del Plata Hotel
Sheraton Mar Del Plata Hotel
#9 of 157 in Mar del Plata
910 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Gran Hotel Provincial
NH Gran Hotel Provincial
#15 of 157 in Mar del Plata
971 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dos Reyes Hotel Mar del Plata
Dos Reyes Hotel Mar del Plata
#11 of 157 in Mar del Plata
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club del Golf
Hotel Club del Golf
#5 of 157 in Mar del Plata
691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Altos de Guemes Hotel
Altos de Guemes Hotel
#7 of 157 in Mar del Plata
175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Facon del Mar Hotel
Facon del Mar Hotel
#3 of 157 in Mar del Plata
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Galana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Galana

Address: Avenida Patricio Peralta Ramos 5725, Mar del Plata B7602EAI, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Mar del Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mar del Plata
#1 Business Hotel in Mar del Plata
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mar del Plata
#1 Spa Hotel in Mar del Plata
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mar del Plata
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mar del Plata
Price Range: £108 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Galana 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Costa Galana, the Mar del Plata Luxury Hotel. Its imposing architecture and European decoration distinguish the Hotel Costa Galana as one of de kind. Located in the Bahia de Playa Grande, in front of the Atlantic Ocean, meters from Mar del Plata Golf Club and near from the financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Costa Galana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Galana Hotel
Costa Galana Mar Del Plata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing