We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great architecture, wonderful palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Gran Hotel Provincial
Ranked #14 of 156 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The hotel is located in a tradicional palace built by the great argentinean architect Alejandro Bustillo. The hotel is in a great, wonderful building. It's an experience just visiting the bulding. Everything has a great character, eventhough, rooms are quite old fashioned, an some maitenance is needed. Location is excelent. It's totally worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlowe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2011

The NH Gran Hotel Provincial is rated a "5 Star" on their site but I would give it a solid 4. As I was told by a member of the hotel staff, it has been recently been re-opened in the past year and a half after being closed for some 40 years. In that distant past, I could see it being a 5 Star. NH Hotels is clearly attempting to bring it back to its former glory. Everything is spacious - the entrance, hallways and staircases, dining room, and the hotel itself. For an "older" hotel, even our room was fair sized and modern. The hotel has a nice indoor pool to unwind in after a day of seeing the sights. It also had an exercise room which we did not use.
Breakfast was by far the best, both in quality and quantity, of any "Continental Breakfast" I've had in any hotel in my travels and I've had quite a few! For example: 5 different juices, 13 types of pastries, 6 fresh fruits, various breads and rolls, ham and cheeses, etc. and bacon and eggs for hot food. We even had whole shelled almonds and walnut halves.
Staff service was very good and friendly from the doormen, to the English speaking front desk personnel, to the room attendants who it seemed couldn't give us enough towels and amenities and to the dining room waiters dispensing fresh coffee.
What can I say about the location - it's on the beach, with a private tunnel leading to it. It also has a private pool on the beach but at an extra charge of 140 pesos (US$35) per person/day, we passed on it. The hotel argueably has the best location in town, next to the casino and the Plaza Colon and easy walking distance to scores of restaurants. As we were here in March, it was slightly quieter in Mar Del Plata and had lower prices than Jan. and Feb.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay and would highly recommend it.
One caveat; This review covers the NH Gran Hotel Provincial and not the NH Casino Hotel across the way! I was told it is the NH Hotels economy offering.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsasric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

...it is in Argentina. A fantastic opportunity is being wasted, but there is always hope.

It has been renovated so recently and there are already elevator calling buttons missing, and nobody seems excited about it. A pile of garbage bags lies at the entrance from the beach, a Spanish omelet served cold from the fridge, and nobody seems to care.

The employees seem to be still in training, and they leave you on hold on the phone for 10 minutes, although they are nice.

Next time, I will go back to the Costa Galana. It is not so convenient for downtown, but the beach is nicer and everything goes so smoothly!

Unless they do something with this hotel and its cavernous corridors, it is better suited for a thriller than for a vacation. Coldest set-up ever.

What a waste!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank janeleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

When we walked into this hotel, it felt like we were walking into a palace. The entrance was huge with a high ceiling and beautiful mural on the wall. The lobby was equally spacious, and we were welcomed by friendly staff. During our whole stay, the entire staff was friendly and helpful., from the wait staff, to the desk staff, to the cleaning staff, to the front door staff. This hotel was built in the late 40's, but is very well maintained. The original wood floors are highly polished and beautiful. The halls are very wide and the rooms are very large and clean with plenty of drawer and closet space. Our towels were changed twice daily. We had a city view which we enjoyed. The breakfast buffet was excellent with many choices, including bacon, eggs, toast, tortillas, cereal, yougurt, juice, fresh fruit, and all different kinds of pastries. The location is excellent, on the beach and next to the casino. The beach walkway goes on forever! We would definitely stay here again when we come back to Mar Del Plata.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaglator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I stayed here in November for 2 nights, the hotel was clean and the staff were extremely helpful and spoke good English. Everything is really big, the room when you first enter is quite majestic, and the hallways in the upper floors are extremely wide as well, I've never seen a bed as large as the one there. I liked the hotel and would recommend it to other people, we paid 140US$ a night in low season, with it's great location I can imagine this going up quite a bit in peak times.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger_Mainfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gonzalo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diego C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mar del Plata hotels
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Mar Del Plata Hotel
Sheraton Mar Del Plata Hotel
#9 of 156 in Mar del Plata
905 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Galana
Hotel Costa Galana
#7 of 156 in Mar del Plata
1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dos Reyes Hotel Mar del Plata
Dos Reyes Hotel Mar del Plata
#11 of 156 in Mar del Plata
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Facon del Mar Hotel
Facon del Mar Hotel
#3 of 156 in Mar del Plata
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#102 of 156 in Mar del Plata
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Altos de Guemes Hotel
Altos de Guemes Hotel
#6 of 156 in Mar del Plata
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Gran Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gran Hotel Provincial

Address: Avenida Patricio Peralta Ramos 2502, Mar del Plata B7600JUZ, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Mar del Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 156 Hotels in Mar del Plata
Price Range: £89 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gran Hotel Provincial 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its dramatic design and landmark location, the NH Gran Hotel Provincial delivers the ultimate Argentinian escape. Designed by famed architect Alejandro Bustillo in 1946, the hotel is part of the iconic beachfront complex that serves as one of Mar del Plata’s most celebrated images. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Gran Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing