We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Fly Fisherman from Nottingham U.K. "”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marble Canyon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliff Dwellers Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marble Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Well, I said I would be back and I did go back, in fact I have just returned to England after an experience that will stay long in my memory.
After my rather negative fishing trip last November, this time it was everything and more.
The reason being that this time I was privileged to have had 2 days fishing the Colorado river with the most amazing angler I have ever had the good fortune to meet in more than 20 years of fly fishing. That man was Terry Gunn, owner of Cliff Dwellers. Terry has an incredible knowledge of this river and all the relevant information that is needed for a successful fishing trip. The enjoyment of my 3 night stay at Cliff Dwellers was completed by the helpful and friendly attitude of the staff of the shop and restaurant plus the company of my " new friend "
Brian from Phoenix who was my fellow angler for the duration of the trip.
Finally, you do not have to be an angler to enjoy the hospitality of the Cliff Dwellers, if you happen to be in the area for whatever reason, stay here, you will not be disappointed.
As for me, well, as I pointed out to Terry one day in the boat, I do really have only one complaint about the Cliff Dwellers and the fishing and that complaint is this " IT'S 5000 MILES MILES FROM WHERE I LIVE ! ! ! "
Tight line to everybody,
Paul Reed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulReed_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great place for a vacation in one of the most beautiful places in northern Arizona. The lodge was nice and comfortable, with very accommodating staff. The cafe is one of the best around, great variety. Fly fishing guide service was outstanding, we had two days of fe nominal fishing. Guide Nat Jenson was very knowledgable and patient. If you are looking for a great fishing vacation in Arizona this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stopped in for a fishing trip for 1 night. They opened the restaurant just for us which was much appreciated. The food was good and the staff was very friendly. The setting is beautiful and the room was clean, but our one complaint is that the beds were unbearably hard! It was very difficult to have a comfortable night's sleep. Just a memory foam topper and everything would have been perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Being a keen fly fisherman I decided it might be a good idea to try fishing for trout at Lees Ferry on the Colorado river.
After flying into Vegas from England I hired a car and drove up to Cliff dwellers in early November 2011. A rather pleasant journey ( apart from a slightly anxious bit over a snow covered Kaibab Plateau ! )
I arrived at the Cliff Dwellers in very depressing rainy conditions to discover that I was the only one staying there for what was the first of 2 nights. Being in what appeared to be the middle of nowhere ( not the sort of place you happen to be passing as a rule ! ) I wondered what the HELL I was doing so far from anywhere.
However, I can only say that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and would like to say a special thank's to Wendy, Ted, Mike ( in the restaurant, keep travelling Mike ! ) also to "Scary" Larry who lives around the back, and Burkhard from Phoenix.
I also met 2 great guys from Phoenix, Brian and Dennis, fellow anglers who very kindly offered to take me up river for the fishing if I ever return to the area. Well, I have decided that I am going to return, hopefully in the Spring.
So if ever you happen to be in this " neck of the woods " stay at the Cliff Dwellers, you wont regret it. A word of warning though, if you happen to be driving towards Fredonia on the 89A,
watch your speed over the Kaibab Plateau, I was pulled over by the highway patrol for doing 42 in a 35 zone ! Fortunately the officer probably thought I was crazy for travelling all the way from England to catch fish ( which I didn't ! ) so only gave me a warning notice instead of a fine.
Tight lines to everybody,
Paul Reed

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulReed_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed there in the old building in the rear and don't advise same unless on a strict budget. Rather, stay in the new addition that is quite nice. The restaurant is TOP NOTCH for all meals. I met and complimented the chef while there. She's a star for sure. I believe this spot has the best food in all of the three places to stay along the Cliffs.

Room Tip: Stay in the new addition building for a modern and more quiet room with views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lckt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Used this as a base of for our travel & sightseeing in the Page area. Rooms are nothing special but were clean and beds good. They outfit Colorado River fishing trips out of here which seemed to be doing a brisk business if your into to that. What really convinced us to stay here were the rave reviews about the restaurant. The food is GREAT! Service superb and very accomadating if you need to go meals for your excursions. Go for the food and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philyslowroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

this was the unexpected delight of a month long road trip. Not only was the food great and the rustic lodge room perfect, but the service was un be lievable. These people will take you in like long lost friends, and on the full moon or the dark moon, the setting cannot be beat.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuerkaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marble Canyon
8.2 mi away
Marble Canyon Lodge
Marble Canyon Lodge
#2 of 2 in Marble Canyon
278 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Page - Lake Powell
20.1 mi away
Courtyard Page at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Best Western View of Lake Powell Hotel
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus at Lake Powell
19 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Page at Lake Powell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Dwellers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Dwellers Lodge

Address: Box 30 HC 67, Mile Post 547 N Hwy 89A, Marble Canyon, AZ 86036-9705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Marble Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marble Canyon
Price Range: £57 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cliff Dwellers Lodge sits at the base of the Vermilion Cliffs and is adjacent to Vermilion Cliffs National Monument. Cliff Dwellers Restaurant was voted one of the "10 Best" 2013 by Arizona Highways Magazine. We are in the center of all the National Parks in the region and an easy drive to the North and South Rim of the Grand Canyon as well as Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks. Lees Ferry, the put-in for all the Grand Canyon rafting trips and a world famous trout fishing destination, is a 15-min drive from the lodge. Electric car charging station, Tesla destination charging station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff Dwellers Hotel Marble Canyon
Cliff Dwellers Marble Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing