We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maricopa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Ak-chin Hotel and Casino is operated by Harrah's. We stayed only one night, but we will stay again. The hotel room that we stayed in was terrific. Very modern, comfortable and clean. The staff at the reception desk were efficient and friendly. We had to catch a train in Maricopa for New Orleans and the train was scheduled for 0530 so we booked the hotel as it was closest to the station. We did not know what to expect and were most pleasantly surprised. The only negative is the smell of cigarette smoke from the casino in the lobby area. Fortunately no odors in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baldur13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,453 - 3,459 of 3,655 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

In the last six months my husband and I have stayed at Harrahs Resort & Casino in Maricopa, Arizona several weekends and have had an absolute ball. Everyone and I mean every employee takes time to say hello, ask how your day is going or if there was anything we might need. Our day usually starts out with breakfast at the Agave or Copper Cactus mmmmmm scrumptious. Next couple of hours are spent by the pool or better yet the swim up bar! On the weekends the entertainment is top notch, all of the bands brought in except one we have enjoyed. Of course the casino is full of excitement anytime! Their new entertainment center is beautiful with movie theaters, children's entertainment center and beautiful lounge area. If you stay a weekend or a week you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room or one with a patio facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErieJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed for three nights in late March while visiting family in Maricopa. We stayed in the older poolside rooms. The rooms appeared to be recently remodeled and were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The room was oversized and had a nice patio and chairs to enjoy the view of the pool. The pool area was resort like with palm trees, a swim up bar & comfortable lounge chairs. There is an entertainment center just a short walk across the parking area. It has a bowling alley, movie theater and a couple places to grab a quick bite to eat. Each morning we visited the Dunkin Donut shop just inside the casino to get breakfast sandwiches and coffee. Best of all the front desk staff at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. On our second day we asked about booking extra rooms for my husbands sister and his brother. The gals at the front desk were cheerful and helpful. Our trip was a pleasurable one and we would definitely
stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed one night at Harrah's Ak-Chin in Maricopa. We have stayed there in the past and prefer the resort rooms to the tower. The front desk personnel were great and got us checked in early. The resort rooms are large and are starting to show their wear, like chipped furniture. They also no longer provide even plastic cups in the room, including the bathroom. They have cups for paper cups for coffee. I asked housekeeping and was told they are no longer put in room due to breakage, but they could give you plastic glasses. We were very disappointed in the pool area. We have had problems with flies in the past, they are still there but not as bad, but the birds have ruined the pool. All of the lounge cushions are stained with bird poop and you really don't want to sit down. They should replace them and find a solution to this problem.
We were also disappointed in the snack bar as the cost is outrageous and that is why no one is eating there. Also we wanted a bottled water but were told they no longer sell water, so they gave us two paper cups of warm water. We ate at the Range and it was fine. Would like to see some other options like maybe pasta dishes.
Casino is fine, we like it because it is small and during the week not crowded. We will go back but hope some issued have been addressed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meharizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Ak-Chin twice in the past year. It is nice oasis just far enough away from Phoenix to have that get away feel. The rooms are nice and large. The pool area rooms have big balconies. Everything is close including a huge entertainment complex located right next door. We would stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Easy to get to, a little out of the way, the rooms were absolutely beautiful & smoke free, very very nice to see! Machines didnt pay out but maybe next time! Certainly would go back! I found the food discusting at this property, cant remember the name of the Restaurant but was near the pool, the Chef should be fired to serve the food we had & the fast food bar wasnt very good either, so if you got better restaurants in there it would be a lot better & people would spend more money. McDonalds is better than both of these places!!! Would never eat there again! The hotel part is most of my rating of Excellent!

Room Tip: Take your own food, there was a fine dining rest. which we didnt try!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyGalonNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My first recommendation would be is if you want Vegas, go to Vegas. This hotel is a nice, friendly retreat away from the city. We stayed for four nights for Spring Training. It is an easy 20 to 30 minute drive to the three stadiums we visited. We arrived later than planned on a Saturday night and our requested room was not available. The next morning every effort was made to get us to our requested type room by 11 am. We stayed in the older rooms and had a patio with a slider. It is refreshing to get fresh air and I sat there every morning and had coffee and watched the birds in the trees. The food was very good and reasonably priced. You can use your Harrah's comps in every food establishment, even the Dunkin Donuts. Every employee we encountered was very friendly. Drinks on the floor are priced well, with specials on the weekend. The casino is small but we had some luck and enjoyed our evenings there after the days at the ballparks. Yes the wi-fi is very spotty but my phone worked just fine. I would recommend the hotel but understand you are not there for a Vegas experience. Enjoy it as a vacation spot.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a room not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maricopa
Ahwatukee Foothills
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn
#24 of 34 in Chandler
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort

Address: 15406 N Maricopa Rd, Maricopa, AZ 85139-2819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Maricopa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maricopa
Price Range: £48 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrah's Ak-Chin is more than just a casino. It is a place to indulge all your senses. From exciting gaming to fine dining and everything in between, Harrah's Ak-Chin is a resort destination to satisfy every taste.When you're not playing one of your favorite games, you can settle into one of our 300 luxurious guestrooms, which come complete with all the amenities to make your stay a comfortable one. The hotel grounds are a verdant oasis, boasting a lush assortment of greenery, including an idyllic courtyard with an exotic swimming pool and swim-up bar.If you're looking for the excitement of a casino, with the relaxing ambience of a first-class resort, both can be found at the same place: Harrah's Ak-Chin.Please note: You must be 21 years of age or older to book a room in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Ak-Chin Hotel Maricopa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing