We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Capricho del Tigre
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Senador Dupont(Tigre)(Great Value!)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$442
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Verdosa(Tigre)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Itaca delta cabanas(Tigre)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Casona La Ruchi(Tigre)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
21
9
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
9
6
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I want to move in. It was like walking into Miss Havisham's marshy mansion in Great Expectations. Filled with books, art and worldly things, you feel like you're truly immersed in the culture that was belle-epoque period of Tigre. This place stands out so much in my memory of Argentina that I couldnt wait to write the review. The location was ideal as well as it's across frmo all of the boat docks for the tours.The entire staff was tremendously friendly and helpful (and impressive English speakers- which is hard to find in Argentina). Every room seems to have it's own quaint balcony overlooking the property and the Beds were extremely comfortable as well.Our breakfast the next morning on the terrace was nothing short of picturesque. Staying true to the Argentine tradition, the meal is light, but the medialunas were to die for, and the coffee was served with hot steam milk. Was such a treat. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landreas54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This bed and breakfast was beautiful. Gorgeous old house, beautiful gardens, lovely staff. Great taste in music. Had to share a bathroom but this was not a problem - it was always clean and was obviously regularly checked by staff. Very comfortable bed. Beautiful doors and windows, fantastic curtains, and the library and artistic setting creates a fantastic atmosphere. Also had good, prompt laundry service.

Breakfast is light and delicious and fresh and can be taken anywhere in the house or outside - it's not a buffet. Coffee was also good.

Central location - easy walk to train station, public boat and restaurants. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. We stayed for two nights, but I wish it could have been more!

I highly recommend this place! I would go back to Tigre and stay here for a week if I could! Cannot commend the staff highly enough!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Peetzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Capricho B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Capricho del Tigre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Peetzy, thank you very much for your comments.
We love that our guests perceive, feel and enjoy "El Capricho".
We hope to see you soon.
regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel in November for 1 night.
The staff who works there are adorable but unfortunately the premises are not to die for.
The big sitting room is lovely but breakfast was served at the kitchen area and there was nothing prepared, we were served on the spot, only a small basket of bread and small croissants with butter, jam and an orange juice.
Our room was quite large and had a quite dated bathroom, but for us the disappointing fact was that the curtains in the room were too small and did not cover the 4/5 windows (corner room)so we had no privacy and in the morning was too bright.
We payed for this hotel $ar 880, which is 80 pounds or 120$us aprox , an extortionate price considering the quality of this hotel.
Location was good though as it was quite central if you wanted to stay in Tigre town.
Unfortunately I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank HappytravelersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Capricho B, Director de Recepción at El Capricho del Tigre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013
Google Translation

Estimados huéspedes,
Agradecemos antes que nada que hayan tomado un minuto de su tiempo para dar su opinión sobre nuestro hotel.
En cuanto a su comentario sobre las cortinas lo tendremos en cuenta ya que prestamos especial atención a todos los comentarios de nuestros huéspedes , nunca habíamos recibido un comentario de ese tipo sobre la habitación por lo que no estábamos al tanto que pudiera llegar a haber algún problema con las cortinas de la misma.
Lamentamos más que nada que no hayan podido disfrutar del desayuno que nosotros brindamos, permitimos y alentamos a nuestros huéspedes a que tomen el desayuno en cualquier lugar de la casa ya que nuestro mayor objetivo es que puedan disfrutar de las instalaciones lo máximo que se pueda. Realmente no sabría por qué ante esa posibilidad eligieron la cocina ya que la mayor parte de las personas elijen los amplios jardines y galerías especialmente en días calurosos como es el mes de Noviembre aquí.
No servimos un desayuno buffet ni estilo americano y nuestro objetivo es servir todo lo más fresco posible, es por esto que no estaba preparado cuando bajaron a disfrutarlo. Servimos los panes caseros recién salidos del horno para que puedan degustarlos en su máximo esplendor, fuera de eso no limitamos la cantidad de pan, café o jugo, es una pena que no hayan consultado en ese momento si es que la primera vez que fue servido no fue suficiente.

Agradecemos una vez más que se hayan tomado el tiempo para dejar su opinión y esperamos poder volver a recibirlos en nuestro hotel nuevamente en un próximo viaje

Saludos,
El Capricho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Excellent stay and security was 100%. My credit card was 350 US dollars when I got my bill with only 2 nights that I stayed and I had to get a taxi to airport and had to leave hotel by 1100 hrs and I was not allowed to stay till my flight left at 1030 at night. so pretty expensive for a US traveler. so I chose to leave when it was check out time. When your retired and on a budget, this is not a place I'd recommend as you really don't know what there gonna charge your credit card till you come back to USA.

Room Tip: security was 100%. My credit card was 350 US dollars when I got my bill with only 2 nights that I stayed and I had to get a taxi (extra 100 US dollars) to airport and had to leave hotel by 1100 hrs and I was not allowed to stay till my flight left at 1030 at night. so pretty expensive for a US traveler. so I chose to leave when it was check out time. When your retired and on a budget, this is not a place I'd recommend as you really don't know what there gonna charge your credit card till you come back to USA.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Capricho B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Capricho del Tigre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Marta,
It was a pleasure having you at our hotel El Capricho del Tigre.,and we thank you for taking a moment to give us your opinion. I would like to clarify that within the 350 dollars, are including all purchases made during your stay, Regarding to the taxi, our check out is at 11 o¨clock and unfortunately it had much time difference with the departure of your fligth.

We hope to have you with us again!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here as a break from hostels travelling the country on our anniversary and it was a wonderful stay. The rooms are fabulous, very traditional yet comfortable and stylish; the theme remains throughout and makes you feel like you are in luxury whilst also feeling at home.. it's a beautiful house. The staff are friendly and professional, and were really sweet in chilling the champagne we bought and bringing it up with flowers and glasses for us. Everything is really clean and there is plenty of space in the rooms, also wifi works a treat. Close to the waterfront so good location, and on a quiet street so you can get a good night's sleep. Breakfast was simple but delicious - home made bread with jams, cream and dulce de leche, with croissants and orange juice. Very romantic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseeker-kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Capricho B, Propietario at El Capricho del Tigre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Kelly,
Thank you very much for your opinion. We are very happy to know you've enjoyed your stay and we hope we'll see you soon!

Catalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews