We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat location”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #28 of 81 Hotels in Cordoba
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

You can't beat the location of this hostel, right in the center of the city. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable for a few nights. The staff are welcoming and friendly and the breakfast provided by a local cafe that you have to walk to was great.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

An older hotel with the only access up steep stairs from the pedestrian mall. Car parking is available 3 streets away at half the retail rate. Bed comfortable, bathroom in some rooms VERY tiny but clean and functional. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast in a cafe 2 streets away was basic even by Argentinian standards, despite the welcoming smile of the owner. A low budget Central city hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank colleen_bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Very good value. Note that this five star rating is not for a five star rating, but for a budget hotel. For this price this is absolutely the best you can get. The rooms are new and renovated with ac,TV,etc. the staff was more than friendly: very helpful, giving local insights, explaining locations and more. This was a great stay, we can totally recommend this hotel if you look for a central hotel with comfortable rooms.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank h-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

You can’t beat the position, smack bang in the middle of the historical district. It sits on a ‘peatonel’ or walkway, so our taxi wasn’t able to drop us at the door. It took us a little while to find it, walking up and down the street with our luggage, as it doesn’t have a great street presence. It is up a rather long flight of stairs, but the friendly receptionist helped us carry our bags up the send half.

It’s a nice airy building with a few different lounges and places to sit (see my photos). The staff have all been very friendly and helpful, much more so than in the hotels in BA. Actually people in general are more friendly here than in BA.

We were expecting the worst for breakfast after reading the rather damming reviews, and almost didn’t bother. It’s not really that bad, and the coffee got better on the second day, and we were treated much better after leaving a tip on the first morning. It was two pesos well spent.

Our room I would describe as just barely adequate. We didn’t have a balcony, but we did have a large window looking out onto the mall below. Lighting was very good, with wall switches for the bed side lamps on both sides, and very bright light at the vanity in the bathroom. There is a small table and chair and some cupboard shelves that we put to good use (see photos). There was a large flat screen TV with a cable connection, and we usually managed to find some English speaking movies to keep us amused.

The front desk is open 24 hours, so you won’t get locked out if you come home late. Bottled water and pop is for sale from reception. You will need to know some Spanish if you stay here as nobody here speaks English.

Now for the down side –
1. The key for the room door continually caught on the lock, making it difficult to lock and unlock. Also the door latch did not catch properly when the door was closed.
2. Internet was abysmal inside the room, more off than on, and always very slow.
3. Water pressure was minimal, although there was plenty of hot water and it never ran out on us.
4. The queen sized mattress was actually two mattreses joined together
5. It was very hot for the first few days, and the aircon unit struggled to keep up.
If you have your own internet account and can overlook the other fairly small negatives, then this would be a good place to stay. We paid just under 500 pesos per night after tax.

Room Tip: Choose a front room that overlooks the street below. It may be more noisy but it's the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed in a separate self-catering apartment which was managed by the Garden Hotel. We were warned that the cable tv wasn't working but when we arrived we found that the wifi was also not working. The apartment itself was nice with a good kitchen and nice location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Its a nice place really central and the people working here are very nice and helpful. The rooms are clean and a bit more luxury then the usual Hostels, therefore also a bit more expensive, but its worth it.

For breakfast we had to leave the Hotel and go to a nearby Restaurant. We liked it because its a place frequented by locals for breakfast too and its gives you the feeling of blending in. Breakfast quality was very good too. Fresh pressed orange juice, good coffee and tostadas and meadialunas.....

Room Tip: We had the 205 with a big bed and a own bathroom for 350 pesos, normal price would be 380. We felt i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The Garden Hotel is situated right in the middle of the old centre. In a shopping street were cars are not allowed (bur taxi's can come close anyway). Our room was spacious, cool and very clean. Staff, Belen and Enrique, were helpful. Breakfast is not in the hotel itself but in Cafe Real, a cafe nearby. Breakfast was ok: coffee, fresh juice, bread with jam & butter and croissants.
Rooms are a bit overpriced (AR$320) but we got a 10% discount because we like the hotel on Facebook.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.4 mi away
Savannah Cordoba Hotel
Savannah Cordoba Hotel
#22 of 81 in Cordoba
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Felipe II
Hotel Felipe II
#23 of 81 in Cordoba
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
On Aparts Hotel Design
On Aparts Hotel Design
#19 of 81 in Cordoba
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Urbano
NH Urbano
#6 of 81 in Cordoba
824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sussex Cordoba
Hotel Sussex Cordoba
#62 of 81 in Cordoba
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merit Gran Hotel Victoria
Merit Gran Hotel Victoria
#30 of 81 in Cordoba
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Address: 25 de Mayo 35, Cordoba 5000, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cordoba
Price Range: £37 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing