We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully cozy and romantic”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mayer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mayer
Tolleson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully cozy and romantic”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We visited the Creekside Lodge for our 27th anniversary, We were looking to stay at a rustic cabin with some modern amenities, these cabins were what we were looking for.and more, They are larger than they appear, cozy, clean and romantic, They have an enclosed patio with oversized log chairs which are the most comfortable while star gazing with your honey. A fireplace to keep you warm as you cuddle or spend time in the heartshaped hot tub. In room coffe, mini fridge and microwave oven for your convenience. Definetely a place i would recommend and revisit again and again, Pictures posted on the website do not do it justice,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    7
    9
    9
See reviews for
9
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My honeymoon was perfect because of this place. The people were the most friendlyist I have meet in a long time. The room was clean and airy. Big closed in back porch, that my dog loved. Yes, they welcome pets. It seems any size. I saw dogs as big as a Shapard. And the cook, Pat, will make your food great.
The bed was the most conforable. Woke up feeling better than I went to be. Would like to buy that bed. The tub was the most relaxing. Fits two will not trouble. Next time I want to try bubbles.
My husband and I plan on going back for a weekend real soon.
Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Santa Fe rooms on gound level, but porch not inclosed. Western rooms down little hill, but porch is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deniamarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We visited the Creekside Lodge from Phoenix, AZ. We had already assumed that the cabins would be "rustic," but that was something that we were looking for. First thing that we noticed when we walked in our cabin was a bandaid, holding up a broken vent on the wall. Nevermind the bugs or the hard water...and BANDAID?! REALLY?!

As far as the service, Oh Boy, the little waitress that served us apparently had emergency text messages throughout our entire meal. We ordered our drinks (alcohol) I ordered a dry martini, ended up getting a vodka with soda in a martini glass with pickle juice....After recieving our meal, which was pretty good, the waitress hid in a corner on her phone until my husband had to get up and ask for the bill. She stepped outside for about 15 minutes, at which point, my husband walked out to get her and found her and the cook smoking. He politely asked her for the bill again, and she replyed that she would be in, in a minute.

Food was good, TERRIBLE service.

10-19/10-20-2012

Room Tip: Find another place to eat, atleast another waitress
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Brook, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Dave Pizer's Creekside Preserve, in the Arizona High Desert gives a fascinating glimpse of the Old West. You have a choice between a room in the main lodge or a cozy cabin near the nearby Big Bug Creek. (Don't worry about the name, I did not see any big bugs around!) There are great hiking trails, available horseback riding and often an old time prospector can sometimes be seen using his sluice to extract flakes and even nuggets of gold from the creek. There is also a nice restaurant in the lower level of the main lodge. Despite its rustic 19th century appearance from the outside all kinds of modern amenities are available. The Preserve is located on Highway 69 and a 20 to 30 minute drive from historic cowboy town of Prescott. There are fascinating firearms stores in the area. The owner Dave Pizer has lots of histoical information to share with guests.

Room Tip: Cabins at the far end from the lodge are especially secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I thought that this place would be a great little getaway for a daytrip from Phoenix. Because of the hard water, we could not use the heart-shaped jacuzzi (which was one of the main selling points for us); the water made us itch like mad. The biggest downside to our trip was thinking that a nice dinner at the lodge on site would be great. There was one girl working who was obviously the waitress, bartender, and cook, all in one. We both ordered the $14.95 steak dinner, which is a good price for the amount of food we received. However, the vegetables (corn) were microwaved - and barely warm, the "baked" potatoes were also microwaved - and hard; and the steaks were not cooked to order. Mine was cold in the milddle, and I was only able to eat a few bites before becoming violently ill. Needless to say, we will not be returning to Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthem, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed one night in one of the Santa Fe style cabins (with a pet). The cabin wasn't a log cabin. It was more of a stucco style. It was clean and quaint with a nice deck off of the back. We had cabin #8 which was a handicapped cabin (even though none of us are handicapped). It was the last cabin in the row of SantaFe style cabins and had a big bathroom and you could drive your car down the hill to park and unload right in front of this particular cabin. Not so for the other cabins which required a walk from up the hill a bit. You are allowed to drive your car down the hill just to unload but are not allowed to park. The other cabins which are not SantaFe style are in a separate area not far. I think they are Western theme.
Check-in was efficient and friendly. Although there are warnings everywhere about 1000 ways to get stung, eaten or otherwise killed by local critters, none of which we saw. We did see big black beetles and a lizard.
The restaurant/bar wasn't fancy but you got huge servings for a reasonable price. "Peanut" the gal who waited on and cooked our meal was a real go getter!
All in all this was a nice cabin for a weekend get away for 3 people. Any more than 2 or 3 in this small cabin would be a pretty tight squeeze. The cabin did have a microwave, fridge and sink which was convenient. WiFi didn't work in the cabin but supposedly it did in the lobby of the registration area.
The Creekside cabins are located a short distance off of Hwy. 69 and not far from I17. But there is not anything close unless you want to go into Precott Valley or Prescott which is an easy drive but some 25 miles away.
I would stay here again since it only took us about 25 minutes from Anthem to get to this cabin.
So for a 25-30 minute drive we can have cooler temps and different landscape other than desert.
I would recommend Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins to family and friends.
Safe Travels!
/scarlett329

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Was looking for a little special get-away for my wife's birthday. Even though the property is not to far from Phoenix, it looked fabulous and romantic online. Went on a Sunday night. It was everything I hoped for. Cute cabin surrounded by trees, log furniture, heart shaped jacuzzi right next to the bed, small kitchen area, screened porch and a fabulous fireplace. All this for 75 dollars???? I have spent hundreds on cabins not a quarter as nice in the white mountains. Prescott was a leisurely ride away and a wonderful dinner was found. We even headed up 89A to Jerome for something to do. It was a perfect getaway that was very reasonable. My wife had the free continental breakfast and I had ham, hash brown casserole (yum) and a cinnamon roll, all served with a smile and unlimited coffee, total bill, $5.40. What a deal. Yeah, the grounds could use some updating, but the cabins are fantastic. No water in the creek but hey, I knew that going in. The expensive cabins in the mountains had no water in the creek either. For the money you will spend your getting a DEAL! If you really want to complain about a place, pay your 300 plus a night and then you have a right to complain.

Room Tip: They have 2 kinds of cabins, the newer ones are stucco and have beehive fireplaces, the older ones h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayer
16.3 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#10 of 22 in Prescott
37 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Prescott Valley
19.0 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#2 of 22 in Prescott
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
791 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#6 of 22 in Prescott
495 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins

Property: Creekside Preserve Lodge and Guest Cabins
Address: 11255 S.s.r. 69, Mayer, AZ 86333
Region: United States > Arizona > Mayer
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mayer
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins on the creek with in-room red, heart-shaped Jacuzzi hot tubs and fireplaces. On site resaurant & saloon for dinner. Seculded feel but highway access. Cabin back porches back up to Big Bug Creek area. Watch wild animals from your back porch. Bring you dog or horse. Close to Prescott, Sedona, Jerome and Crown King, casinos, forrest, high desert, golf courses, & more! Cabins start at $79 a night mid week, $119 a night on week ends & holiday periods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Creekside Preserve Lodge And Guest Cabins Hotel Mayer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing