We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mayer
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My husband and I have spent many getaway weekends at the Creekside Preserve Lodge. The cabins are cozy and most feature heart-shaped Jacuzzi tubs, gas fireplaces and views of Big Bug Creek.
In-house dining further enhances the experience.
We've also scheduled several company parties and business meetings as well over the years.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindySueT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is our 3rd visit to the Creekside Cabins.....my husband I love the quiet,rustic and the cozy cabins. We really enjoy the fireplace, the in-room heart shaped hot tub and the restraunt is just steps away for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff has always been very friendly and welcoming. If you are looking for a nice,quiet weekend or a place to use as your "base camp" this is it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We visited the Creekside Lodge for our 27th anniversary, We were looking to stay at a rustic cabin with some modern amenities, these cabins were what we were looking for.and more, They are larger than they appear, cozy, clean and romantic, They have an enclosed patio with oversized log chairs which are the most comfortable while star gazing with your honey. A fireplace to keep you warm as you cuddle or spend time in the heartshaped hot tub. In room coffe, mini fridge and microwave oven for your convenience. Definetely a place i would recommend and revisit again and again, Pictures posted on the website do not do it justice,

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

My honeymoon was perfect because of this place. The people were the most friendlyist I have meet in a long time. The room was clean and airy. Big closed in back porch, that my dog loved. Yes, they welcome pets. It seems any size. I saw dogs as big as a Shapard. And the cook, Pat, will make your food great.
The bed was the most conforable. Woke up feeling better than I went to be. Would like to buy that bed. The tub was the most relaxing. Fits two will not trouble. Next time I want to try bubbles.
My husband and I plan on going back for a weekend real soon.
Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Santa Fe rooms on gound level, but porch not inclosed. Western rooms down little hill, but porch is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniamarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We visited the Creekside Lodge from Phoenix, AZ. We had already assumed that the cabins would be "rustic," but that was something that we were looking for. First thing that we noticed when we walked in our cabin was a bandaid, holding up a broken vent on the wall. Nevermind the bugs or the hard water...and BANDAID?! REALLY?!

As far as the service, Oh Boy, the little waitress that served us apparently had emergency text messages throughout our entire meal. We ordered our drinks (alcohol) I ordered a dry martini, ended up getting a vodka with soda in a martini glass with pickle juice....After recieving our meal, which was pretty good, the waitress hid in a corner on her phone until my husband had to get up and ask for the bill. She stepped outside for about 15 minutes, at which point, my husband walked out to get her and found her and the cook smoking. He politely asked her for the bill again, and she replyed that she would be in, in a minute.

Food was good, TERRIBLE service.

10-19/10-20-2012

Room Tip: Find another place to eat, atleast another waitress
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Dave Pizer's Creekside Preserve, in the Arizona High Desert gives a fascinating glimpse of the Old West. You have a choice between a room in the main lodge or a cozy cabin near the nearby Big Bug Creek. (Don't worry about the name, I did not see any big bugs around!) There are great hiking trails, available horseback riding and often an old time prospector can sometimes be seen using his sluice to extract flakes and even nuggets of gold from the creek. There is also a nice restaurant in the lower level of the main lodge. Despite its rustic 19th century appearance from the outside all kinds of modern amenities are available. The Preserve is located on Highway 69 and a 20 to 30 minute drive from historic cowboy town of Prescott. There are fascinating firearms stores in the area. The owner Dave Pizer has lots of histoical information to share with guests.

Room Tip: Cabins at the far end from the lodge are especially secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 537AndrewP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife and I thought that this place would be a great little getaway for a daytrip from Phoenix. Because of the hard water, we could not use the heart-shaped jacuzzi (which was one of the main selling points for us); the water made us itch like mad. The biggest downside to our trip was thinking that a nice dinner at the lodge on site would be great. There was one girl working who was obviously the waitress, bartender, and cook, all in one. We both ordered the $14.95 steak dinner, which is a good price for the amount of food we received. However, the vegetables (corn) were microwaved - and barely warm, the "baked" potatoes were also microwaved - and hard; and the steaks were not cooked to order. Mine was cold in the milddle, and I was only able to eat a few bites before becoming violently ill. Needless to say, we will not be returning to Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayer
16.3 mi away
The Forest Villas Hotel
The Forest Villas Hotel
#12 of 22 in Prescott
61 reviews
19 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#7 of 22 in Prescott
852 reviews
19 mi away
Grand Highland Hotel
Grand Highland Hotel
#1 of 22 in Prescott
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Prescott Valley
18.3 mi away
Best Western Prescottonian
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins

Address: 11255 South Highway 69, Mayer, AZ 86333-5923
Region: United States > Arizona > Mayer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mayer
Price Range: £65 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins on the creek with in-room red, heart-shaped Jacuzzi hot tubs and fireplaces. The Old West Steakhouse is the onsite restaurant & saloon for dinner. Secluded feel but highway access. Cabin back porches back up to Big Bug Creek area. Watch wild animals from your back porch. Bring you dog or horse. Close to Prescott, Sedona, Jerome and Crown King, casinos, forest, high desert, golf courses, & more! Cabins start at $99 a night midweek, $139 a night on weekends & holiday periods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Creekside Preserve Lodge and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creekside Preserve Lodge And Guest Cabins Hotel Mayer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing