We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of Diplomatic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomatic Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Spent 4 nights here after driving from Vina Del Mar through Los Andes. Excellent service right from the check in, valet service, very smooth and friendly service and all the staff spoke some English to compliment our rudimentary Spanish. Wine tasting in early evening is a nice touch and gratis. La Bourgnone Restaurant is very very good for an evening dinner. Breakfast is included and substantial and varied. Fitness club is one of the best I've seen in any hotel anywhere, very clean and well maintained with a nice outdoor pool and hot tubs. Rooms are huge and well appointed, robes supplied etc.. We were pleasantly surprised as this hotel would not be out of place in any major urban area in the world. We found the price very reasonable.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a view of the Andes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaGecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    675
    143
    39
    20
See reviews for
441
1,052
48
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary although we are an American couple living in Mendoza. We booked a standard city-view room online at a great rate, and upon arrival at the hotel, were informed at check-in that we were upgraded to a corner room. The room was really large, with nice, clean wood floors. This was a nice change from carpeting that you'd find at other high-end properties. The room was immaculate and the bed was enormous, and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The bathroom was super clean and the bathrobes were comfortable. They even provided bath salts with the toiletries. Worth noting is that the in-room hairdryer is really powerful, so you wouldn't have to bring your own from home, even if you have thick hair. I loved how it was divided between the vanity and sink and the rest of the bathroom - perfect for getting ready if you are sharing the room.

The pool, while small, is well-appointed and clean. The gym looks great, but was disappointingly closed for the holiday (as is most of the city - no shocker there).

Afternoon tea in the lounge area of the restaurant was nice, and quiet. We chose not to eat on-site for dinner, as there are many great restaurants nearby. The location is fantastic; tons of great restaurants and sights are within walking distance.

The breakfast was a good attempt at American breakfast. While not amazing by any means, it did the job and the sparkling wine was a great perk. We made our own mimosas and the service was attentive.

All in all, this property has everything you'd expect from a high-end hotel and is an incredible value. We can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSudano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Having travelled by bus across the spectacular Andes Mountains from Santiago to Mendoza, our first stay in Argentina was at the Diplomatic Hotel. We got an amazing rate on the internet as it was their low season. Though it is a business hotel it is in walking distance to many shops and restaurants.
The hotel staff are very efficient, most especially Martin Rodriguez who helped us plan the rest of our trip in Argentina! He was very knowlegeable, helpful, courteous and patient! He also arranged for us to have a room udgrade to a mountain view. All the rooms in the hotel are huge with very comfortable beds. The bathroom is seperated into two sections and was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast is good as was the room service, the restaurant is expensive for dinner but there are many others local eating pleaces close by. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a more traditional and luxurious place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same size, so the higher rate is for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterflyWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hotel doesn´t have any garden inside, and the swimming pool area is quite small. Excelent restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We prefer this hotel to the Hyatt by a mile

Yes there are sometimes some small service errors.

I find the rooms modern and good, no carpet makes them clean and fresh.

Breakfast is good, never had a problem and I really do not have a problem paying 2 usd for a Double Expresso.

The situation is great and the pricing more good value.

Room Tip: andes views high up are always a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertsonTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our large room had a view of the Andes. It was very comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55KTE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We had a nice stay in the Diplomatic hotel, the room was huge but without any atmosphere. The breakfast was terrible, everything was not fresh and disgusting. Otherwise it's a nice place to stay, close to everything. And they organize free wine tasting everyday. It's not a real 5 stars hotel but a good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlineP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiplomaticH, Gerente at Diplomatic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear AlineP3:
Thank you for staying in our hotel. Sorry to read that the breakfast was not of your like: our chef prepares breakfast every morning. I hope you stay with us again.

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
#13 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Huentala Hotel
Huentala Hotel
#14 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#19 of 84 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomatic Hotel

Property: Diplomatic Hotel
Address: Belgrano 1041, Mendoza M5500FIU, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mendoza
#7 Family Hotel in Mendoza
#9 Business Hotel in Mendoza
#16 Romantic Hotel in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomatic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Park Hotel Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing