We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, a view, and a scream”
Review of Diplomatic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diplomatic Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfort, a view, and a scream”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

My companion and I spent two nights here in September 2013. We had booked a twin room with a city view, and were delighted to be upgraded on arrival to a mountain view room. We whiled away the afternoon drinking miniature bottles of fernet (much cheaper at the kiosko next to the hotel than in the mini-bar) until it was time to enjoy the complimentary wine-tasting.

We descended at 7pm sharp, and made our way to the "Wine Tasting Room" (it had a sign on it that said that, so it seemed the sensible place to go). After waiting for ten minutes and receiving no wine, we asked at the desk and it transpired the wine tasting actually takes place in the hotel bar. As we walked towards the bar, we heard from within a small scream followed by the shattering of glass. Tickled and thrilled by this, we hastened our step, but were unable to ever ascertain the source of this aural pleasure.

We were served a small measure of passable wine, and half-listened to a half-hearted explanation of its flavours. We were seated next to an air humidifier which looked like a small UFO, and I must confess I found this rather distracting; that particular wine expert needed to step up her game to get my full attention. She failed to do so.

The next night a different bodega was running the tasting, and we were each supplied with two brim-full goblets of very nice wine, and then a third when we put on our sad-wine-lack faces.

Other features of the hotel on which I would like to comment are as follows:

- Capacious wardrobes (perfect for hiding in).
- Ungenerous measures of gin served at the bar.
- Big bathroom.
- Bits of the bathroom occasionally come off in your hand. Not to worry, they can mainly be fixed quite easily with a bit of brute force and strategic thinking.
- Disappointing hotel slippers: we had to call down to reception for them and they were very thin.
- Comfortable beds.
- Staff were neither helpful nor unhelpful. I barely remember a thing about them.
- Oh yes, I remember: they tried to advise us to hire a hotel car and driver (at a cost of many 1000s of pesos) when all we really wanted/needed was an ordinary remise. I guess that's part of their job though. We didn't take it personally.
- The kiosko next door really is a useful source of drinks and snacks. I advise you to leave the mini-bar completely untouched and nip out for a mini fernet and a Rhodesia whenever the mood takes you.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank AuntJarrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    696
    147
    39
    20
See reviews for
456
1,097
49
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel and have to say that it has remained and kept its style and service level throughout the years. It is a clean hotel with very spacious rooms and nice views, good spa/pool area. Breakfast I would say is average. It offers all that you would expect from a business hotel to offer, but personally I feel that it is too "clean" and even cold, and not cosy at all. But not all would consider this being a fault.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is in a good location close to lots of excellent restaurants. The rooms are spacious, modern and very comfortable Service is very good and very friendly. Our room wasn't available when we arrived at 10:30 in the morning, but we were able to check our bags, clean up in the washroom, and go for a city tour. We had a corner room and enjoyed views of the city and surrounding mountains from both windows. The in-room internet connection is excellent as is TV selection. The breakfast buffet was remarkable. The large variety of food ensured that everyone could find something to their liking.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room; they're large and views are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladvisorNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Diplomatic Hotel in Mendoza.

Our room was huge- a corner room and very clean and had all of the amenities.

Breakfast had everything and was very good.

Great location of this hotel- we went around the corner for a great meal and could easily walk up to the huge park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived at 09:30 in the morning after an overnight bus trip from Bariloche and the welcome was good and we were told our room wasn't ready but were offered access to the gym and changing rooms to freshen up which was nice. We asked when the room would be ready and we were told midday. We decided to visit the vineyards for the day and when we returned at 1730 the room still wasn't ready. We waited for 25 minutes at the front desk and despite asking several times if there was a problem we kept being told the room was being inspected. This is not the kind of service we would expect of a 3* hotel never mind a so called 5*. Despite this the room was a good size and the clean and good value for money at the early rate

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Love Mendosa .Diplomat Hotel suits us beautifully . Rooms large and great beds and linen .
Very close to great eating able to walk to restaurants we like .
Hire a mini bus to take us to Lunch at Familia Zuccardi, which is a must . We also did a day trip to Salentine vineyard and Art Gallery . It is owned by Dutch Royal family .
Again wonderful food and beautiful venue.
Breakfast at the hotel could be better but quite adequate .
Hotel has a pool which is nice in the very hot weather .
Interesting shopping all in walking distance.
Mendosa is a must for all foodies and wine buffs who visit Argentina .
One of our most favourite places

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was booked though agency due to no vacant in interncontinetal . Hotel has a Vegas like grand entrance ,pleasantly decor. Good size room and gym. However the bathroom lack if towels, amenities that a five star normally carries, lack of plugs for charges or any device. The breakfast selection is poor, limited, Lack of service. We asked front desk for help on adaptor, the best solution she have for us is look behind the bed. Concierge closed at 3pm. For the same price and location chooses else where for a real luxury should be .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALIAC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,792 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
#13 of 84 in Mendoza
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Huentala Hotel
Huentala Hotel
#14 of 84 in Mendoza
1,145 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
993 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soltigua Apart Hotel
Soltigua Apart Hotel
#24 of 84 in Mendoza
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomatic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomatic Hotel

Property: Diplomatic Hotel
Address: Belgrano 1041, Mendoza M5500FIU, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mendoza
#7 Family Hotel in Mendoza
#9 Business Hotel in Mendoza
#16 Romantic Hotel in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomatic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diplomatic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomatic Park Hotel Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing