We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach breakfast!”
Review of Sol Andino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol Andino Hotel
Ranked #74 of 91 Mendoza B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cockroach breakfast!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The location of this hotel wasn't too bad.
We booked a double room "con cama matrimonial" they showed us to a room with four tiny beds in a small room it wasn't dirty or too bad so we thought we'd just put up with it for a night. After settling in we noticed a lot of noise coming from the adjoining room. Then we noticed the room had a flimsy door with a pretty crummy easy to force lock between us and the next room and the wi if didn't work at all. So we asked to move and we were put on the top floor in a room with windows that would not shut properly and no wi fi either.
But still not dirty and it was a decent size.
Breakfast consisted of stale bread, stale pastries and was just below average. I got some coffee and went to get a slice of bread to toast and it had a nice juicy cockroach on it yum!
The staff were generally unhelpful and the rooms were all noisy.
I will book else where next time in Mendoza.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighleigh269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    29
    69
    58
    45
See reviews for
65
77
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

In short, don’t go to this hotel…. we moved from hotel at 2 AM… the hotel is incredible dirty, old and not what you see in Expedia specification.

Details:
1) Expedia said was Three Star Hotel; Clerk confirmed to us that is two star.
2) The room smelled like poison to kill cockroaches; apparently they tried to kill a few minutes before we arrived.
3) We could hear a person snoring from another room from ours…
4) We booked a room for three adults; we found 4 little beds for kids or for midgets.. who knows…
5) The beds was really dirtiest (we have photos if you want to have a look)
6) The bulb in the bathroom was not working, the clerk told us that he cannot fix it until next day (and my wife wanted to have a shower); also told us that did not have any other room.
7) We moved to ModHotels (www.the-mod.com), for our surprise we found a four star hotel for 20 dollars more expensive than this one; really good hotel, trained staff, really good breakfast, cleanness is everywhere, pool, nice staff. And did their best to receive us at that time.
8) Refund story:
a. Expedia couldn’t talk with Sol andino staff because they did not found one that can speak English.
b. I needed to personally talk with Sol Andino Reservation Manager; she refused all my claims. This person never tried to fix the problem but was very clear saying that they wont refund any money to me.
c. Later and after hours, I talked with Expedia Agent. They figured out to get refund for 75% of the total amount.
d. I spent an entire morning to get this refund deal (an entire morning of 4 days vacation… was a mess).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgelut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mendoza hotels

Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were booked to this hotel in a tour. It is 6-7 blocks away from the main plaza. The staff at the reception are all friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet offered was nice. It has different kinds of bread, ham, cheese, but no eggs were provided. We stayed here for three nights. The property is old, only one small lift which was probably made in the 30-40's, but still functioning well. The air conditioning is not always working as the same at home. It takes hours to cool down the room in a hot days like 35c yesterday. The wifi at the lobby is very good, though it would be better if wifi is accessible in the room. No need to buy water here. The water dispenser at the Cafe on the ground floor provides water refill in my own bottle during day times.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Sol Andino is a decent 3 star choice in Mendoza. It is well located in the middle of town. Rooms are small, but comfortable and relatively clean. Showers are good with plenty of hot water. Breakfast is basic Argentine buffet with no frills. This is a good choice for a couple nights in Mendoza if you are travelling on a budget and want to stay in a place right in the heart of town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not directly above the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAS96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is a very tidy and friendly hotel in the middle of the city centre of Mendoza. We had a great time there and the staff were excellent. We had an emergency during our stay and the staff helped us out by getting a doctor come to our hotel room within 15 minutes. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, ON
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Hotel was convenient for walking to the pedestrian street or to one of the many parks. The elevator was small for people AND luggage but stairs weren't too bad to the 5 th floor.

The beds were tiny but clean. Same with the bathroom. But didn't spend a lot of time in the room as this is wine country!

Breakfast was included and had a good selection of breads and cheeses. Seemed to be a lot of tour groups at the hotel, so the breakfast area was busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is its location. Great to walk to restaurants and get a feel for the city. The breakfast wasnt anything special but I cant say it was bad since the majority of the hotels we stayed at in South America didnt serve great breakfast. I usually had a ham and cheese sandwich with some milk. The room was dark and extremely noisy. We had lots of trouble sleeping and the hotel staff made noise late into the night and early mornings. I guess by South American standards this is a great hotel but we stayed in better for the price we paid here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordon del Plata
Hotel Cordon del Plata
#61 of 84 in Mendoza
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Crillon Mendoza
Hotel Crillon Mendoza
#37 of 84 in Mendoza
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Soltigua Apart Hotel
Soltigua Apart Hotel
#24 of 84 in Mendoza
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Puerta Del Sol
Puerta Del Sol
#63 of 84 in Mendoza
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nutibara
Hotel Nutibara
#33 of 84 in Mendoza
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carollo Gold
Hotel Carollo Gold
#68 of 84 in Mendoza
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Andino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Andino Hotel

Property: Sol Andino Hotel
Address: Avenida Dr Tomas Godoy Cruz 102, Mendoza M5500GOO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Andino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Andino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing