We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montanas Azules Apart Hotel
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Varese, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This place is excellent for location. It's really close to all the main attractions in the city. We booked a superior double through booking.com. The room was really nice and the kitchenette was adequate although you would struggle to actually cook a meal in there as the kitchenware was not great. 1 knife and 1 fork, 2 small pans and a kettle. We didn't actually use it for cooking but it was nice to make a coffee when we woke up in the morning. I agree with other reviews that say the place isn't very clean. On first inspection, it looks lovely and modern but after a few minutes, you realise that it's not very clean at all. The floor leaves your feet black and I don't think the place was really cleaned in the 4 days we were there. If you are not planning on staying in and cooking but want a decent room with more space than average then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    140
    55
    10
    1
See reviews for
89
119
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This Aparthotel is a good choice for the money for a few days in Mendoza. The rooms/suites are spacious and the king-sized bed was very comfortable. The room and bedding/towels were clean.The breakfast was continental style so lacked variety with no cooked options. The suite had a separated living area that was sparsely furnished but had a small cooking area with a fridge and microwave and cooking utensils. The lobby area was fine and staff generally helpful. The first floor has a small area with 2 computers for guest use and wi-fi was available throughout. There is a spa with sauna and jacuzzi available on reservation without extra charge. The location is excellent being a few blocks away from the main Plaza and 2 blocks from the extension of the pedestrian-only Sarmiento street where there is a plethora of barbeque restaurants to choose from. At just about US$100 per night I thought it was a good choice. My only recommendation is that they should have better management review of the conditions. Just applying a coat of paint to a few places such as the skirting boards and ensuring that all appliances were properly functional would present a better impression.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I booked this "hotel" through hotels.com. There weren't a lot of reviews, but they were all positive. Most of the reviews had no comments which now makes me suspicious of their validity.

I must seriously object to the rating of this place as a 4-star accommodation. It is barely a step above a hostel.

A quick synopsis: the front desk staff is not fluent in English, the rooms are dirty, the amenities are subpar, the food looked bad (processed, pre-made) - I didn't eat here.

You walk into a garish, harsh fluorescent lit lobby. It has a cold, unwelcoming feeling.

The front desk staff was polite enough, but not able to help beyond greetings and arranging a taxi.

The room was dirty. There were cobwebs and cracked, peeling paint. The bed linens are cheap and thin with old polyester blankets. I tried to switch the blanket on the bed with one from the closet, but when I unrolled it, there was a dead spider in it and many other dirty spots. The pillows were thin and poor quality.

The shower, with its dorm style dispensers of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, all clogged and 1/4 to 1/2 full, also had dirty corners that had not been properly cleaned for a long time and scratchy, thin, gray (supposed to be white) towels. I didn't even bother showering my 2nd morning here. (Thankfully I was heading to Salta where I stayed in a proper 5-star boutique hotel.)

It's too bad because the location is really great. However, I tried to stay away as long as I could. I stayed out late and was up and out early because it just felt skeevy. I suppose you could consider this 4-star if you've been hiking and camping for 6 weeks straight.

I don't recommend Montana Azules.

Room Tip: Book one at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdventureLovers
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Three of us stayed at this hotel Nov 19th to 25th,2011.
This is definitely a 4 star hotel and its location is
only a couple of blocks away from Plaza Independenzia which is the main park near the center of town.This is located in a great area for walking all around downtown.
We had a two bedroom suite which was very clean and modern with marble tiles on the floor and it included a kitchenette.Plenty of space and at that time of year the price was $99.00 CAD per night taxes included.Both rooms opened up onto a huge private patio which included tables and chairs and was the perfect place to relax after a long day.
The price included a full breakfast in the spacious and bright dining room. There was
also a wine bar located off the lobby.The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful,
and could speak enough English to be able to help us with any requests.
Overall the location,cleanliness,newness,and price were perfect and we would definitely recommend this hotel for short or longer stays.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventureLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Montanas Azules is a good choice for the price, with some issues... Very big, Superior Suites & good location with free wifi & Breakfast. They also gave us a very early check-in (around 9:45).

The 1st thing to note is the superior suites are huge, but could use some caulk/paint, and a good tile cleaning. They're not noticeably dirty, but my feet quickly turned black after walking a few steps. They face a busy street (Gutierrez), & the windows are single pane, so noise is a factor. Another problem was the shower leaking a significant amount of water onto bath floor when used. The bath floor is sloped to drain, so no significant standing water. The breakfast, although included, is pretty sparse (see photo), & information was lacking, both from printed material in room (non-existent), & staff. To be fair, they would give directions when asked to anywhere, but no suggestions on anything else…

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing either street, or bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeesterTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed for 6 days, originally for 3 then extended. We selected this hotel because the rooms are larger than typical, and it turned out to have nice space and to be well furnished. It has a good work area and sitting area, and separate sleeping area. There are two nice public areas, and breakfast was good.

A highlight was the front desk staff, who helped a lot with getting soccer tickets and providing directions for driving in the region when we rented a car for a couple of days. The housekeeping staff were also very good. Parking is free, and wi-fi is good. Our room, not on street side, was quiet.

On the downside, the business office provided no accommodation when we asked about a discount for a one week stay, or when we asked for the apparent 5% discount when paying cash, which we did. We apparently did not qualify for the latter because the original 3 days were booked through booking.com. This stance seemed a little petty.

Beyond that, this was a good hotel and location for exploring Mendoza. I would rate it excellent except for the management/business office.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hway66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We were disappointed with this apart-hotel. At $140 / night for our family of four, we expected two sleeping rooms plus a sala, or sitting room. What we got, though, was two rooms plus the kitchenette. The couch from the sitting area had been removed and replaced with two twin beds. This defeated the purpose, for us, as we'd hoped to have a quiet sitting area away from where the kids were sleeping.

The other reason we had chosen the hotel was their exercise room and their jacuzzi / sauna.
Through some sort of bad luck, neither was functional when we checked in. They assured us that the gym would be ready in a few days; the jacuzzi, they were less sure of.

When we talked to the front desk, showing them the receipt which described a sala plus two bedrooms, they were unsympathetic. The clerk suggested that Expedia had not described the room accurately. Then he said that he'd speak to management and call me; when he did, all he could say was that we'd misunderstood the room description, and that they did have this sort of room available, but it would cost US$30 per night more. Also, it was indeed bad luck about the exercise room and the jacuzzi, but these things happen.

The following day, the clerk asked if we were feeling any better. I said no, not really. Later, he said that if we wanted to bump up to the bigger apartment, he'd charge us only US$15 instead of US$30. Surely, he said, that wasn't that much money to us.

I felt misled by the hotel, and I think they need a primer in customer service. The breakfast buffet was good, and the cleaning staff was very friendly. They had the gym fixed up in two days. So, they have that going for them. However, in this economy, in this neighborhood, I can get a lot more for my money if I go elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you reserve the room through Expedia, you may not get what you expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#14 of 84 in Mendoza
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soltigua Apart
Soltigua Apart
#24 of 84 in Mendoza
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,742 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
0.4 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montanas Azules Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montanas Azules Apart Hotel

Property: Montanas Azules Apart Hotel
Address: Avenida Rep de Peru 1290 | Ciudad, Mendoza M5500FAZ, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Montanas Azules Apart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montanas Azules Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing