We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, bad hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostel Suites Mendoza
Ranked #62 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Mendoza
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, bad hostel”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Location - close to the center (5 mins walk). Supermarket nearby.
Staff - was nice and helpful

Cons:
Very bad room, no electricity socket in the room. The tiniest shower I've ever seen and to top that the room smelled like an ash tray.

It works 24 hours so if you room is poorly located you'll have all night noise in your room

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    105
    91
    34
    25
See reviews for
22
92
72
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Indeed only suitable for (young) low budget travelers. Don't expect anything from this hostel. Check in took a while as there was apparently a double booking under my name. The room with 'double' bed which I reserved wasn't available. Spaces are grubby and warm. Wifi didn't work properly. Breakfast is very poor. Shower area is almost in the toilet. Not located in the best area. Even the receptionist played very loud music. Yes indeed, it's a hostel after all!
Only positive; airco in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katamsterdam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mendoza hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

his is my honest opinion of the place.
location: from the bus terminal (30 min walk).
customer service: not that helpful
cleanness: place was clean and tidy
bathrooms: in the dorm, 1 showers and toilets for the entire 6 dorm
Bedroom: small dorm with no Air con in the room, lockers under the bed.
extras: 3 computers to use as well as WIFI was fast and available all down stairs
Kitchen room was small with a fridge. You can cook your own food there.
Noisy: very quite,
Breakout area: is next to the kitchen.
Suggestions: power plugs in the dorm and air condition in the dorm.

Room Tip: small dorm rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Positives: good location, just a few blocks from the main square, friendly staff.
Negatives: the dorm rooms are tiny, there are no sockets in the rooms so everyone is recharging their phones/iPads in the breakfast/dining room, the hostel didn't have enough padlocks for the lockers so we were forced to buy ones, there are no common bathrooms with shower, wifi is ONLY in the breakfast/dining room, we had to pay for the hostel in cash (they made a big fuss about paying with a credit card) just after arrival but at the same time the staff asked for credit card details as a deposit in case of any damages.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We ended up staying here 5 nights - although that was more about Mendoza than the Hostel - so there wasn't anything really awful about it. Location is quite good, though it is a bit of a walk to the bus station, and breakfasts are OK (cereal and toast). There was a bit of noise on the Friday night, but nothing major, try getting a room on the 3rd or 4th floor. And it is cheaper than a lot of the options in Mendoza if you want a private room with private bathroom.
Where it does fall short is cleanliness and WiFi. WiFi is poor throughout and as for cleanliness.... There was an empty condom wrapper clearly visible beside our bed when we checked in and several long hairs inside the bed. Cleaning of the room is not every day and don't expect anything more in the bathroom than the toilet bucket to be emptied of paper (and that's not a given). I also don't think it's unreasonable to expect a new towel by Day 4 but I had to be very firm in getting them changed.
Basically if you're prepared to lack of cleaning then it's a fairly good budget choice.





Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The rooms are tiny and basic would be an overstatement. Two beds reclaimed from National Service days and a bathroom that was functional. Do not expect wardrobes or plug sockets. we found the latter and tried to recharge our phones only to short the whole corridor out. There are we found out later sockets in the social/breakfast area downstairs. Fine if you have a couple of hours to kill but you wouldn't want to leave your phone unattended. The staff I have to say were very nice and helpful, All spoke English to a good level. To its credit this hostel is centrally located and the youngsters staying here who were of many and varied nationalities seemed to like it. I however as a middle aged person of I thought high tolerance levels have had to seriously reassess this thought after a thoroughly sleep free three nights!

Room Tip: If you are under thirty and on a budget you may wish to stay here in this great city. It is basic bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunnerheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have not stayed in many hostels and it would never be my accomodation of choice but we went to Mendoza the same weekend as the Chilean Independence Day celebrations so getting somewhere to stay was difficult. We stayed 4 nights, 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm and then 2 nights in a private twin room. The rooms are very small but clean and have private bathrooms although getting hot water was a bit hit or miss.

There is a small kitchen and reasonable sized communal area. Breakfast was a bit of a free for all and so we only did this once.

Location is good, just a short walk to the pedestrianised area where there are loads of cafes and restaurants.

We didnt do any of the organised tours but there were a lot on offer so very easy for a single or less confident traveller. The hostel has an agreement with Andesmar so booking the next bus trip was easy and you could pay with credit card at no extra cost unlike at the bus station itself.

All in all, this place is cheap, you get what you pay for but nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.9 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#2 of 166 in Mendoza
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punto Urbano Hostel
Punto Urbano Hostel
#71 of 166 in Mendoza
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Square Independencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Confluencia
Hostal Confluencia
#4 of 166 in Mendoza
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Lao
Hostel Lao
#6 of 166 in Mendoza
333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel Mendoza Inn
Hostel Mendoza Inn
#30 of 166 in Mendoza
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Suites Mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Suites Mendoza

Property: Hostel Suites Mendoza
Address: Calle Patricias Mendocinas 1532, Mendoza M5500EAV, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Suites Mendoza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Suites Mendoza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing