We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, rooms recently renovated”
Review of Argentino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argentino Hotel
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Found this hotel to be great value for clean, comfortable rooms, similar standard to 4 star in UK or US. Bathrooms looked recently renovated, marble tiles etc. Beds also very comfortable and AC worked well.

Staff very helpful for booking transfers, directions etc. Free internet via two computers in lobby, which were usually available. Pool and garden also nice to cool off after a long day exploring Mendoza, though not a feature. TV had english movie channels.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Poppy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

I looked long and hard to find a reasonably-priced hotel in Mendoza with a lot of character. I couldn't find one, so we stayed here - and we had nothing at all to complain about. The Argentino is a straightforward business hotel, but the location on Plaza Independencia (Mendoza's central plaza) is perfect (there are vendors' stalls on the plaza, and restaurants, bars, and shops all around - a big pedestrian boulevard with open-air cafés is just a couple of blocks away), the rooms are comfortable if plain, and the buffet breakfast is tasty and filling. If possible, get a room with a view out to the plaza instead of on the interior - I think those rooms may even have balconies? We didn't manage to get a room with a view, but even with a smallish window that looked directly at another building, we were very satisfied during our three-night stay. Oh, all the people at reception are helpful and friendly in both English and Spanish. Mendoza is a charming city with amazing food (especially for carnivores! eat at Azafrán), and this is a good place to base yourself.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or a view out to the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessbarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Found this place on Tripadvisor and stayed here with friends for 4 nights while we did wine trips and excursions into the mountains from Mendoza.
I must say, when I first saw our room, our instant feeling was disappointment - this is probably mostly due to the fact that we as travellers are totally spoilt by the quality of rooms in Europe and the US.
We had an 'executive' room with a shared balcony overlooking the lovely main square and everything was just fine - the bed was comfy and the bathroom spacious. It just missed it somehow, but was certainly very comfortable.
We came to really like our room and hotel choice over the 4 days, especially with the balcony and seats - perfect for a quick evening drink before heading into town for a steak.
The staff really were the high point of the stay - every single person that we dealt with was extremely professional and spoke fantastic English - they are a real credit to the hotel and one of the main reasons that, should we ever find ourselves in Mendoza again, we would certainly stay at the Argentino again.

Room Tip: Exec room with a shared balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NumbersONEandTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a night in the Argentino Hotel.

The location is perfect to be in Mendoza City -in front of the main square-.

Our room -standard double- was not a 398 argentinean pesos room at all. Was, at least, an average room -maybe the real value should have been 280 pesos-. A queen size bed with ordinary linen and pillows, has no closet -only a tube with clothes hanging, a minibar with the regular staffs, etc. The room had a central heating wich you can mannage individualy and a big lcd TV. We couldn't find in the room folder any info about the swimmingpool -an outdoor pool that in the website seems to be lovely but it's a litltle backyard and depressede swimming pool- or the massage and spa services -also announced at the website-.

Bathroom was very, very clean as well as the room but was an average one too -I mean, not a 398 argentinean pesos bathroom; for example, you had a shower but not a bathtube and after a bath water filled part of the floor-.

Breakfast was very good but, again, not for the room value -for instance, there is not real orange juice-.

Common areas -ground floor- are surprisingly small compared with the pictures at the website hotel- and nice but pretty basic.

The service of the staff was excelente.

We felt that the hotel was nice but was not at its right value.

Room Tip: standard double room are average, not 398 pesos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gabuenosaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentinohtl, Gerente at Argentino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2011

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments. However, let me disagree with your point of view.

Most of our guests feel the opposite way to you, in fact, we have been leading the province occupancy year after year since we opened in 2004.

Rooms are not large or luxuries, however they are well-equipped and, as you told, very clean.

Certainly your are confused with the spa, because we have never had one, therefore we do not announce it at the website.

You are right, orange juice is not 100% natural, as in all three and four stars hotels in Mendoza, but the rest of our breakfast is all homemade.

Thank you very much for your last comment. It is true that Argentino Hotel´s staff is very efficient and most important, excellent people. We care about our guests, beyond the comfort, we are sure they need good service first than material stuff.

Carina Posca
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Pros - Excellent location just next to Plaza Independencia
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Good continental breakfast
- Good value if compared to other hotels nearby
- Near good restaurants and shopping
- Internet

Cons - Small rooms but comfortable beds
- Noisy air conditioner
- Free parking but must leave the keys

We had chosen this hotel for our first two nights and a different one for our six (6) remaining nights in Mendoza but after checking out the other hotel we decided that the Argentino was the best.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lefty_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed for 6 nights, and changed rooms to accommodate my 6'4" husband, due to the size of beds. The new room had 2 twins together to form a king and the room was nice size-the bath larger than ours at home! The continental breakfast was good and excellent coffee. We were at the front of the hotel right off the square the week before Vendemia and the park was full every night with something new and fun. The sound from the park quieted by 10-11 pm -the only Con was the A/C unit was loud-but earplugs helped that too. Nice staff, excellent service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbrevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

There are good and not so good things about the hotel.
Pros are the location right in the center of town, good management, reasonably good breakfast, free wi-fi, and a good price tag.
The main drawback for me was that the queens size bed I booked was 2 single beds put together with a hard ridge right in the middle. And the length of the bed was shorter than me. And all the rooms are the same. I did not really sleep very good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aturkinnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.3 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#6 of 84 in Mendoza
2,895 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soltigua Apart Hotel
Soltigua Apart Hotel
#24 of 84 in Mendoza
594 reviews
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argentino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argentino Hotel

Address: Espejo 455, Mendoza 5500, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Mendoza
Price Range: £51 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argentino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Argentino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argentino Hotel Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing