We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location & close to the main streets.”
Review of El Portal Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Portal Suites
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights & 3 days. Location was right across from Plaza Chile & close to the main square, Plaza Indepencia. The room included a small kitchen, separate living room w/ dinette table, king sized bedroom & spacious bathroom. The king sized bed is actually two full mattresses pushed together. The beds were nevertheless comfortable & firm.
The room was quiet but from the living room you can hear noise from other guests in the floor. But sleeping was quiet.
The showers were hot & provided good pressure.
The location of the hotel was pretty central to visiting Las Heras, the Plazas, & to San Martin Park. I was able to walk everywhere as the city of Mendoza is pretty small.
The complimentary buffet breakfast was ample & offered a good start to the morning.
The front desk was helpful & allowed us to check in before the check in time as a room was available.
I would recommend this hotel as a base to explore Mendoza. It is rather tired looking but the accommodation was clean, comfortable, & good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiqee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

We spent time in Mendoza before, and after, trekking in the Andes. This establishment was provided as part of the package by the trekking company - we did no research or selection ourselves.
The location was good - a quiet area, across the road from a park, within walking distance of restaurants, shops and hiking/hire stores. It is close to Independencia Square. There was a cheap laundrette across the park.
Reception was neat and the staff helpful. There was a small computer booth for public use in the foyer, and responsive wifi in the room.
Breakfast was a self-serve selection of cold foods (fruits, ham, cheese, cereals, etc), juice and coffee/tea, and toast, which, whilst not breath-taking, was fine. As well as the toaster, there was a microwave oven (eg, to melt cheese or heat milk).
Our room was large, with a double bed in a separate bedroom, 2 couches which doubled as single beds, and a roll-away bed. It was air-conditioned, with a small verandah too. The bedroom and living rooms both had TVs. The was a dining table and chairs, and small kitchonette with fridge, sink and microwave oven. The bedroom had a safe.
There was only bathroom, with bath/shower, toilet, bidet and vanity with some toiletries.
Overall, the room was tired, but adequate.
Considering we were about to (or had just returned from) hiking and living in tents in the Andes, it was fine. This was not the focal point of the trip, so it was not a matter of being delighted or disappointed with the accommodation. It was a staging point, or a recovery point, depending on which end of the trip we were on, and it was brilliant to have so much room to spread out the hiking gear and the hired gear, for packing purposes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Quiet, civilized, great value. Nice staff, though because we have family in town, we did not need much help. Simple but clean, new-ish, cozy accommodations (good beds, abundant pillows, cotton linens & thick lush towels). Not touristy like the Hyatt 2 blocks away, but feels more like apartment living. Not sure about the claims of "nice variety" in the breakfast but then we don't need much. Great location, yes. Feels more neighborhoody than around the Plaza Independencia.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Situated at Plaza Chile it is in walking distance to all of Mendoza` s 5 places and the city center. Restaurants and shops are nearby as well as car rental stations.
We had a nice junior suite - only the view was not so beautiful (to the courtyard and garage of the neighbour house).
Good breakfast with great variety.
Staff friendly and helpful.
All in all really recommendable!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

very nice location, helpful staff (booking tours, restaurant reccs). Location and value make it a great place to tour the city and get to know the region. Breakfast had nice options. It was nice to have a fridge.

Room Tip: great value booked online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Good little gem....nice size room, king bed, kitchen, and good size living area. The location is perfect for all of the city highlights! Service very good, breakfast nice, and in general very clean! Recommend for all types of travelers!

Room Tip: We were on the road Sid, which was relatively quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panama2011_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel at the end of January 2012. It is well situated, although slightly off the beaten path. It is clean, however it looks a bit run down and old style. But this is not the worst unfortunately. The hotel seriously lacks in terms of security. We were travelling with a lot of cash (which I intended to exchange into pesos but it proved more difficult than expected). I had around 800€ which I left in the safe in the room. This didn't lock with a PIN nr but with a key given at the reception. Well, when we were back on our first full day, part of the money (around 200€) had disappeared. The person had helped him/herself with moderation hoping that we wouldn't notice, but we did. Unfortunately we had no proofs so we decided not to report the event at the reception (which was probably stupid from our part).

But the worst is that the windows in the room cannot be locked!!! You simply need to slide to open them, EVEN FROM THE OUTSIDE so burglars can enter very easily. Other reviewers here on tripadvisor wrote that they were burgled in the middle of the night. That is not surprising at all. I find this absolutely unacceptable and having travelled the world extensively, this is the first time I saw something like that.

Absolutely not recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marcodamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elportalsuites, General Manager at El Portal Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review and we do apologize if you had any inconvenience during your stay.
We must say your review has been removed twice from the site because it violates tripadvisor polices. However manipulating the words, the facts and the truth you have managed to post this again.
It is very unfortunate you did not mention your problem at all to our reception staff or to the management, we would have done all possible to help you find your lost items, unfortunatelly we can not be certain of the conclusion you have arrived. It is very easy to exchange any currency in Mendoza, not sure why you found it difficult, there are various options to do this.
I am affraid commenting about others experience can be very innacurate and in this case not real.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montanas Azules Apart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mod Hotel Mendoza
Mod Hotel Mendoza
#19 of 84 in Mendoza
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raices Aconcagua
Raices Aconcagua
#28 of 84 in Mendoza
980 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Mendoza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Suites

Address: Calle Gral Mariano Necochea 661, Mendoza M5500GLM, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Mendoza
Price Range: £56 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Portal Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your El Portal Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing