We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Portal Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lares De Chacras(Chacras de Coria)
US$211
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Entre Cielos(Lujan de Cuyo)
US$576
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cavas Wine Lodge(Lujan de Cuyo)
US$847
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$472
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
77
120
31
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
120
31
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza chilegreat locationtwin bedsclose to the main squarehot waterfresh fruitmac cheeseliving areathe air conditioningrooms are spaciousfront desk staffaconcaguawificorkscrewargentinaunitsmedialunas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We arrived in Mendoza a couple of days before Christmas with hopes of renting an apartment where we could make a Christmas lunch for a couple of other friends. It proved a bit harder than we thought to find a place as many of the so-called 'apartments with kitchens' had little more in the way of cooking utensils than a microwave.

The man at reception when we arrived was really understanding of our needs and showed us a couple of rooms, offering a good rate as we wanted to stay six days. We ended up going for the biggest one, which was huge with a large living area, balcony and a separate bedroom. The kitchen was just a strip with a small fridge, microwave and bench, but there was a kettle and two stove burners. Bizarrely, there was no equipment to cook with and when I asked him about this he said hardly anyone used them, but he promised to get housekeeping to provide whatever we needed. True to his word, a maid arrived shortly after we checked in and asked what we needed and provided all of it shortly afterwards. We were able to make a pretty decent lunch in the end and there was room for us all inside when it turned out to be a scorching 39 degrees in Mendoza at Xmas.

All of the front desk staff were really helpful and spoke good English and the breakfast was fine, especially appreciated was the fact you could amble down until 11am (even 11.30 on Sundays I think) to eat it. My only gripe was that the breakfast and restaurant staff were a bit grumpy and unhelpful, which was at odds with the front desk and housekeeping staff, who were all lovely!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoC716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights & 3 days. Location was right across from Plaza Chile & close to the main square, Plaza Indepencia. The room included a small kitchen, separate living room w/ dinette table, king sized bedroom & spacious bathroom. The king sized bed is actually two full mattresses pushed together. The beds were nevertheless comfortable & firm.
The room was quiet but from the living room you can hear noise from other guests in the floor. But sleeping was quiet.
The showers were hot & provided good pressure.
The location of the hotel was pretty central to visiting Las Heras, the Plazas, & to San Martin Park. I was able to walk everywhere as the city of Mendoza is pretty small.
The complimentary buffet breakfast was ample & offered a good start to the morning.
The front desk was helpful & allowed us to check in before the check in time as a room was available.
I would recommend this hotel as a base to explore Mendoza. It is rather tired looking but the accommodation was clean, comfortable, & good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiqee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We spent time in Mendoza before, and after, trekking in the Andes. This establishment was provided as part of the package by the trekking company - we did no research or selection ourselves.
The location was good - a quiet area, across the road from a park, within walking distance of restaurants, shops and hiking/hire stores. It is close to Independencia Square. There was a cheap laundrette across the park.
Reception was neat and the staff helpful. There was a small computer booth for public use in the foyer, and responsive wifi in the room.
Breakfast was a self-serve selection of cold foods (fruits, ham, cheese, cereals, etc), juice and coffee/tea, and toast, which, whilst not breath-taking, was fine. As well as the toaster, there was a microwave oven (eg, to melt cheese or heat milk).
Our room was large, with a double bed in a separate bedroom, 2 couches which doubled as single beds, and a roll-away bed. It was air-conditioned, with a small verandah too. The bedroom and living rooms both had TVs. The was a dining table and chairs, and small kitchonette with fridge, sink and microwave oven. The bedroom had a safe.
There was only bathroom, with bath/shower, toilet, bidet and vanity with some toiletries.
Overall, the room was tired, but adequate.
Considering we were about to (or had just returned from) hiking and living in tents in the Andes, it was fine. This was not the focal point of the trip, so it was not a matter of being delighted or disappointed with the accommodation. It was a staging point, or a recovery point, depending on which end of the trip we were on, and it was brilliant to have so much room to spread out the hiking gear and the hired gear, for packing purposes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Quiet, civilized, great value. Nice staff, though because we have family in town, we did not need much help. Simple but clean, new-ish, cozy accommodations (good beds, abundant pillows, cotton linens & thick lush towels). Not touristy like the Hyatt 2 blocks away, but feels more like apartment living. Not sure about the claims of "nice variety" in the breakfast but then we don't need much. Great location, yes. Feels more neighborhoody than around the Plaza Independencia.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Situated at Plaza Chile it is in walking distance to all of Mendoza` s 5 places and the city center. Restaurants and shops are nearby as well as car rental stations.
We had a nice junior suite - only the view was not so beautiful (to the courtyard and garage of the neighbour house).
Good breakfast with great variety.
Staff friendly and helpful.
All in all really recommendable!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews