We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality in Mendoza”
Review of B&B Plaza Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Plaza Italia
Ranked #2 of 94 Mendoza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

B & B Plaza Italia is a home from home. Mercedes and Tito, the owners, live on site and are exceedingly helpful with recommendations for restaurants, shopping, etc. Guests are treated like extended family. One night we wanted to drink the wine we had and it was no trouble to get a bottle opener and glasses. We invited Mercedes to join us and sat chatting in the comfortbale living room until almost 1.00 a.m., joined by a couple of other guests when they came in from dinner. Breakfast is a spread of ham, cheese, jams, croissants, yoghurt, cereals, tea, coffee and orange juice. Our room was very comfortable and had air-conditioning, although we did not need it. There is also a computer that guests can use if you are not traveling with your own Internet device. The location is ideal to explore the town - a short stroll to the main square and within easy walking distance of many restaurants and bars.

In addition, you can book a wine tour with Javier. This is a wonderful day out, visting 4 wineries in the Maipu region. You get to see different business models of how wine is produced - from a small family business producing 35,000 bottles a year to a larger company, producing 2.5 million bottles. Lunch is a 5 course feast - each course is beautifully presented and paired with a matching wine such that food and drink complement each other perfectly.

Truly a place to savor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madcitybrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a sophisticated, up market B&B. It is their own family home and is elegantly decorated, immaculately clean and efficiently run. The hosts are welcoming and very friendly, they seem to really like you being there and sharing their home (the older couple live on premises). You are in town, on a leafy plaza, within walking distance of all old town Mendoza, near some great restaurants. Javier knows the town well, and is happy to guide you on what to see, where to go. They seem to have managed the correct balance between intimate and discretion, perfecto.

Room Tip: I only saw my room, which was large with writing desk area, good shower room, but a little noisy fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Javier and his mother, Mercedes, are gracious hosts, and you’ll be staying in their beautiful family home of 40-plus years. Javier (the embodiment of Latin suavity, tempered with a wicked sense of humor) greeted us on arrival and gave us a through orientation of Mendoza with a map for us to keep. We were given our own key to come and go as we pleased. We booked the upstairs room at the front of the house with its own bath (the other two rooms on the floor share a bath). The room was spacious and very clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was huge, and most importantly, we had AIR CONDITIONING. The enclosed back patio was the perfect place to enjoy wine in the evenings and coffee in the mornings. Breakfast was plentiful: fresh OJ, breads, cheese, spreads, lunch meat, yogurts, granola, etc.

The best part of our trip was the wine tour we booked when we reserved the room. Javier personally escorted us through, from about 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. in his car. We were the only two people on the tour so we felt that it was tailored perfectly for us. If you visit only ONE WINERY, though, Bodega San Diego in the Maipu Valley is a must. It’s a very small, family owned- and operated vineyard and tasting room where you will stroll among gorgeous hundred-plus-year-old vines and olive trees as the daughter of the owner (himself one of the most noted vintners in the country) schools you in a way no other winery will (and that includes the many wineries we’ve visited in California, Chile and Argentina). Maria Laura seems wise beyond her years and she’s clearly passionate about the family biz. You’ll learn about the innovative new growing techniques the family is using, see the old-school gravity irrigation system, and enjoy wine and olive oil tastings in a lovely setting.

We visited four wineries total that day, and the other I’d highly recommend is the lunch at Ruca Malen. It’s a smaller large winery, and the setting isn’t as picturesque at San Diego, but we didn’t go for the tour, we went for the food – and it was AMAZING. The chef is famous in Argentina and has several ventures, with good reason. Five courses were expertly paired with wines, and the food was inventive, amusing, luscious, pleasing to the eye and palate, and just outstanding.

On our Sunday departure, Mercedes’ maternal concern to call a cab and ensure we arrive at the airport in plenty of time was charming. Lovely place, lovely people.

Room Tip: Front room has its own bath, though it's on the street and you do get some traffic sounds but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanr98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It is family run B&B, with a perfect location across from the park. Everybody was truly accommodating and understanding: we arrived really late because our flight from Buenos Aires was delayed, so the hosts stayed up late in order to greet us. We felt at home all the time, like we were a part of a big family. Everyone speaks English and is more than happy to give you recommendations.

The tour with Javier was the highlight of our stay in Mendoza: we visited 4 wineries, and one "bonus" winery; each one of them unique in their own way. Our favorite was Domaine St. Diego - Maria Laura was just too good explaining how the winery operates and various stages of a winemaking process. If you want to learn more about wine and how it's made, that is the place to go! Of course, 4 course gourmet lunch at Ruca Malen is a must-do.

Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuliya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A summer vacation landed my wife and I in Mendoza. This B&B has a quiet location on a beautiful plaza. The owners make you feel "at home". We took advantage of Javier's wine tour. He showed us a complete look and taste of the delicious wines from the Mendoza region. The pace was perfect and Javier was most accommodating. We will rebook this B&B upon a return to Mendoza.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldexplorer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very clean, central location, easy walking to many places, great food recommendations, hosts go the "extra mile" to help you, took wine tour, best lunch ever at a winery. Definitely would stay here again. Liz & Larry G. 2014, Washington state, USA

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just book yourself in. Do it! In no particular order, these are the reasons I loved my stay: the host family are wonderful people. Javier is lovely, has a woonderful dry sense of humour and knows a lot about the city, where to eat, the wineries, history, etc. His divine mum, Mercedes and her partner Tito, are equally lovely people and live in the house. We got an extensive induction from Javier and felt like we were locals afterwards. The house itself is stunning and the rooms comfortable, great beds and beautifully, stylishly decorated (both rooms and common areas). Plus its in a great central location and right on a lovely park in a very leafy street. Breakfast is like a mini buffet and wonderful with quality food. We also did the wine tour Javier offers and had the best day. We saw 4 very different wineries and learnt different parts of the process at each. Lunch at one winery was incredible.
It's an absolute highlight of my 9 month travels through Central and South America and one I won't forget. I wouldn't stay anywhere but here for a wonderful and personal real Argentinian experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,970 reviews
7.8 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
759 reviews
6.9 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
325 reviews
10.9 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Plaza Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Plaza Italia

Address: Calle Montevideo 685, Mendoza M5500GGM, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Mendoza
Price Range: £94 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Plaza Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a high-quality two-story house with spacious rooms. Elegantly decorated with nice classic furniture which makes it a comfortable and enjoyable place. Located within the most privileged part of Mendoza, a place of fancy residences opposite Italia Square and a one minute walk from Independencia Square. Nearby, there are important hotels, a casino (located inside Park Hyatt Hotel), convention center, pedestrian area, famous Aristides Villanueva Ave. with its clubs and pubs. Fancy ice-cream parlors, exclusive bars, restaurants, grill rooms with the best Argentine Beef and the latest "Wine Bars." Tour and Excursion agencies, cash machines, money exchange agencies, Laundry, Supermarkets and many other services that you may need as a visitor are at easy walking distance.B&B Plaza Italia also organizes personalized Wine Tours to the best wine areas of Mendoza, heart of Argentina's Wine Country. Free and unlimited internet wireless connection available in all the house. English spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Plaza Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Plaza Italia Hotel Mendoza
Bed And Breakfast Plaza Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing