We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Choice”
Review of B&B Plaza Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Plaza Italia
Ranked #2 of 92 Mendoza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2010

My husband and I recently spent a week at B&B Plaza Italia in Mendoza. Wish we could have stayed longer! We could not have been happier with our choice. This comfortable and elegant home is on a quiet street across from a nice little park. The city center is an easy walk away as are amazing restaurants. Mercedes and Javier take time to give all guests an introduction to the city and options for dining and excursions. They continued to provide us with helpful support and information through out our stay. We spent two days on wine tasting tours with Javier. These were truly a highlight of our trip. Javier organizes small groups and takes them to boutique wineries with a mid-day stop for a multi-course elegant lunch. These days were incredible. Mendoza is heaven for those that enjoy fine food and wine.
We stayed in room number 1. It was spacious, comfortable and quiet. It would be difficult to find a better value for your dollar (or peso!). This place is a jewel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for B&B Plaza Italia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2010

Last week we had a delightful stay at this warm and friendly bed and breakfast. Our room was small and on the street but that was of no concern to us. Mercedes and Javier in particular made our visit to Mendoza exceptional. Their help and guidance provided just the right nuance to assist us as we explored and found fun things to do. This included the wine tour organized and led by Javier. It was a home away from home just as they said when we arrived. It is in the center of the city on Plaza Italia a beautiful plaza. Walking day and night all over the center of Mendoza was easy and comfortable. We look forward to returning to this engaging, small B&B which offers exceptional value.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

This B & B is run by a family that is so gracious and accomodating. The room we had was on second floor and faced the plaza. It was a great room with an extra large bathroom including a bidet. If street noise bothers you, you perhaps would want to face the garden area. We kept the window open during the day if we were in and just closed the window and used the air at night. Noise wasn't a problem. The owner sat down with us (it was her family home) she recommended restaurants, tours, gave bus info. etc. She was so pleasant and really enjoyed talking with us. You could tell she was so proud of her establishment. We were also introduced to her son who helps run the hotel. He also was full of information and enjoyable to chat with. We found on our trip to SA that not too many people speak English, so we were so happy to have her to get info. The breakfasts were wonderful and much attention was given to service. Taxis were called for us and the staff let us know immediately when they came and got the door for us etc. The garden area was delightful to sit in and have drinks, play cards. It was such a pleasurable experience and a super location for Mendoza. We saw most of the sights in town just by doing our own walking tours. The owners arranged a horse backing riding tour for us also and had all the info available.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St_CloudTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Our trip to Mendoza was fantastic thanks so much to the B&B Italia. They were great in organizing a tour for us to a full day of touring wineries in the area, including, Achavel Ferrer, Rucan Malen, Alto Vista, and Clos de San wineries. It was fabulous! The breakfasts were delightful and our room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. It was close to the main shopping area of Mendoza along one of the main plazas. We truly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majohnson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We found B&B Plaza Italia to be well-located with very helpful staff who went out of their way to help us with travel arrangements. Also the breakfast was well done and the fresh squeezed orange juice much appreciated! Javier's wine tour was excellent and tailored to our needs.

All that said, make sure you get a room that does NOT face the plaza, there is a very big difference between the noise in plaza versus courtyard facing rooms. We originally stayed in a plaza-facing room and the road noise was horrendous at all hours, save for maybe 2am-6am. When we were finally able to switch to a coutryard-facing room, the difference was amazing and I finally got a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJTarheel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My wife and I were lucky enough to have a personal recommendation to attend the Wine Tour in Mendoza run by Javier from Plaza Italia and even though we were not staying at the B&B (which was fully booked) we were able to attend the tour.

Javier picked us up from our apartment in the morning and we spent the day visiting four distinct wineries in the Lujan de Cuyo region of Mendoza. Javier was a great host, very knowledgeable about Argentina and the wine industry in Mendoza and always willing to give advice and answer questions from the group - he also speaks very good English!

The tour itself was great, it provided good insight for the beginners and allowed those with more experience to visit some of the higher-end wineries in the region (including Achaval-Ferrer, Carlos Pulenta etc) as well as arranging a fantastic lunch at Ruca Malen (four courses, great food so make sure you are hungry!)

My wife and I wanted to visit the Uco Valley the following day and Javier advised us on the itinerary and even called ahead to the vineyards to reserve spaces on the appropriate tours and book us lunch at La Tupina! This was far more than we expected and we are both very grateful for his help.

My wife and I have been wine tasting in a number of countries and would say that a tour is advisable in mendoza as it is not easy to turn up at the vineyards unannounced, without Javier's help our trip to the Uco Valley could have been a bit of a disaster!

I would recommend Javier's wine tour to anyone visiting Mendoza and from what I hear about Plaza Italia i would also suggest it is a great place to stay. The vineyards in Mendoza normally require a reservation (and serve pretty large glasses of wine) as such you would be mad not to have someone drive you around to enjoy it!

Thank you Javier, we hope we will be able to enjoy your tour again someday.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank g199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We had the occasion to spend 5 nights at this B&B during our first visit to Mendoza. The location is absolutely superb and the comfort and amenities were of a high standard. We were very pleased with the level of hospitality and service extended by the hosts and particularly recommend Javier's wine tours. We don't hesitate to recommend and would certainly look to stay here again if we were to return to Mendoza.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubiladoplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argentino Hotel
Argentino Hotel
#12 of 84 in Mendoza
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#15 of 84 in Mendoza
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
#13 of 84 in Mendoza
1,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Plaza Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Plaza Italia

Address: Calle Montevideo 685, Mendoza M5500GGM, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Mendoza
Price Range: £92 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Plaza Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a high-quality two-story house with spacious rooms. Elegantly decorated with nice classic furniture which makes it a comfortable and enjoyable place. Located within the most privileged part of Mendoza, a place of fancy residences opposite Italia Square and a one minute walk from Independencia Square. Nearby, there are important hotels, a casino (located inside Park Hyatt Hotel), convention center, pedestrian area, famous Aristides Villanueva Ave. with its clubs and pubs. Fancy ice-cream parlors, exclusive bars, restaurants, grill rooms with the best Argentine Beef and the latest "Wine Bars." Tour and Excursion agencies, cash machines, money exchange agencies, Laundry, Supermarkets and many other services that you may need as a visitor are at easy walking distance.B&B Plaza Italia also organizes personalized Wine Tours to the best wine areas of Mendoza, heart of Argentina's Wine Country. Free and unlimited internet wireless connection available in all the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Plaza Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Plaza Italia Hotel Mendoza
Bed And Breakfast Plaza Italia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing