We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Empedrado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Empedrado
Ranked #11 of 177 Speciality Lodging in Mendoza
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here, we had a private ensuite on the top floor. Great location and the staff were really friendly. the place seemed really secure as the 24 hour reception monitored the front door. Breakfast was the best we had while away, they even make omlettes! Happy hour is a great way to meet people and scocialise, we found everyone to be lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    93
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
2
120
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Empredado hostel is ok. It has a nice courtyard. The staff is friendly and helpful. The kitchen is not fully equiped, but can be used to do your own cooking. Our room was located next to the courtyard, which made it difficult to get a good sleep, because people were talking and drinking until 4/5 am. So if you want to stay here, aks for a room which is not located directly next to the courtyard.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jori-Gerben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic gem hidden in wine country. The hostal is very well priced, comes with a full breakfast (including made-to-order omelettes and/or crepes), option to wash laundry for free and a whole hour of free wine... And use of a pool.

My friends had recommended it, and I am so glad there was availability. Very friendly and helpful staff, and fun fellow backpackers. A bit further from the Plaza San Martin, but definitely worth the walk. Recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We enjoyed our 5 nights at Hostel Empedrado very much! The rooms were clean - as was the kitchen - kitchen was well equipped, wine happy hour was nice, the very good breakfast not to forget and the pool and asado was available all the time to the guests. The staff was always very friendly and helpful in organizing whatsoever wish we had (private wine tour) :-) The guests are merely young people but everyone is welcomed here. We would always come back here when in Mendoza again! Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at empedrado! It was a good atmosphere and super cozy. It was one of the best hostels I ever stayed at because of the activities and the liveliness.
You can set up your whole stay when you get there actually since there are so many cool activities to choose from.
Stay here you will not regret it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coco213419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montanita, Ecuador
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, with great wi fi, with spacious, fully equipped kitchen, great wine and lots of fantastic chilling spaces (including hammocks and a swimming pool!!!) where you will have a chance to meet and hang out with fellow travelers. The free breakfast includes pancakes and some delicious pastries (and much more!) - one of the best breakfasts in South America. To top it all the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. My friend and I loved our stay at Empedrado and we are hoping to go back there as soon as possible!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Monikanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

his is my honest opinion of the place.
location: from the bus terminal (30 min walk) Recommend to pickup a map from the bus terminal - tourist information
customer service: very helpful
cleanness: place was clean and tidy every.
bathrooms: I was in the 6 dorm - no air condition - hot and stuffy in there and then the matermonial room which again no air condition, hot and stuffy in. There. Then moved to 6 dorm with air condition.
Bedroom: Dorms are small and hot and stuffy and the matermonial room was huge.
extras: 2 computers to use as well as WIFI was fast and available most areas.
Kitchen room was big with a fridge. You can cook your own food there.
Noisy: noisy outside the bedroom as people was up late at night.
Breakout area: was big, lounge and outside-
Suggestions: lockers for the dorms and more bathrooms
Enjoyed most : the swimming pool, free laundry, 1hr free wine and great breakfast meals avaiialbe.

Room Tip: As they stuff up my rooms, re confirm the room and ask for air condition room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Lagares
Hostel Lagares
#2 of 177 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostel Lao
Hostel Lao
#6 of 177 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gorilla Hostel
Gorilla Hostel
#4 of 177 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostel Alamo
Hostel Alamo
#9 of 177 in Mendoza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#1 of 177 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostel Mendoza Inn
Hostel Mendoza Inn
#27 of 177 in Mendoza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Empedrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Empedrado

Property: Hostel Empedrado
Address: Calle Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza M5500EBC, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 177 Speciality Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good option to lodge in Mendoza. Clean, sure, and nice Hostel located to 4 stables of the principal avenue in a cobblestone street. It has free swimming pool in a camping 6 km from the hostel. The tariff includes breakfast, Internet, swimming pool and use of the kitchen. The best wines of the world, the Aconcagua Mountain (6959 mt.) and a sunny climate wait for you in Mendoza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Empedrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing