We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun place but lacking some basics”
Review of Hostel Empedrado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Empedrado
Ranked #13 of 179 Speciality Lodging in Mendoza
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had a grea time here, most of the staff were friendly, they have a TV room, sun lounge, washing machine for you to use free, they have activities like a barbeque and overall it was a good place. They did however not put sheets on several beds, not change them, they had water tank problems as well and not all the showers were good. Breakfast is pretty amazing though. I did like the shelves with sockets they put there for each bed, makes sleeping on the top bunk much better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were in Mendoza for a week and stayed here. The staff was perfect - they set you up with any tours that you want to do and can help you get anywhere you need to go. The hostel has different events set up each night including Empanada and Wine Tasting classes for either very cheap or free. They also have free wine that they give out every night at 6pm. The beds weren't my favorite and the showers are either very hot or very cold - but i you've been in South America for a while, you're already used to that!

The hostel was a great price for dorms and it's located close enough to the center or anywhere you'd like to walk in the city. One of my favorite hostels in Argentina!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way through Mendoza. The staff were friendly, the beds comfy and the vibe was good.
Showers were a bit of a let down as there was little to know water pressure, but not the worst shower I've had in South America. Breakfast was great, and the hostel organise lots of daytime tours and nighttime activities. We didn't go on any of there tours but everyone we spoke to seemed to enjoy them.

On our first night some people came home very drunk and very loud. They stayed up past 3am shouting through the whole hostel. Now I know that's the people staying there not the hostel, but the night receptionist did nothing to try and quiet them down.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great hostel, clean and free wine every evening means its very social, great place to meet fellow travellers without the madness of a party hostel. The hostel organises many tours and activities in the hostel such as a pizza party, BBQ, empanada making classes.. Breakfast is good and its a short stroll in to town..

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sinéad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here for a night on my way through Mendoza a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it. The staff is very international, friendly, and informational. Breakfast looked lovely - you can order eggs and they provide coffe/tea and medialunas - though I never really partook because I was busy with tours. A couple really nice things about the hostel:
1) There is wine happy hour every night from 7-8pm. Bring wine and/or they provide a few bottles for everyone. Great time to make friends!
2) They have a calendar of activities - wine tastings, horsback riding, etc. - posted in the dining room where you can sign up and partake. Many of those that were staying did so, and had a blast.
3) WiFi works great
4) For those that read, there is a solid book-exchange
5) Bathrooms are always clean (this is a BIG one)
6) There is a grapevine in the courtyard where you can pick and eat fruit, very cute!
7) Four blocks from shopping and restaurants - it's not a bustling metropolitan by any means, but there are some good eats and people watching on the main thoroughfares.

The hostel itself is a short walk from the city center, where there seemed to be a lot of people (both locals and tourists) and shops. Also, to note, many of the guests I met were solo female travelers like myself. Everyone was super friendly and I made a couple of friends/drinking buddies during my stay. We traded stories and experiences; great conversations! I felt more than safe the entire time I was there, however I heard from more than one new friend about the pickpockets and blatant robberies while they walked around the city and Maipu.

Be careful obviously, try not to stand out, and enjoy! But don't worry about your experience at this hostel - This place is a true delight!

Room Tip: Request a room in the main house. My room was across the courtyard as this was the only private roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityMouse79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Empedrado for 8 nights with my boyfriend and we both loved it! It was the perfect balance of party and chilled out atmosphere and offered a lot of activities plus free wine in the evening! During our stay we did the bike and wine tour, horseback riding and my boyfriend did a wine tasting sky dive - all arranged by the hostel. The staff were always very helpful and last but not least..the breakfast is amazing! Pancakes with dulce de leche :) I definitely reccommend this hostel for anyone's stay in Mendoza!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danillak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Loved my stay at the hostel. You can tell when a hostel is well run. There was always someone cleaning, the breakfast is good (not just cheap cereal) and they give the guests comfortable bonuses (free wine tasting!) I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Mendoza. Very social vibe too so good for solo backpackers!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bmarcoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
1.2 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#1 of 179 in Mendoza
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lagares Hostel
Lagares Hostel
#2 of 179 in Mendoza
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Alamo
Hostel Alamo
#9 of 179 in Mendoza
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel San Francisco
Hotel San Francisco
#8 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Empedrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Empedrado

Address: Calle Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza M5500EBC, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 179 Speciality Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range: £9 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good option to lodge in Mendoza. Clean, sure, and nice Hostel located to 4 stables of the principal avenue in a cobblestone street. It has free swimming pool in a camping 6 km from the hostel. The tariff includes breakfast, Internet, swimming pool and use of the kitchen. The best wines of the world, the Aconcagua Mountain (6959 mt.) and a sunny climate wait for you in Mendoza. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing