We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”
Review of Hostel Empedrado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Empedrado
Ranked #12 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Mendoza
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here in late April and really enjoyed my stay. As a solo traveler, I really enjoyed the combination of activities (bbq was amazing) but also the ability to relax by yourself.
While there were a few pipe issues (because the building is older), the staff certainly made up for it. Common areas and bathrooms were all clean, hostel was secure, breakfast was awesome (loved the crepes!) and staff were so friendly and helpful. Washing machine was also a HUGE plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal8681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    93
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
2
121
61
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We only stayed 2 nights but wished we could have stayed longer. We arrived and were treated by Anna who was so friendly and helpful. Right from when we walked in we felt at home. The place is really spacious, although the bathrooms are a little dinky. Breakfast was amazing and Claudia makes the best crepes and omelettes. They have loads of tours and activities on offer, we did the empanada course which was great fun and value for money. A great spot to meet people and to enjoy the town of Mendoza.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_phillips_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had a grea time here, most of the staff were friendly, they have a TV room, sun lounge, washing machine for you to use free, they have activities like a barbeque and overall it was a good place. They did however not put sheets on several beds, not change them, they had water tank problems as well and not all the showers were good. Breakfast is pretty amazing though. I did like the shelves with sockets they put there for each bed, makes sleeping on the top bunk much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were in Mendoza for a week and stayed here. The staff was perfect - they set you up with any tours that you want to do and can help you get anywhere you need to go. The hostel has different events set up each night including Empanada and Wine Tasting classes for either very cheap or free. They also have free wine that they give out every night at 6pm. The beds weren't my favorite and the showers are either very hot or very cold - but i you've been in South America for a while, you're already used to that!

The hostel was a great price for dorms and it's located close enough to the center or anywhere you'd like to walk in the city. One of my favorite hostels in Argentina!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way through Mendoza. The staff were friendly, the beds comfy and the vibe was good.
Showers were a bit of a let down as there was little to know water pressure, but not the worst shower I've had in South America. Breakfast was great, and the hostel organise lots of daytime tours and nighttime activities. We didn't go on any of there tours but everyone we spoke to seemed to enjoy them.

On our first night some people came home very drunk and very loud. They stayed up past 3am shouting through the whole hostel. Now I know that's the people staying there not the hostel, but the night receptionist did nothing to try and quiet them down.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great hostel, clean and free wine every evening means its very social, great place to meet fellow travellers without the madness of a party hostel. The hostel organises many tours and activities in the hostel such as a pizza party, BBQ, empanada making classes.. Breakfast is good and its a short stroll in to town..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sinéad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here for a night on my way through Mendoza a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it. The staff is very international, friendly, and informational. Breakfast looked lovely - you can order eggs and they provide coffe/tea and medialunas - though I never really partook because I was busy with tours. A couple really nice things about the hostel:
1) There is wine happy hour every night from 7-8pm. Bring wine and/or they provide a few bottles for everyone. Great time to make friends!
2) They have a calendar of activities - wine tastings, horsback riding, etc. - posted in the dining room where you can sign up and partake. Many of those that were staying did so, and had a blast.
3) WiFi works great
4) For those that read, there is a solid book-exchange
5) Bathrooms are always clean (this is a BIG one)
6) There is a grapevine in the courtyard where you can pick and eat fruit, very cute!
7) Four blocks from shopping and restaurants - it's not a bustling metropolitan by any means, but there are some good eats and people watching on the main thoroughfares.

The hostel itself is a short walk from the city center, where there seemed to be a lot of people (both locals and tourists) and shops. Also, to note, many of the guests I met were solo female travelers like myself. Everyone was super friendly and I made a couple of friends/drinking buddies during my stay. We traded stories and experiences; great conversations! I felt more than safe the entire time I was there, however I heard from more than one new friend about the pickpockets and blatant robberies while they walked around the city and Maipu.

Be careful obviously, try not to stand out, and enjoy! But don't worry about your experience at this hostel - This place is a true delight!

Room Tip: Request a room in the main house. My room was across the courtyard as this was the only private roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityMouse79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.8 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soltigua Apart Hotel
Soltigua Apart Hotel
#24 of 84 in Mendoza
587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premium Tower Suites Mendoza
1.2 mi away
Chill Inn Hostel
Chill Inn Hostel
#2 of 169 in Mendoza
330 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Pueblo Hostel
Casa Pueblo Hostel
#33 of 169 in Mendoza
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Empedrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Empedrado

Property: Hostel Empedrado
Address: Calle Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza M5500EBC, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Mendoza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good option to lodge in Mendoza. Clean, sure, and nice Hostel located to 4 stables of the principal avenue in a cobblestone street. It has free swimming pool in a camping 6 km from the hostel. The tariff includes breakfast, Internet, swimming pool and use of the kitchen. The best wines of the world, the Aconcagua Mountain (6959 mt.) and a sunny climate wait for you in Mendoza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Empedrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing