We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Hotel Alexander
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mendoza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a double room for two nights. The bathroom was poorly cleaned and the shower drain was close. Otherwise, the hotel and staff was OK but nothing more than that. We don´t recommend taking the wine tour to the winery’s sold at the hotel. We were told that the guiding would be in English. That was not the case for the majority of the tour.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    7
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We loved our stay at the Hotel Alexander. After somewhat cool and brusque treatment from hotel staff in Buenos Aires, the owners of the Alexander, Oscar and Ema, surprised us with the genuinely kind reception they gave us. We felt immediately at home. And the price was half of what we had paid in BA. The hotel is in the heart of Mendoza. We walked everywhere from it at all hours. We speak some Spanish but didn't need to. Everybody here knows English. We booked for 2 nights and wound up staying 3.

Jim
Saint Paul, Minnesota -- USA

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Dear Emma and Oscar,

Our stay in Mendoza was the best part of our trip, thanks to you. All for your suggestions regarding places to go, things to do and see, were so helpful. We can't thank you enough, and are so happy to have met such an accommodating couple.

Thanks again, we truly appreciate your help.

Sincerely,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadrat109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Alexander for only one night but Emma and Oscar were two of the nicest people we have had the pleasure to meet in Argentina. The rooms are also definitely the best to be found in this price range. Breakfast was pretty standard for Argentina, coffee, sweet rolls, etc. The location could not be better - only a couple of blocks from the main plaza, although the flip side of that is some noise. You won't find a friendlier hotel anywhere!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebusybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We had the priviledge to stay at this hotel for 3 weeks. The friendliness of the staff is outstanding they make you feel just like home. Its managed by its onwers Oscar and Ema Bustos they are a fantastic couple to know what is best for their passengers. They speak fluent English and the service is outstanding. The location of the hotel really allows you to walk to all the attractions of the city. We stayed with our son and was really a pleasure to stay there during our stay in Mendoza.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Located only a few blocks away from Plaza San Martin, the charming Hotel Alexander is an excellent place to stay when visiting Mendoza. The rooms are impeccable clean and comfortable and the charismatic owners Oskar and Ema, who speak English fluently, make you immediately feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fildevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2008

We felt so comfortable staying at this hotel. This family owen bussines is well organised and managed. Great location in the heart of the city of Mendoza. All we needed was within walking distance , Restaurants, Shops, Entertainment !!! We loved our stay at the Alexander and we are looking forward on coming back soon!! The best part of Mendoza is the warmth of its people and the staff of this hotel is a proof of that!! thanks again!!!
:)
Iris
Sydney

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank irislamendocina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Martin
Hotel San Martin
#26 of 84 in Mendoza
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aconcagua
Hotel Aconcagua
#25 of 84 in Mendoza
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argentino Hotel
Argentino Hotel
#12 of 84 in Mendoza
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Crillon Mendoza
Hotel Crillon Mendoza
#37 of 84 in Mendoza
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mendoza
Hotel Mendoza
#35 of 84 in Mendoza
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
Villaggio Hotel Boutique
#14 of 84 in Mendoza
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Patricias Mendocinas, Mendoza 1602, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing