We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and reasonable”
Review of Hotel Alexander

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mendoza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Reviewed 6 March 2013

What more can you ask for from a hotel that is in the heart of Mendoza except for the best host and hostess. The owners of this small intimate hotel, Oscar and Ema, make you feel like family and are a wealth of knowledge about Mendoza and the surrounding area. Our first night Ema personally walked us down the block and introduced us to best Italian restaurant in Mendoza,
La Marchigiana. As this was our first time in Mendoza, we had so many questions and I can't thank them enough for all their time and patience.
We didn't spend alot of time in our room as there is alot to see and do in Mendoza but our
room was small, clean and comfortable as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast is continental
and included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peachzlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed at the Alexander hotel for one night, which was far too long. I was looking for a sofa and desk. That was literally what I received. The hotel and rooms are small, very small, extremely small. The sheets had two big stains on them. YUCK!. There was a bathroom door, that did not lock and you could hear and see everything that went on in the bathroom. The tv was a joke, about the size of a small kitchen tv.. I have never stayed in a place like this before and trust me will never stay in this place ever again. For what they charged and what you actually receive there are far better spots in Menbdoza to stay. Stay here at your own risk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martins S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spend a week here in March 2012. Clean, comfortable bed, good simple breakfast. But what makes this hotel the best value is the personalized friendly service.
Want to go to the thermal springs last minute? no problem, it will be arranged. The best ATM? Ema knows. Have some really far out tastes and interests? Ema will help find a cooking class or a bus route and have you on your way to fun experiences.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChattanoogaBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We were a group of 12 who stayed 5 nights with Ema and Oscar. The hotel included breakfast, private bathrooms, TV, air-conditioning, and free WI-FI. The location was perfect - across the street was the Central Market where you could go for a low-cost lunch or buy fruit. Carrefour (large supermarket 7 blocks away) had everything you could need like an ATM, snacks, excellent wine, hairdryer, personal hygiene products, etc. Plaza Independencia was a 6-7 block walk. At night you could hear the buses / street traffic until about midnight. Once you are accustomed to late dining, the noise won't bother you because you won't be home yet! This small family-run hotel allowed us to learn more about the people and culture of Mendoza. Note, they don't accept credit cards however you can pay in either AR $ or US $.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbschlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a double room for two nights. The bathroom was poorly cleaned and the shower drain was close. Otherwise, the hotel and staff was OK but nothing more than that. We don´t recommend taking the wine tour to the winery’s sold at the hotel. We were told that the guiding would be in English. That was not the case for the majority of the tour.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We loved our stay at the Hotel Alexander. After somewhat cool and brusque treatment from hotel staff in Buenos Aires, the owners of the Alexander, Oscar and Ema, surprised us with the genuinely kind reception they gave us. We felt immediately at home. And the price was half of what we had paid in BA. The hotel is in the heart of Mendoza. We walked everywhere from it at all hours. We speak some Spanish but didn't need to. Everybody here knows English. We booked for 2 nights and wound up staying 3.

Jim
Saint Paul, Minnesota -- USA

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Dear Emma and Oscar,

Our stay in Mendoza was the best part of our trip, thanks to you. All for your suggestions regarding places to go, things to do and see, were so helpful. We can't thank you enough, and are so happy to have met such an accommodating couple.

Thanks again, we truly appreciate your help.

Sincerely,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadrat109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendoza hotels
124.6 mi away
NH Mendoza Cordillera
NH Mendoza Cordillera
#18 of 84 in Mendoza
1,072 reviews
124.6 mi away
Diplomatic Hotel
Diplomatic Hotel
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,352 reviews
124.5 mi away
Hotel Mendoza
Hotel Mendoza
#34 of 84 in Mendoza
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
124.3 mi away
Raices Aconcagua
Raices Aconcagua
#27 of 84 in Mendoza
953 reviews
125.0 mi away
Soltigua Apart Hotel
Soltigua Apart Hotel
#24 of 84 in Mendoza
597 reviews
122.6 mi away
Ibis Mendoza
Ibis Mendoza
#38 of 84 in Mendoza
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Patricias Mendocinas, Mendoza 1602, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Mendoza
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing