We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, good food but not special”
Review of Anna Bistro

Anna Bistro
Ranked #15 of 610 Restaurants in Mendoza
Price range: US$9 - US$37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great location, great service, good food but not special.
When we arrived here by taxi, we recognized the place, we had been here 4 years ago.
The setting is great with the garden, service is very friendly, but we did not think the food was very special.
After all the meat, we felt like eating fish, one of us had white fish with almond, the fish had been prepared well, but barely had any taste, what a pity. I had the salmon with cognac saus, again the salmon was prepared perfectly a punto, but I did not see or taste any cognac saus.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PnONL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome_Constant, Gérant at Anna Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your meal at Anna Bistró!
We are thrilled that you appreciated the quality of service, your dishes, our staff.
Sorry that we do not accomplish our goal on the white fish you taste, be sure that we'll talk about this with our cooking staff.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while coming in our restaurant and we will make sure to share your comment with our teams.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at Anna Bistro.
Best regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,185)
There are newer reviews for Anna Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 321 of 2,185 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Really fantastic food, service and atmosphere. Make sure you pay this restaurant a visit for lunch or dinner during your stay. Excellent value for money.

Thank Jimtravels80days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome_Constant, Gérant at Anna Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your meal at Anna Bistro!

We are thrilled that you appreciated the quality of service, your dishes, our staff.

Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we honor our promises.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at Anna Bistro.

Kindest Regards,
Jérôme Constant
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had been in Argentina for about a week when we decided to try a nicer restaurant. This was a Lonely Planet top pick so we decided to give it a shot. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere is simply incredible. In the first few seconds of setting foot in it (it was past sunset), we were completely charmed by just how cozy and beautiful it is, especially outside, where the backyard tastefully is lit with warm colored lights. Within minutes, I realized that this was the nicest looking restaurant I ever set foot in. Bar none.

We ordered a cocktail (unfortunately no beer on tap) while we perused the menu. It was hard to decide, as everything seemed so tasty. I went for the flank steak and my wife for the pepper steak. We ordered a nice bottle from the extensive wine card. Then the food came - it was perfectly cooked, and the flavors were very well balanced, not overly powerful, just subtle enough. Someone obviously took great care while preparing our meal.

The service was very friendly and helpful in overcoming our inability to speak Spanish properly. We liked the experience (it is an experience, more than just a meal) enough to go back a 2nd time during our 5 days in Mendoza.

The only caveat I would give, and the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars, is that both times we were there, we received our meal before our cocktails were finished (about halfway through them - and we didn't drink them particularly slowly), and in one case, even before we had gotten our wine (They had to look a long time to find the bottle we had ordered.) We politely returned our plates, asking to be finished with cocktail and wait for our wine, and they were very good about it. When our plates returned after about 15-20 minutes, the food was absolutely not dry - as good as if they had just been made.

Value wise, it is very affordable compared to an equivalent at home, but on the high range for Argentina (and legitimately so.) For cocktails, mains, a very decent bottle and a desert, we ended up paying around 550 pesos including tip, which at the time of writing this was just north of CAD $100 using the official rate. I'll let you do the math using the dolar blue, but it can easily become a real steal.

Overall, I would recommend this restaurant to absolutely anyone who goes to Mendoza. Go after sunset, sit outside, and enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome_Constant, Gérant at Anna Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your meal at Anna Bistro!
We are delighted to read that you had a memorable time among us and that you appreciated your dishes, the atmosphere and the service!
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while coming in our restaurant and we will make sure to share your comment with our teams.
It's true that your course cannot arrive before you finish your cocktail, and we are especially glad to know that an exigent client like you can recognize our 'savoir-faire'

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at Anna Bistro.

Kindest Regards,
Jérôme Constant
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The ambiance the service and the food is absolutely exquisite.
Far from a tourist trap... Ana Bistro provides excellent food service and a good crowd.

Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome_Constant, Gérant at Anna Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your meal at Anna Bistro!
We are proud to be one of the reference in Mendoza. Our clients are 50 locals and 50 foreigners, so that we try to get them always the best service ever.
We will make sure to share your comment with our teams.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at Anna Bistro.

Kindest Regards,
Jérôme Constant
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Mendoza. I love sitting outside with the gorgeous vines covering the shade. The food is always excellent and your well attended!
One of the best mojitos in Mendoza!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank memovino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome_Constant, Gérant at Anna Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your meal at Anna Bistro!
We are thrilled that you appreciated the quality of service, food and the atmosphere... and the great mojitos we made !
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at Anna Bistro.
Kindest Regards,
Jérôme Constant
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anna Bistro also viewed

Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Anna Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing