We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should not qualify as a "hotel"”
Review of Red Wine Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Wine Club
Ranked #34 of 49 San Rafael B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2010

It's a reformed home, in an residential neighborhood, difficult to find. Cold rooms and NO HOT water during the night. Poor staff reception though they copied ALL our passports, etc. I would NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Argentinaexpert23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Red Wine Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed at this nice little hotel just a few blocks from the main drag. During winter the rooms seem to be cold no matter how much you try to warm them up as do the staff. They are helpful but a smile from time to time wouldn´t hurt.

The rooms are very nicely laid out and each are named after a different grape, we stayed in Pinot Noir I think. breakfast is the typical Argentine croissant and toast with fresh fruit so not a lot can be said about that. The hotel would make an ideal place to stay in summer or spring to visit some wineries or to visit the canyon, both are fantastic. Get a booking for both through the hotel, especially the wine trip as a man picks you up, takes you to 3 wineries then you rock up at someone´s house for a grand bbq with wine in a fabulous dining room with a fire.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackinthegulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

This is just a great little place to stay, in a residential area, so it is quiet. Great service and good wine.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Endlesstraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

we enjoyed our time in the hotel. my family had a very gud holiday. the lounge was very superb. the rooms had every facilities. my family wanted to go again

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
5  Thank enterthedoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

The international jet-set doesn't go to San Rafael, and that is a distinct advantage to travellers. Prices are much lower here than in big brother Mendoza, and the experience is more personal and more "real."

The Red Wine hotel TRIES to be a bit trendy, and while they generally overreach and get it not quite right, it's hard to be unsatisfied by a stay here. My 3 night package cost me less than US$150 all in, and in addition to breakfast, they threw in massages, a wine tour and a bottle of wine.

Rooms are a bit on the small side, and they probably should have gone for a jacuzzi instead of a micro-pool. But the beds are comfy, there's plenty of hot water, and the designers tried to imbibe a cool vibe (it doesn't quite work, because San Rafael simply isn't "cool" enough!).

What's nice about staying in San Rafael is that things are low key and good value -- including the wineries and restaurants. I'd recommend rafting with Raffeish. Twelve bucks for an hour of whitewater -- try to find that anywhere else. Stop by the great tourist office downtown where they will point you in the right direction for tours and restaurants.

Stayed: November 2008
4  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

Not much to look at from the outside, but as soon as you walk in, you are in a cozy little hotel with almost a B&B feel. There are only 8 rooms here so there is plenty of personal attention.

We traveled with our infant son, so we spent a significant amount of time at the hotel and found it very comfortable. The hotel is new, so the furnishings were in excellent condition. The tiled floors were spotless and the beds were large and comfortable. There is a small pool (frigid at the time due to consistent rains) in a charming courtyard where you can relax in a hammock or write emails using their wi-fi.

The breakfast was mediocre but on par with other hotels in the Mendoza province (weak coffee, cold cuts, assorted bread, cereal, yogurt, fruit, thin juice). They offered wine by the bottle from several bodegas in San Rafael; the Alfredo Roca Malbec at $25 pesos ($8 USD) was an excellent find and value.

A pleasant experience all around for $225 pesos (about $70 USD) per night.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank familyof3Lima_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

This is a new hotel only open since about May 2007 but it is superb value for money and a wonderful experience.

The hotel is superbly designed with great attention to detail and pleasant communal areas. The bedrooms are individually tailored each named after a red wine grape type - we stayed in Syrah, bedrooms are large and tasteful, bathrooms are similarly impressive.

There is a very good breakfast included in the rate (currently about 200 pesos per room per night) and one modern pc for internet access. The smart garden contains deckchairs and a small pool.

Staff are friendly and knowledegable and arranged laundry and a volcano walking guide for us. They sell local wine and products at reception.

This is quite the best value hotel I have ever stayed at. The only reason why we were the only people staying there must be that San Rafael hasn´t got the street cred of Mendoza city.

San Rafael is about 220km South East of Mendoza and is a good alternative to staying in the city of Mendoza with excellent outdoor activities available in the nearby Canyon of Atuel and elsewhere. Local Bodegas are also nearby for tours & tastings.

The Red Wine Club´s location is about a ten minute walk from San Rafael centre, but easily found with a map or being talked down by hotel reception.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JulesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Rafael hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Mundo
Hotel Nuevo Mundo
#9 of 20 in San Rafael
76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tierra Mora Hotel Boutique & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Hostel Rogupani
Hostel Rogupani
#12 of 49 in San Rafael
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites San Rafael
0.9 mi away
Shanti Hostel
Shanti Hostel
#32 of 139 in San Rafael
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Caru Leufu
Cabanas Caru Leufu
#95 of 139 in San Rafael
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wine Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wine Club

Address: Calle Salta 424, San Rafael M5602GJJ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael
Price Range: £146 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Wine Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combing the enchantment of wine processing and architecture, The Club is opening its doors in San Rafael, Mendoza with a new professional concept in accommodation. We are making a proposal in artisanship and sophistication, which will allow us to discover classic tradition within new custom. Closely located to the mountain range, it is here where beauty and good taste are ready to offer you maximum satisfaction. Our rooms mirror the concept of red wine grapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Wine Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing