We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little place”
Review of Hotel Pukarainca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pukarainca
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Uspallata
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We had a great time at this hotel which is about an hour from the Aconcagua national park. The staff (owners) was very friendly, the dinner was good and the breakfast very complete. There isn't a lot to do around the hotel so it's a good place to relax before heading off on another leg of your vacation. It is a few km from Uspallata, a car is a must. No wifi internet but a connection through the hotel's computer is available. Overall very comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

The Pukarainca it’s a hotel surrounded by the second line of the Cordillera de los Andes. The view is really amazing and you are able to see the pick of the Aconcagua –see the pictures attached-. If you check it out its website, you could read is the only one hotel in all Uspallata with that kind of location and view. Well, let me disagree with this information given there’s another hotel 300 meters from Pukarainca with the same location and view (Tres Frutillas Hotel Boutique).
It has an argentinean northern style of deco with nice common area. The outside of the lodge is a lovely square formed structure in terracotta color where you will able to have a relax time. Every room has its own mini backyard-terrace with chairs, table and “hamaca paraguaya” –a sort of sun longer made of artisanal fabric that hang for both sides from vertical logs. Very, very awesome was to spend time contemplating the amazing view at this lovely terrace.
Room was nice and decorated with northern style. Despite the fact of that, our room was not luxury at all, as the website announced. It has a humid not fixed in some part of the wall, doesn’t have frigobar –the website said it has-, the TV is the smallest one –has satellite TV and DVD though-. The bathroom is definitively not a “luxury hotel” bathroom. I stayed in a Mendoza City hostel that has a better bathroom. 1- It was not properly clean; 2- They let you two “mini” shampoos as amenities and a one regular toilet soap to share; 3- The curtain is depressed and not very clean; 3- There are not place to hung the hand towel or a spot to soap into the shower; 4- The garbage was ridiculous small and has no top to close it.
When we arrived we asked for an extra night. The owner -who welcomed us in a really warm manner- told us that it wasn’t possible because they have to leave!! I think that was not a serious business attitude. 1- If you have a luxury hotel –and proudly you announce it at your website-, maybe you have to pay for a replacement if you have to leave; 2- And I also think that maybe he should have said that they has no place instead “we leave”.
Anyway, although we won’t be able to stay one more night, we would have appreciated to find a room folder with info or received data to make something around in the amazing surroundings. Maybe was our mistake given we didn’t ask as at the answer e-mail they announce –I’m going to quoting-: “contamos con 20 has con senderos, rios propios y bosque”, which means: “we have 20 has with paths, own rivers and a wood”. We thought it was enough to manage our selves. But the paths were a few bunch of rocks spread along not much of 200 meters from the hotel. And we were not able to find their river and wood. Maybe we need them to give us a map to find them. The website also promotes an outdoor pool that sadly was not available despite Uspallata Valley days were really hot.

Room Tip: It's a nice hotel but not a luxyury one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabuenosaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

If you are touring in the area and are, say, not interested in staying in Uspallata proper, and if you have a motorized vehicle (and that’s key), Pukarainca Mountain Lodge is fine for a night or two. What recommends it is the absolutely spectacular view. Nothing is in particularly good repair, but I couldn’t in good conscience say things are in a bad state.

The lodge itself feels like countless other lodges that don’t charge enough nor have enough capital to keep on top of necessary maintenance. The rooms themselves are basic and basically clean.

What else you can expect or need to know:

• There is no “San Alberto,” save a road sign roughly ten miles from the center of Uspallata. Most of the road is paved, and, likely, all of it will be by the time you travel there. That is, there isn’t a store of any sort, nor gas station, nor….
• A copious (and gratis) but decidedly unhealthy breakfast (orange “drink,” bagged artificially flavored yogurt, white bread rolls, etc. (eggs on request) is included in the price of your lodging.
• A decent (though somewhat overpriced) lunch or dinner with a decent selection of wines is available at the restaurant. The pizza is quite good.
• An intimacy you may or may not want hangs over the place. For instance, the owners’ daughter can be heard late into the night laughing or shrieking in the common areas. Her toys were underfoot. You can find yourself uncomfortably eating dinner a table away from the owners. Partly in their defense, this intimacy means that the owners are affable and willing to offer you the kind of advice you are likely to get elsewhere.
• No potable water. That is, you have to supply your own. You can buy it from the lodge (at inflated prices), of course, or you can bring it with.
• No shade. There were umbrellas on each “private” patio and on the central patio, too, at some point, but they are all long gone—shorn off by the winds. Since this is big sky country, and since the sun can get fierce, shadelessness is next to bummerness at the lodge.
• No ventilation. Other than a windowless wood patio door—which I kept closed during the night, given the wildlife and insects in the area—there’s no air. (There’s a large window with a great view, but it doesn’t open.) Even with the door open all day, the room heats up, and you end up sleeping hot—that is, if you are there during the warmer seasons.
• No WiFi; although, the owner is kind enough to share his 3g modem if you ask, and everyone does; so, there’s a line of folks all vying for the same strangulatingly slow and intermittent connection.
• Oddly, don’t expect to find a trash container in any room or in any common area—likely a matter of 1) not encouraging you to bring in food from the outside and 2) not having garbage service.
• No marked hiking or biking trails (other than the lodge’s own five minute circuit). Everything within walking distance seems privately owned, is unmarked, and is full of country dogs.

As an aside: I rented a mountain bike thinking that I’d commute into Uspallata when necessary. The ride down the hill (40 minutes) was fine, when there was no wind, the ride up the hill under the scorching sun (which bangs at you relentlessly from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m during summer and early autumn) was terrible and, owing to the local drivers, more than a bit dangerous. Not exactly a ride in the country.

Let’s just say Pukarainca Lodge is a Mom and Pop affair that benefits from its physical location and could use a bunch more polish and hospitality savvy across the board.

By way of context: my review is based on a seven night stay that straddled the last week of March, first week of April, 2010, and comes after being on the road in Argentina and Chile for two months.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank semicolon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pat29q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank MJauff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pukarainca, Gerente at Hotel Pukarainca, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pukarainca, Gerente at Hotel Pukarainca, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uspallata hotels
7.9 mi away
Los Condores Hotel de Montana
7.8 mi away
Mamuna
Mamuna
#3 of 5 in Uspallata
29 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hostel Cerro de Cobre
Hostel Cerro de Cobre
#11 of 16 in Uspallata
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Complejo Apo-Inti Cabanas
Complejo Apo-Inti Cabanas
#1 of 16 in Uspallata
16 reviews
5 mi away
La Comarca
La Comarca
#10 of 16 in Uspallata
3 reviews
0 mi away
Samadi Hostel
Samadi Hostel
#5 of 16 in Uspallata
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pukarainca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pukarainca

Address: Ruta Nacional 149 Km 14, Uspallata 5545, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Uspallata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Uspallata
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pukarainca 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pukarainca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing