We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location, and a great place to stay to see the falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel has views of the falls from its bar and terrace. Walkways take you directly to the upper and lower walks and the train which takes you the Devils mouth. Its a confortable hotel, with good restaurants and bar, a nice friendly atmosphere, and a great spa for massages. The staff are all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Falls facing rooms come at a premium; garden rooms face the car park and recpetion area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you very much for this wonderful comment!!
We are pleased to know that your stay in this magical place was so good.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Cordially, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 3,051 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We only had one night so we decided to stay in the park with a falls view room. Rooms are a good size and clean. The hotel itself would get a very good but due to the view and location it just is fantastic.We were out on the trails to the falls early in the morning with not one other visitor.
We took the advice of previous reviewers and ate at the bar, food was good..There is a lovely patio ouside the bar were we sat and had some drinks and snacks looking at the falls and the toucans that would came to visit.
I can't understand the negative comments about breakfast..It was great with a large selection.
I really recommend staying at this hotel to get the full Falls experience.

Room Tip: Higher falls view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDublingirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review!!
I will share it with all those who make our hotel work. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Perhaps the hotel is only very good but the view is definitely excellent. Falls view rooms are worth the premium prices and the walk to the falls is about 30 minutes. Don't believe there is anything closer. Meals are good in restaurants and bar. Didn't travel to the Brazilian side so can't compare the views. About 20 minutes from the airport and about 25 minutes to town; both a reasonably priced taxi-ride away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFHLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review!!
We were delighted to know that you had a wonderfull stay with us and enjoyed our fantastic location and views.
It always be a great pleasure to welcome you here.
Cordially yours, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

While this is not an "upscale" Sheraton, it is clean and close to the falls. Remember, you are in the jungle which brings, bugs, humidity, and critters. Nice place to stay and the staff is friendly. There are beautiflu grounds and walk areas on site.

Room Tip: Get a high room and see the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick_Sue1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is located inside national park, and its greatest advantage is you can enjoy the park without travelling too much from outside it.
If you dare, it's great to have promenades after park is closed: despite it is not allowed, it is normal to do it and see the place uncrowded.
Hotel facilities are ok, but not a 5 stars like. Just be warned, you pay for the location. If you look a place to be at the hotel 50% of the time, it's not the right one for you, and Puerto Iguazú offers much better options comparing price and quality.
Choose falls view rooms, and take care of the monkeys outside :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfredo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It's hard to know how to rate this hotel. On the plus side the views of Iguazu are amazing. Moreover, your location in the park enables you to see the waterfalls by yourself for the first hour before massive crowds arrive. This is for me an overriding argument.

On the other hand the hotel room and food were simply indifferent. Acceptable but you certainly felt the hotel traded on its superb location.

What was, however, completely unacceptable was that wifi access in your bedrooms cost money and was incredibly lousy. (Access in the bar was free and better.)

We did not stay in Cataratas on the Brazilian side so I cannot comment on the hotel but definitely go the Brazilian side. Whilst most of the waterfalls are on the Argentinian side of the border, the best view is from the Brazilian side. It completely deserves its reputation as a wonder of the world.

Finally, wherever you stay go on the motor boat under the falls but take seriously the warning you will get wet. The French lady in front of me stripped to knickers and bra. Twenty minutes later I realised that she was not an exhibitionist but an intelligent individual who had conducted her research properly !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremy3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for your comments!!
our guest`s satisfaction is our top priority, that is why I ask you to accept my apologies if something during your stay was not to your liking.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Let's face it: you're going to stay here anyway, regardless of the reviews. The location is unbeatable. I would stay here again. But it's not a good hotel. The image that kept coming to mind during my stay was of Scrooge McDuck in his safe, playing on piles of gold coins. I'm paying $318/night, plus 20%+ in taxes. That's all going to some Scrooge McDuck-like owner, who's not putting a penny back into the place. At least not that's visible.

The first day, my 6-year-old was in the kid pool and picked up numerous tiles from the bottom of the pool. When he held up a pile of tiles to me, I looked around and saw that the entire pool area was shedding tiles. Nice. Nothing like a little upkeep. And the pool was freezing.

The good: Check-in was fast, internet is free (even in our room, despite it only technically being free in the lobby), and they agreed to a 1pm late checkout for us, three hours past the standard departure time. That's what got it a second star. And the multi-country outlets in the rooms are nice.

The bad: As a previous reviewer noted, the architect who designed the hotel shouldn't have been allowed to design again. It's an extremely ugly hotel. The rooms aren't great. The sliding glass door opens only once you get past a couple feet of curtain and the curtain-pullers that nail you on the head every time. The usable area of the shower is tiny. There's no space in the in-room fridge for leftovers - it's crammed full of overpriced mini-bar items. The safe is too small to fit a standard 15-inch laptop. There are no drawers for clothes.

The patio door isn't well sealed. It makes a constant noise, like every few seconds, as it groans against a slight draft. It actually woke me up the first night. I propped every chair against the door (in the dark), but it was only quiet when I added my weight to that of the chairs. That wasn't going to work all night. So I put in earplugs.

Lobby bar service was mixed. The first night it took almost half an hour to get our check, despite multiple requests and not many other occupied tables. The second night the check was much faster, but we were charged for two items that weren't ours. It took awhile to get them removed. Not cool to have to closely check the bill for other tables' items.

The breakfast buffet was mediocre. The orange and papaya juices barely had any taste. I was almost finished with breakfast before I was offered coffee.

At lunch they brought us a kids' menu. It was one of those paper ones that was meant to be drawn on with crayons - a crossword puzzle, word search, items to color, etc... But here's the funny part - it was laminated. Even with paying $318 a night, they can't afford to print more kids' menus? I've never seen a place that cheap before. Ever.

Again, I'll stay here next time. I highly recommend it for the short walk to the falls. But the hotel really is as bad as previous reviewers have noted.

Room Tip: The view of the falls is great - pay extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelBabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian B, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We are always grateful and interested in receiving your comments.
I would ask you to accept our most sincere apologies for the discomfort experienced.
Without any doubt your comments are our most valueble tool to improve our services and I truly hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again.
Sincerely, Cristian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iguazu National Park
8.4 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,242 reviews
8.4 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
220 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,758 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
548 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa

Address: Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina (Formerly Sheraton Iguazú Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range: £193 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a natural sanctuary in the heart of the jungle, where the magnificent Iguazu Falls cascade in front of the Meliá Iguazu Resort & Spa. . Rest in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere, immersed in the mystical energy of the Paranaense jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing