We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2006

The Sheraton at Iguazu Falls is not as elegant as a five-star big city hotel, but it doesn't have to be. It's perched at the edge of a breathtaking path that leads past one magnificent view after another. The falls themselves are spell-binding, but keep your eyes open for the colorful birds and butterflies around you. Don't miss a walk to the Devil's Throat. It's one of those once-in-a-lifetime things to do. If you like boating, sign up for some of the excursions. They're fun and not too expensive. But back to the hotel. When we were there the pool was under construction, and the climate is tropical, so you may be in the mood to swim. If the pool is still off-limits, talk to the front desk or the manager. They'll arrange a car to take you to the Cataratas Hotel where you can take a dip and enjoy a meal poolside. It, too, was a very nice place -- but about 20 minutes from the falls. Do make the trip over to Brazil if you've got lots of time. You'll get a different perspective, but the place is more crowded and more developed, making Argentina a far better place to experience the falls. We flew in from Buenos Aires and stayed two nights. Our travel agent had warned there was nothing to do once we'd seen the falls, but frankly we could have stayed longer. The food was fine. The hotel was comfortable, and you can't help but love the surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SEH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,982 - 1,988 of 3,053 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2006

We spent 2 nights at the Sheraton Iguazu in May 2006. Nothing can beat the view of the falls from the rooms or the front terrace. Our 3d floor falls view room had been completely refurbished. The floors were all tile and marble and everything was very clean. If you come this far to see the falls, you might as well spend the extra dollars and get the spectacular view from this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2006

WOW Iguazu is absolutely fabulous and the Sheraton is no less. We stayed in a 'Falls View' room with magnificent views of the national park and the glorious waterfalls. Staff was very courteous, polite and helpful. The restaurants at the Sheraton were excellent – (food & service) and I definitely recommend that you stick to the Sheraton for your meals if you want to eat well. Looks like all major works that were being carried out have now been completed with finishing touches being carried out on the beautiful indoor pool and spa. The outdoor pool is stunning, but pity the water isn’t heated. The location of the Sheraton is second to none. It's the only hotel inside the national park offering direct views of the stunning waterfalls and is just a few metres away from the trails. In Iguazu be sure to take the 'great adventure' tour which consists of a high velocity dinghy speed boat ride taking you right under the 'St. Martin' falls (2nd largest in Iguazu) - the ride is incredibly fun but be ready to get completely soaked!! (good thing the Sheraton is a few minutes walk from end of tour) If you're lucky enough to visit during a full moon as we were, then take the full moon guided tour led by the park rangers during the night time - truly magical!! 2 days in Iguazu is more then enough but once you're done you'll leave Iguazu with memories to treasure for your lifetime (and probably hundreds of photos).

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AsterixxMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2006

I rated this hotel excellent not for it's splendor which is actually very basic but for its location.

You literally are steps away from the most magnificent falls you will ever see!

The hotel is clean and the buffet breakfast is really good and has TONS of food.

The hotel staff are polite and the dorrmen are especially helpful. They also do not stand aroud waiting for tips after they help you...which just made me tip them more for being so kind.

Get a room with a view of the falls and enjoy the Tucans flying from tree to tree right outside your balcony

2  Thank rickb0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
213
Reviewed 3 May 2006

OK - We all know what your going to get in a Sheraton Hotel, pretty much the same standard of room / service / facilities anywhere you go. Yes its going to be expensive compared to mostof the alternatives but in this case the location is worth it.....OK when we went there the swimming pool was a sandpit full of diggers and the forest view rooms had a delightful 'eau de septic tank....but no-one comes here for the Hotel itself !

First thing I said when entering the reception was "Wow - check the view!" second thing was "Can I upgrade to a falls view room !" (unfortunately there were none available – so be warned)

I wouldn't recommend staying more than one night here though - If your not American (or your American and you don't mind paying the reciprocal US$100 visa fee) - then stay here one night and get a taxi across the border into Brazil and stay at the "TROPICAL DAS CATARATAS" - We thought one day either side of the falls was ideal, although if you have to choose then the Argentinian side has the most breathtaking vantage points and the best facilities.

Tip.....arrange your taxi at the airport they will pick you up at your hotel and take you across the border for about half the price of the guys at the Sheraton !

If I had to rate the Hotel alone I would say ** but given its location its gets ****

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Texas
15
Reviewed 2 May 2006

If you want to be close to the falls with a great view, decent food and great service, this is a good pick. Price and service are better than Iguazu Grand Casino, where we also stayed for a night, and although the Iguazu is closer in to town and is prettier and has a gorgeous pool (although it wasn't heated) we liked the Sheraton better overall. You can walk to most of the trails to the falls, or to the free train to get to the rest of the trails. Rooms are small but well appointed. My husband and I enjoyed our stay there, and if you ask for a view of the falls if they have it they'll upgrade you. Note that they are doing a lot of construction on the pool so the grounds are not in good shape right now, but it would be a little cool outside for that anyway. Breakfast buffet which is included is great- eggs, meat, breads, the works.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2006

Great location, unbeatable access to the falls but definitely overpriced. The main problem though (which could have been averted if we knew better) was the food on the lobby level. We had a pizza and burger and both were totally disgusting. In fact, neither my boyfriend or I have been able to eat or look at a burger since w/out feeling ill. The food on the lower level however was good. Breakfast buffet was incredible (great selection and good tasting).

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllegraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iguazu National Park
8.4 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,259 reviews
8.4 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
222 reviews
8.2 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,769 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
549 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa

Address: Parque Nacional Iguazu, Iguazu National Park 3370, Argentina (Formerly Sheraton Iguazú Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Iguazu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iguazu National Park
Price Range: £192 - £558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a natural sanctuary in the heart of the jungle, where the magnificent Iguazu Falls cascade in front of the Meliá Iguazu Resort & Spa. . Rest in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere, immersed in the mystical energy of the Paranaense jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Iguazu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iguazu Hotel Iguazu National Park
Sheraton Iguazu Resort And Spa
Sheraton Iguazu National Park
Iguazu National Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing