We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgent, relaxing, peaceful and special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Posadas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estancia Santa Cecilia
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We spent a very enjoyable 4 days at Santa Cecilia.

We got the bus there from BA (and later found out that we probably could have been dropped off right at the bottom of the estancia's drive.) The house (built in 1908) is handsome in lovely grounds and our room was comfortable and characterful with shuttered windows , a brass bed frame and antique furniture. The adjoining bathroom was a delight with gilt mirrors, tiled floor and chez long. The whole house smells deliciously of spicy wood and home baking.

We left several pounds heavier after being treated to 3 large meals a day (all produce from the estate), plus meriendas and iced tea that magically appeared throughout the day. We ate with other guests in the main hall at a large table, or, when we were the only guests left, on the candelit verandah which was very romantic.

We took several horse rides (no experience necessary - very gentle quiet horses) with one or more of the gauchos including an afternoon with the gauchos as they did real work, herding cattle for a weigh-in. This was a great way to see the beautiful estate.

We saw many birds of prey, owls, bats and a large cayman in the 'pond'. There are also several well cared for cute dogs who kept us company too.

There was nothing so nice as lounging on the verandah's hammock or rocking chair, or by one of the permanent fires indoors. Sylvia (the owner) was a warm but discreet hostess who gave us plenty of space but also made sure we were entertained. She had great ideas for riding routes and I'm sure she arranged specially for her son Diego, the estanica's business manager, to be present at one point to explain some of the running of the ranch in his excellent English.

Whilst there we also visited the nearby (30km or so) Jesuit ruins at San Ignacio where we had an excellent English speaking tour almost at closing time and then went back in for the new son et lumiere show which started on 1 August and if it is still on - go! It was quite magical.

We look back fondly on Santa Cecilia - Sylvia and her neice Marienna (visiting and helping out with the great food) made us very welcome indeed and were interesting company. As we had booked in advance and all meals and rides etc were included, no money changed hands whilst we were there, which added to the feeling of being a true 'guest'. We loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherryburners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2009

My wife, our 6 & 10 year old children and myself arrived at Santa Cecilia after we spent a few days exploring the wonderful Ibera marshlands. From the very first moment we felt very welcome and at home. The estancia owner, manager and host senora Silvia made us feel we were visiting family. The manor house is beautiful and completely authentic in its decoration, the bedrooms comfortable and with beautiful views all the way down to the river and Paraguay. For those who need it, there's even a large and very well maintained pool. We enjoyed the long talks (in French) with Silvia and the only other very nice co-guest from Paris. The horse rides with the authentic gauchos over the 8000 hectare, incl. moving herds of cows to other parts of the estancia were truly fantastic - for all of the family. Lunches and dinners were in the amazing dining room or outside parilla BBQ next to the huge tree. Food & drinks were very good and plentiful, service from the staff wonderful and personalised - meeting your every need. Our stay with senora Silvia at Santa Cecilia was one of the true highlights of our 3 week trip in Argentina and Uruguay. It comes highly recommended, don't let the price allow you to go for cheaper alternatives. Truly everything is included and money can normally not buy such a unique experience!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDutch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Living in Argentia since two years, we have stayed at estancias (colonial style farm houses) all over the country. Santa Cecilia is one of the best. We enjoyed every bit of it, from the most attentive and personalized service, aptly supervised by our host Silvia de Navajas to the splendid and elegantly furnished rooms and a magic ride on the grounds up to the river Paraná during sunset and up coming moonlight. The sumptuous food had a slight regional touch, most appreciated in a country where you get good meat every where, but few regional variations.

We were completely happy sitting on the wrap around veranda, looking to the 100 years old fig tree and to the pastures beyond while chatting with Silvia on farm matters and the peculiarities of life in Misiones, the subtropical province of Northern Argentina, one hour South of the Iguazu Falls.

We payed USD 265 for a double room including all meals and the ride, which is not cheap but compares well with other estancias. Santa Cecilia offers accomodation in six rooms altogether. The best are in the main house. We stayed on a Sunday, on weekdays the price includes riding with the gauchos and getting a glimpse of their every day work with the cattle.

Edith Werner, Buenos Aires, Argentina

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2007

We arrived at the estancia in a state of exhaustion and hunger after an all-night bus ride from Salta. After showering, we were greeted by a delicious spread of lunch on the big plantation-style porch that goes all the way around the main house. It was like a southern plantation, with a constant flow of ice tea on the porch or under shade trees. But it was also like a ranch because they have lots of cattle in addition to the thousands of hectares of pine forests. Very authentic gauchos took us on horseback rides that covered only a fraction of the total expanse of the estancia. The hostess also walked around with us and explained what the various trees were and how they are used. (We spoke Spanish). The rest of the day was spent swimming in the pool. This was one of our biggest splurges of our Argentina trip, but well worth it, considering that it was real exposure to the gaucho/estancia way of life.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FunDogSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2006

This lovely working Argentinian Ranch is within easy reach of Argentina's Jesuit Missions. The rooms are decorated with family furniture, with ajoining bathrooms. Meals and drinks are included and take place with the gracious owner operator, Silivia, in the stately dining room. Activities on the property are walking on the grounds, horsebackriding, swimming, or lounging on the wonderful veranda sipping wine and watching the sunset. If you like a shiny, sparkly tourist hotel with pristine and impersonal decoration this isn't for you, but if you like a unique and lovely experience with cultural immersion this is your place.
Culture shock 2/5 not north america, but all the comforts
Language shock 3/5 hostess speaks workable English
Food shock 3/5 Food is local, but very edible

Thank journey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Posadas hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Urbano Posadas
Hotel Urbano Posadas
#1 of 13 in Posadas
448 reviews
3.6 mi away
Maitei Posadas Hotel & Resort
3 mi away
La Mision Posadas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Crucero Posadas Express
1.7 mi away
Continental Posadas Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#12 of 13 in Posadas
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Santa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Santa Cecilia

Address: RN 12, Km 1366 | 30 km from Posadas, Posadas, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Posadas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Posadas
Price Range: £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing