We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in good location with great pool...”
Review of El Libertador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Libertador
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Reviewed 15 March 2013

OK, the hotel is a bit dated, and the rooms could do with new carpets.
Our room was on the back (quiet a long walk from the front desk, and maybe therefore quiet). Air con was working fine, the bathroom was very spacious, clean and had a hairdryer. WiFi is only working in the lobby, with is therefore crowded 24/7.
The big plus is a huge pool (nice to cool down after a day at the falls), and bar with music in the evening.
Some of our group stayed for the dinner buffet there and enjoyed it.
The breakfast consists only of a few different pastries, cornflakes with hot milk and watermelon- not even bread...
It is within 5min walking distance from the main bus station, supermarket and souvenir shops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Son_UK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

Picked this hotel as part of my package tour to Iguazu Falls, so I was not expecting much as I picked it because of price, and that it had a big pool, because I knew Iguazu would be stinking hot, and I would like a dip on return from my tours.

For a short stay it was OK, close to the cafes, restaurants etc, and I found the eateries to be very good and reasonable. The rooms are really old, they could use a coat of paint. The beds are small, the shower was poor, so don't have a long one, but hey at least there is a shower.

The hotel areas are in need of a major overhaul, the carpets look aged and dirty. The staff could use a new uniform and a smile.

All in all its more like a 2 star hotel. In the end you are probably staying here for the Iguazu falls experience not the hotel experience, so just treat it as a place to house your luggage, have a shower and sleep, and do your tours.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LewishamOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Walls are thin, so you can hear your neighbors and they can hear you.
Rooms are of basic comfort, with little space left around the bed.

The shower started to "leak" into the ceiling on first use, just by moving the handle. Kudos to the hotel service, this has been fixed within 20 minutes. :)

Bed linen was not changed even once in 5 days, and looked non-fresh especially in summer period when people sweat a lot.

1st major disappointment is a lack of WiFi: even though the hotel claims to have free WiFi, it was never accessible. Every employee first says that it will be fixed in 1 hour, then on next occasion - by later same day, and finally - by next day. And this legend was repeated by every employee we have tried to inquire about the WiFi. The nearby cafes provide WiFi when you order something, and from our experience usually 1 cup of terrible coffee goes from 5 to 25 pesos.

2nd major disappointment is the breakfast: only few pastry types offered, sometimes not even fresh, and most of the time they are all burned to blackness, that we had to scrap before eating. No fruits, and no European style snacks like cheese, ham, etc. No natural juices either.

On a positive side: the swimming pool is nice, with plenty chairs around it and sometimes nice music from the bar. And of course, the location. the hotel is a walking distance from any place in Puerto Iguazu, whether it is a bus station, shopping streets, restaurants and cafes, post-office, etc.

But overall experience was really not good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We srtarted out our Iguazu trip by staying at the Hotel Cataratas, which was not centrally located but had very good accomodations for US $ 120/night. It rained a lot so after 3 days of sightseeing in the towns (Puerto Iguazu and Foz de Iguacu) we decided to extend for an additional 4 nights and transferred to El Libertador Hotel where we were offered accomodations for approx. US$ 55.00 per night. Well, a lot has been said about its location and age (from the 60s ?) but, hey, you'll find the same on hotels along El Camino Real costing a lot more money and with inferior service and cleanliness, so if you are coming from the States and wish to get the most bang for your buck in your vacation this Hotel will do it. The cold cuts and salads at dinner are of excellent quality, and if you enjoy receiving a massage treatment when in vacation, there are a couple of massage salons (one directly across the Hotel) near the El Libertador which are cheaper but of equal quality to what you'd get at the Cataratas Hotel; and if you are adventorous and enjoy tasting the local fare, there are a few restaurants nearby with live music entertainment at dinner and serve the local fishes ( El Dorado, Patu and Surubi) cooked in a variety of different ways, along with barbecue, pizza, etc.
Another plus is the many travel agencies nearby and the hotel itself, which will accomodate you in obtaining taxi or shuttle service to the brazilian side (Go see the Latin America music show with dinner buffet at Foz de Iguacu, but pre pay it before to save yourself money). The hotel staff is fluent in a variety of languages including English, German, Italian and Portuguese. If you plan to enjoy your vacation inside a Hotel room with a Jacuzzi tub, go elsewhere, but if you wish to save time and money and get the most of your vacation then the El Libertador Hotel is it .....If you get a better value for services than this let me know.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzLover06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Overview:

The hotel has a nice entry and reception area, has a pool, and a nice front appearance. It is located in a convenient location in the town. I suspect that it was quite an impressive hotel at the time it was built, probably back in the 50's, but is showing it's age now.

Good:

1. I found the food to be quite good, but not exquisite. The breakfast was basic, but the dinner was quite nice. I believe that both are included in the price of your room (except drinks) - it was in my tour package.
2. Although I did not use it, they pool was available for the hot weather.
3. Had cable TV, and AC.
4. Hotel staff were helpful.

Bad:
1. Showing signs of wear throughout the hotel.
2. Corner areas in restrooms, common areas, etc. could have been cleaned better.
3. Rooms were small and so were the beds.
4. I could not believe that now this hotel could have a 3 star rating. Maybe a 2 star.

My thoughts:

This is an ok hotel. I would look around first, but not exclude this hotel from your list. Just don't believe it is a 3 star hotel.

Please take time to rate my review. Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Personally, I would not recommend this hotel.

It is in a good location, in the centre of the town of Puerto Iguazu, close to many restaurants, shops, the post office, the tourist info centre and a short walk to the Tres Fronteiras. It also has a good size swimming pool, and the staff are friendly.

The room itself was basic, but it was clean and the beds were comfortable enough.

However, as the previous poster has said, the breakfast is disappointing. It consists of about ten different varieties of croissants, all of them sugary and glazed. There´s nothing savoury, apart from cereal, and that is served with warm milk. There´s no hot food and the only fruit on offer was watermelon.

We stayed on the ground floor and it was REALLY noisy. Noise from outside, but also from the hotel´s own "auditorium" which went on until about midnight. The doors and walls are really thin and there´s no carpeting, so we were woken up by people walking past our room, by the televisions in the lobby, not to mention the noise of everyone having breakfast and congregating for tours from 7am onwards.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank silverchameleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

A large hotel very centrally located in Puerto Iguazu near to the restaurants and local amenities.

Large size rooms however standard very poor....the hotel has not been updated since the 1960s (and it shows!). Bedding and bathrooms could do with some modernisation.

Hotel staff very friendly. However, this is let down by the breakfast.....other than croissants in different shapes and sizes, there is not a whole lot of choice!

The hotel has a pool...great for kids and also has regular evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank UkSharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.8 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#10 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
#46 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelta Hotel - Iguazu
Kelta Hotel - Iguazu
#31 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bosetti Apart Hotel
Bosetti Apart Hotel
#42 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cabanas Del Lenador Hotel
Cabanas Del Lenador Hotel
#33 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#30 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Libertador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Libertador

Address: Bonpland 110, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £37 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Libertador 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your El Libertador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Libertador Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing