We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously missed the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Sweet Hostel
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My boyfriend and I booked two nights at Hostel Sweet Hostel based on the recommendation in the Lonely Planet guidebook. From our experience, it is apparent that the reviewer did not actually stay in the hostel or the place has seriously gone downhill. The good: The bed was large and comfortable, the shower in the private bath was spacious, the staff was friendly, and the Thursday night barbecue was delicious. The bad: The room, blankets, and towels first reeked of cleaning products, which resolved into the unmistakable and overwhelming stench of mold. Moving the sheets revealed that the mattress was covered with a fine black patina on the sides. The air conditioner rattled and fizzled out after the first night. I left my computer on one of the bunk beds, only to discover a swarm of tiny ants on top of and inside it when I returned. The music in the bar area continued until 4 am, although no one was at the bar. The pool was small and dirty. Construction on the crumbling infrastructure of the main hostel area began at 8 am outside our window. The breakfast bread was stale and there weren´t enough cups for coffee. The wifi was temperamental. Finally, we were overcharged by 30 pesos per night compared to the prices listed on the website, but we were so happy to get out of there that we didn´t raise a fuss. We won´t be back. From speaking with other travelers at the hostel, we learned that Hostel Inn and Bambu Inn both charge a bit more but are much cleaner. It does seem as though they are fixing a lot of the problems, but you should wait until they are done.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rammycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Sweet Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

Staff are kind.
Bath rooms and bed rooms are not clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okam623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

we stayed here as the hostel we'd booked (Bambu) didn't have a room for us. Hostel Sweet Hostel is AWFUL. The double room was dirty, mouldy, the bed was horrible and the bathroom was disgusting. I would rather sleep outdoors than here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkladyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Our dorm was seriously cramped, smelly and dark. The bathrooms are really dirty and disgusting. Kitchen facilities terrible. The bread at breakfast was stale and there wasn't enough of anything for the few people staying at the hostel. Hostel Sweet Hostel has potential but seriously needs updating!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, booked a private guest house double room. Filthy and disgusting, smelt worse than anything i have ever known and the sheets were dirty, we actually found a large collection of ginger pubes. The room was freezing, anything listed on the website was fiction. NO WIFI! breakfast was abominable, cold coffee or cheap juice, and dry bread or a handful of cornflakes. Would stand outside and ward off any future travellers were I sticking around any longer. Horrendous and will be reporting it to the Lonely planet that reccommends it. Plus, there is no forum to comment on the website and no one wanted to hear the complaints, this is no coincidence. Absolutely vile.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank android1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This was the dirtiest hostel I've ever been in. The washrooms were disgusting with mold everywhere. The people in the room beside me had cats lying in their beds and on their clothes. There was NO security and the pool was filthy. The employees are nice but they need to update the place. I left after one night to a different hostel down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

So far this has been the worst hostel I've stayed in South America. Maybe I've been spoilt by Brazils breakfasts but a "great breakfast" is more than just bread, butter, cornflakes, milk, coffee and cordial (website says there is Ham, eggs, corn flakes, milk, bread, butter, jam, coffee, Tea, Juice and Fruits). Also basically the entire place was filled with a large tour bus group. And having internet tends to involve having a computer for people to use who don't have WIFI. Also I booked through there site which says the prices are valid till July and the guy at check-in said they had expired in December (not that it was a pulic holiday so they were invalid).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadsadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iguazu Royal
Hotel Iguazu Royal
#37 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Guembe Hostel House
El Guembe Hostel House
#55 of 129 in Puerto Iguazu
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residencial Uno
Residencial Uno
#95 of 129 in Puerto Iguazu
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Guembe Suites
El Guembe Suites
#45 of 53 in Puerto Iguazu
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
#31 of 129 in Puerto Iguazu
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Peter Pan
Hostel Peter Pan
#54 of 129 in Puerto Iguazu
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Sweet Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sweet Hostel

Address: Calle El Mensu 38, Puerto Iguazu N3370CWB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £14 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful brick road (no car sounds) only a block and a half away from the bus station it is set in a tranquil setting surrounded by trees and native plants only two blocks from downtown.The brand new private rooms and dormitories are richly decorated with local artisan crafts. Most of them include air conditioning, en suite bathroom and comfortable new mattresses.Private rooms are furnished with plush mattresses, box springs, and some of them has cable TV, and the most importante thing, you'll be able to sleep without noises.Each day begins with a complinetary hearty breakfast (Ham, Eggs, Corn Flakes, Milk, Bread, Butter, Jam, Fruit, Coffee, Tea, and Juice) by the swimming pool. Later enjoy reading, relaxing or drinking a refreshing cocktail in a hammock.A fully equipped kitchen allows guests to prepare their own meals throughout the day. Travel agency, & free wifi even in some of the rooms are available as well.Our Staff, included me, the owner, provides the most ideal place to chill out and enjoy your stay. We are pleased in giving you advice of what to do . Almost every night we prepare a big barbecue for having a good time and for you to enjoy your stay at the waterfalls lands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Sweet Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing