We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wished we had stayed longer than 1 night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We wished we had stayed longer than 1 night.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We would srongly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel for your stay in Iguazu. This is a family run business and we were made very welcomed. The owners and staff at the hotel were very helpful during our stay and they provided us with all the information we needed.

Not to mention the champagne welcome at the reception. The bedroom we had was clean and they provide cover every details as they even provide you with a mosquito repelant within the room and we definitley did not get any mosquitos during the night. The hotel compound is very well looked after and clean.

The breakfast is amazing with different options to your taste. The restaurant is a must try. We read a lot of reviews about it and we can say it definitely lived up to its expectation. The husband of the couple that runs the hotel is the chef and the quality and presentation of the food was excellent. A lot of tourists that are not staying at the hotel come there to dine.

The overall service is excellent and again would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouteO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    163
    55
    14
    2
See reviews for
39
368
42
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful private garden hotel with a 5 star service , multilingual staff (I overhead them fluently speaking French,English and Italian) , pool and an excellent restaurant. Spacious rooms individually decorated, with excellent bedding facing a yard with a fountain. I visited 3. Some of them have jacuzzi. One of them had a tiny secluded private garden. All the windows have a tainted glass, so during the day you can have the curtains open and still have your privacy.
On arrival you are offered a glass of champagne.
I stayed 3 nights. Visiting waterfalls for 2 days and spending one whole day just in the hotel in the garden in the hamac and by the pool. The staff has real sense of what an excellent service must be. They are there if you want to have a friendly chat, need anything (and they make you feel that no question is a silly question), and they will completely disappear if you want to enjoy the garden and be left alone. Gonzalo at the reception went out of his way and did everything to help me successfully cancel a non refundable reservation in Cordoba without me having to pay full amount of my reservation otherwise. (I had to cancel next leg of my trip because of the unrest in the city of Cordoba).
I had an excellent meal in their restaurant. Really appreciated the fact that they let me to choose any bottle of wine from their wine list and pay it by glass. As I travel alone I would not be able to finish whole bottle by myself.

Try their excellent caipirinhas by the pool.
The pool was cleaned twice during the hours I spent there.

There seems to be some sort of a debate on TripAdvisor if this hotel is true boutique or not.
Well, there is a clear striving for excellence in everything here. I was really taken care of. And this kind of personalised care is a true quality of a premium establishment.
And for a very competitive price.
It is a bit out of the Center of Puerto de Iguazu. But All the best hotels here are. And still everything is reachable from the hotel on foot, by local bus or by taxi.
I will definitely stay here again if I m in the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank gromegrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A nice little hotel with a pool and outdoor jacuzzi. Just around the corner from tres fronteras and about 15 min walk to downtown. It's about 30 mins in a taxi to the falls. The staff were very helpful and friendly. And the food (dinner and breakfast) was very very good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cforey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This boutique hotel is about a 15 minute cab ride to the falls and a ten minute walk to Iguazu town - great location.

Rooms are well appointed, pool is good, whirlpool is adequate and grounds are peaceful.

What takes it over the top is the restaurant on site and the fabulous food prepared by a truly inspired chef. We ate there twice for dinner and they were the two best meals we had in a fourteen day stay in Argentina. Thank you Chef!

In addition, the service was excellent starting with the hostess and owner and the folks manning the front desk and acting as waiters. We were truly lucky to find such a special place. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the common area. Some may be larger than others and therefore worth inquiring a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a good stay in the hotel in spite of a very bad weather. In Iguazu, it rains a lot and often. Fortunately our room was the only one on the first floor and we felt less humidity than in other bedrooms. This room is a bit old fashioned compared to the others but it is like a suite, very big and comfortable. Our bathroom had an enjoyable jacuzzi. The service was very efficient and friendly, the owners, an italian couple make you feel like guests in their home. The husband is the chief. He succeeds to get products of high quality which is not easy in Argentine and especially in the jungle. Taste the merluza negra smoked with coiba (cigar from La Havanna) and caviar sauce, it is really great! Avoid asiatic meals which are a strange mix of asiatic and italian flavours. The hotel is a bit remote, near the 3 frontiers but close to the bus stop which gets you to the falls.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were in Puerto Iguazu for 3 days to visit Iguazu Falls. The staff were very friendly, giving it a family run feel. It's relatively small, so you have good access to the jacuzzi, pool and hammocks. The highlight was the restaurant where the chef rustled up some surprising and tasty combinations for us.

Room Tip: Some rooms have hammocks and a seating area out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciarain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I agree with what Mairoula_d says. I think this place has potential, but is not there and the price isn't reflecting it.

We had a room that was next to the outdoor hot tub. That isn't correct. I checked the hot tub, which was always bubbling, but it was cold, and the color of it looked like it needed chlorine and needed to be taken care of. In my opinion, it was a waste to keep the jets going when it was never really a hot tub anyone would go into.

The room was what I expected, and had AC which is necessary to keep air going. In the bathroom, we (both of us in our 30s), almost slipped since the water from the shower was impossible to stay in the shower since the "wall" is not enough to stop water from getting all over the floor.

The breakfast was good to me. No it didn't have eggs but in 2.5 weeks of being in Argentina, there was only 1 place that had eggs as a standard breakfast item. I appreciated that they had yogurt.

My last two points about this place, it is farther out of town, so you have to walk a ways to get to town. I didn't feel unsafe but the walkways are not evenly paved, or even paved at all, so sprained ankles can easily occur. Walkable yes, but not well lit.

My biggest point, which is still frustrating to me is upon checkout. I booked the hotel online through their own website. The deposit was charged to my card, and my expectation was that I could charge the rest to the card no issue. When I went I pay, I was told there is a 10% up charge to use my credit card. No where in my reservation document or email was this stated and they wouldn't budge. This has left a sour taste in my mouth still. Other hotels I booked with let me know this ahead of time, so I planned for cash accordingly.

To summarize, nice, but I might recommend another place to others traveling for the price and convenience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,872 reviews
2.5 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,856 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,760 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#12 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel de la Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel de la Fonte

Property: Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Address: Calle Corrientes 1, Puerto Iguazu N3370CQA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel de la Fonte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a different and unique boutique hotel, set in a park surrounded by lush tropical nature. We are located at 450 meters from the Hito Tres Fronteras/viewing point, 600 meters from Puerto Iguazu downtown and 18 km of the Iguazu National Park. Our hotel has 10 rooms. Each room has a different decoration. All rooms are equipped with A/C hot-cold, fridge, LCD TV, cable, Wi-Fi and the Dolce Vita room has a double Jacuzzi.In services we have a salt swimming pool, climatic Jacuzzi, massage, wireless internet, laundry service, parking and Restaurant. The Restaurant will be closed since 5th of June to 19th of June of 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel de la Fonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing