We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, service was hit or miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here for one night (was booked to be two). The setup of the lodge is pretty cool, very rustic and you feel like you're really in the jungle. They had that part taken care of very well.
The room was very rustic and a little too rustic for us. The best wasn't that comfortable and it was a king but was the two full size beds pushed together.
The bathroom setup was okay nothing spectacular but got the job done.
The breakfast was tasty and there was a good variety of things to eat.
The one drawback that we had was related to service in one area: the first morning we were there a foul smell was coming from the toilet, we called the front desk to get it checked out and the clerk asked when we would be out so they could have someone check it out. Dude, I need to use the toilet ... I'm not going to run the gauntlet in trying to find a public bathroom. Either way they did get it corrected a few hours later. However, there was never an acknowledgement or apology.
If you're looking for basic accommodations with a unique feel then you'll be happy with this location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingHuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel in March 2014. At first, I was not sure of staying in a lodge near a subtropical jungle but it turned out to be a really nice hotel. The hotel has an interesting look, with log type construction. The hotel reception staff were very nice and they even gave me directions to take the local bus to downtown Iguazu and return back. The restaurant was nice too.

A couple of things to note but these are not necessarily the hotel's fault:
(1) The hot water took a long time in the early morning to come through the faucets. The reception staff explained to me that I had to run the water for 10 minutes for the hot water to reach the cabins from the heater in the main area. So, be aware of this if you are an early morning riser and want to take a shower early.

(2) When I was trying to sleep, I heard like fire crackers or explosions near the room. I thought someone was lighting fire crackers, but then I thought it could not be possible as it would be dangerous to do it. It turned out that the animals or birds were chewing on the small fruits on the trees near the roof of the cabin and when those fruits or twigs fell from the tree onto the metal roof, it sounded like an explosion. Once I figured that out, it was okay, and the hotel reception staff confirmed that too.

The hotel had free wifi and it was better than the wifi I had in a hotel in Buenos Aires. The restaurant had good breakfast too. You can also walk to one side of the hotel to see some natives and a horse stall on the other side. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again, if I visit Iguazu Falls.

Room Tip: If you would like a good night's sleep, choose rooms that are not too close to trees. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKSolo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Super helpful staff, that helped us arrange a driver for a whole day, after Hertz fumbled our car rental and left us without car. Having our own driver allowed us to explore both sides of the falls, he also handled paperwork each time we had to cross the boarder - It was actually cheaper to hire a driver that to rent a car. The lodge is very nice, the restaurant is good, breakfast is OK by south american standards.
Good pool for relaxing, not suitable for doing laps.
The jungle setting was perfect and the rooms was big and has a jacuzzi bath top, hammock and free WiFi. The wood decor is a bit dated and could do with a refresh.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesper M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed one night but wish we could have spent more time here. Our son, age 7, enjoyed the property day and night. He swam like a fish during the day and in the evening enjoyed looking for wildlife (including the bugs) with his flashlight. It was fun to see our son enjoy himself so much here that we wished we had one more night. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff did our laundry in just a few hours! It was so nice to come back after dinner to clean clothes. The front desk was extremely helpful and some staff are bilingual (Spanish/English) which is always helpful. Breakfast was ample. We would return here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessN1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were here for 4 days. This is a nice quiet location which is walking distance and cab distance to the city center. The setting places each cabin in a jungle/Forrest type setting. The beds are good. There is free wifi in the rooms. The bathroom is okay, but could use some updates. Great pool! Staff is helpful and want to help
Dinner is excellent! Breakfast was included and was okay from a continental buffet. Lunch is just mediocre. Had lunch twice by the pool and sat in the sun.
We would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cmirkovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A 'jungle' lodge at the edge of the town. The main building is nicely maintained and houses reception and a bar/restaurant. The villas are set in six pods of four and nicely spaced for privacy. The 'jungle' surroundings are great....a variety of butterflies flying around as you walk to your villa. The pool is well situated. It is small but a quiet getaway from busy life. Pool side food service was efficient. The food left something to be desired....we ate dinner there one night which was enough for us..not much choice but the steak was worth the while.
The villas I saw (two) could use a bit of a fix up...the door handle fell off, the air conditioner leaked all night on my suitcase causing the clothes to be soaked...so watch out for this. The hot water was intermittent but it was a warm few days so lukewarm worked also..however for the price this should not happen. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
This is a good location as a base for the one (or two) day visit to the falls and different from the downtown hotels that were not great from what we saw.

Room Tip: Make sure you have hot water and that the doors/windows close....keep your clothes and suitcase away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights while on our 2 week honeymoon, and were hoping to make it the relaxing jungle getaway portion. We spent one day at the falls (one day is seriously all you need and can probably handle -- so much walking!) and spent the rest laying by the pool at the resort. The pool area is DEAD empty during the day because all the other guests are at the falls, so that was nice. You can purchase drinks at the small restaurant/bar by the pool, but the food selection is pretty slim.

We ate dinner in the restaurant 3 nights and I regret that -- there are some pretty good restaurants in town and our meal was really only good one of the nights in the hotel. It's also in the same room as the hotel check-in, so the ambiance is pretty much ruined by people coming through with their luggage. And there was this family with three obnoxious kids running around all the time, and no employee said a word - one of the other patrons finally had to say something to the parents.

If you ever want to go anywhere by taxi, they always ask where you are going which annoys me. It also took forever for the taxi to show up, and I suspect they use certain drivers with pre-agreed charges, because it was always cheaper for us to come back to the hotel from wherever we were. Otherwise, the room was great. Spacious, with a lot of jungle privacy and your own hammock and porch. The bed wasn't super comfortable, and you could hear everything the neighbors said and did, but overall the unique atmosphere was worth it. Also of all the hotels we stayed at on our trip, this is the only one that didn't reply to any of my inquiries beforehand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dardanellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.3 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,370 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,911 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yvy Hotel de Selva
Yvy Hotel de Selva
#23 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
360 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#20 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
#28 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Aldea de la Selva Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Aldea de la Selva Lodge

Address: Selva Iriapu s/n, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £65 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Aldea de la Selva Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of the Selva Paranaense, La Aldea de la Selva Lodge combines nature and comfort through our rooms that enhance the rustic and autochthonous of our missionary land, with furniture made by local artists. The perfect blend of rusticity and luxury. We are a pioneer hotel-tourism company in giving value to the natural and cultural resources of the area of ​​Iguazu, at the same time that we offer a unique lodging experience, committed with a distinguished service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Aldea de la Selva Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aldea De La Selva Hotel Puerto Iguazu
La Aldea De La Selva Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing