We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff”
Review of Stop Hostel Iguazu

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Iguazu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stop Hostel Iguazu
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We were originally going to stay here for 3 days in a double room with private bathroom, but due to the travel timing we had to change our stay to 2 days. The staff were extremely friendly and gave us a refund without a fuss. They were very helpful and great to chat to, and would go out of their way to help. They even offered us a free beer before we left!

We went to the Iguazu falls during the day and then left on a bus at 9pm, and they were happy to store our luggage and we had a shower and got organised before we caught the bus which made our day much easier!

There were good common rooms, a pool table and a nice balcony. Laundry service was available for 25pesos a load. Staff also speak great english and they organise tours to the falls from the hostel. They have a sister hostel 20m down the road which put on a great buffet one night which they gave us a discount for. They also have a pool which was out of order when we were there. Bathrooms were good and clean with plenty of hot water.

The only downside was that the our room (and most of the doubles I think?) faced out over the balcony and the road and this was very noisy at night with traffic and people.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    21
    8
    27
See reviews for
12
28
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

STOP hostel was able to accomodate my boyfriend and I on a very busy weekend, with no reservations. We stayed in a dorm room but were still able to sleep in a double bed together. Even though we were on the main floor, and there was a lot of partying outside our door, we still got a good night´s rest for the two nights we stayed there. The staff were helpful, the computers were fast, and the atmosphere in the hostel was friendly and exciting. The hostel has a list of activities to do every day, and has good deals on getting to Iguazu Falls, and also hosts fun parties with buffets at their partner hostel down the road called Che Lagarto. That hostel also has a small pool on the roof and a ton of computers that are free of use for people staying at STOP hostel. But the most important thing about this hostel was the INCREDIBLE breakfast, of which my boyfriend and only ever encountered once. They have hard-boiled eggs, cereal, fresh squeezed orange juice, chocolate milk, etc. If you´ve spent some time eating traditional Argentinian breakfasts you´ll really appreciate this one!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosePedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Great location, awesome breakfast and fun environment. On flip side, most of the rooms don\'t have windows (or you can't open) so if electricity goes down (which happens very frequently), you are in heat trouble. Moreover, I found the staff to be untrained and unable to cope multi-tasking especially a young girl at the reception. We were promised 2pm checkin. However, when we get back to hostel after our visit to waterfall, we were informed that our assigned room has been allocated to another party. They made us wait for more than our to prepare a new room for us. Aftter a long wait, we were assigned yet another room which was apparently ready for hours but staff was unaware.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling!
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We arrived here after hearing great reviews. It was a nightmare!
First we arrived and had trouble with our check in, being told we had no reservation, luckily we had the voucher to hand to prove we had and, oh suddenly, oh there we where!
Next went to get our room key at 2pm (check in time) only to be told it was not yet ready, fair enough we have been to enough hostels to know that this sometimes happens. But by 5.30pm we still could not get into our room. This was after a 26 hour bus journey, all we needed was a bed! At 6pm we got into the room only to find it had not yet been cleaned and had no free beds. I spoke with the manager and he tried to get us a bed, only the occupants arrived back and once again we were bedless.
The manager finally decided to put us in a private room with a double bed, fair enough, after the hassle it was the least he could do, until be put two other people in the room with us. This was very arkward for all as they had to sleep either side of the double bed. We also did not have sheets for the bed until after 9pm that night!
The power cut out for most of our time here, poor weather I know, but this meant there was no internet, wifi or free calls home as promised!
The AC is controlled byu reception and although is meant to be on from 8pm - 10am was off most mornings before 6am, i know becuase i woke up with the heat at that tiem every morning!
All in all a very disappointing experience!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciafromIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Iguazu hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

This was a great hostel. The staff we're really friendly, it has a great hang out area, and the breakfast is worth getting up for. In most hostels in Argentina breakfast consists of bread and jam. In Hostel Stop though they offer fruit, biscuits, eggs, toast, fresh bagette, orange, tea and coffee. We booked a double room en suite, the room has plenty of room (3 beds), it was clean, great A/c however, it did overlook the road which could be noisy.

All in all, the staff we're really helpful, and went out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Britain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We arrived at Stop at 11am, (having reserved a private room 2 days earlier) and were told that the room was yet to be cleaned and that check in was at 2pm.....no problem. We return at 3pm to be taken to our room, (which by the way looked nothing like the website pictures so dont go expecting clean and modern rooms) it had clearly not been cleaned (the carpet was dirty) and there were no sheets on the bed or towels in the bathroom. Returning at 4pm our room was finally clean, however we had no towels or sheets until 8pm that night. And the hair dryer did not work.

Other points to note
The hostel was noisy, slamming doors and noisy air con. in private rooms
Laundry service was terrible, our clothes were returned damp
Attitude of manager regarding customer service = lousy, however other staff members were super helpful and friendly.
100 pesos for private room is overpriced
Breakfast was OK
Good location, however the sister hostel Che Lagarta (20 m down the road) looks so much better so stay there!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubsGreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

So we arrived in the hostel around mid day and we were greated by a very friendly young lady who was very helpful and organised our room. She also had good english.

The room was quiet spacious with Aircon.

The girl at the front desk was very helpful and gave us great advice to go to the brazilian side that afternoon as it only took a few hours and spend all the next day at the argentinian side. ( brillaint advice)

Staff were also very helpful in ringing restaraunts for us to book( the young guys were extremly friendly and helpful.)

Breakfast in the hostel was a feast with as much Eggs, fresh water melon, breads , teas , coffee, cereal as you could eat.

The one bad thing that i experienced was the shower was only average.

Road side rooms can be noisey but you can sleep.

Just have to recommend this hostel based on our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmyno8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.5 mi away
Bosetti Apart Hotel
Bosetti Apart Hotel
#46 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Departamentos Centricos Iguazu
#49 of 123 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nuevo Hotel Misiones
Nuevo Hotel Misiones
#43 of 52 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
#26 of 123 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Portal del Iguazu
Posada Portal del Iguazu
#10 of 52 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stop Hostel Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stop Hostel Iguazu

Property: Stop Hostel Iguazu
Address: Avenida Victoria Aguirre Norte 304, Puerto Iguazu N3370AXQ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing