We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I can't say enough good things about this place. I was there during their winter, so I think maybe there would be even more to enjoy at other times, but that was my choosing and I still had a great time.
The meals were outstanding. A great breakfast buffet, and the dinners I had there were much better than what I'm used to when I go out to eat (which is not all that often.)
I'm a sucker for colored lights in the landscape at night, so that was really beautiful. Day or night, the grounds were really pretty. I felt bad for the pool guy constantly cleaning the pool when no one was swimming. But it shows the care that they give to the place.
I'm not for the nightlife or busy environment, so I was very glad to be away from it all. I didn't even venture downtown and there was no traffic near the hotel at all. Only the occasional taxi or tourist van. This is a place to be for peace and quiet, not excitement. I was only there for the falls.
I'm terrible with names, but the young guy there was hilarious. Extremely helpful but also friendly and enthusiastic. They even told me how to get to Iguazu the cheap way!
They were very understanding of my early arrival and late departure and were fine with me hanging out in the tv / internet area for hours.
It was a great experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCADmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,911)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

Came here to visit the falls and this place was woderful. the staff was very helpful and the lodge was perfect. Food was great/

Room Tip: Try to get a jubgle side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 34709Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at La Contada Jungle Lodge. The people were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. The jungle setting was very nice. The room was roomy, spacious and very clean. The food was decent and room service was very prompt. The activities director was very helpful with ideas about Iguazu National Park. The only drawback was an unreliable internet connection, which could have posed a problem for me if I had needed to do work. Otherwise, it was a great stay and I would stay there again if I return to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Big clean rooms with great bathrooms and plenty of insect netting! Convenient for parks but would recommend walking to the main road and getting the bus as taxi's are expensive

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

When an unexpected maintenance emergency caused our rooms to be damaged, the staff went ahead and booked us at a nearby five star hotel at no additional charge. Additionally, they provided transportation to the new hotel and provided a free dinner and tango show at their restaurant. The staff could not have been more apologetic and accommodating and I will absolutely stay at La Cantera next time I am in Iguazu Falls.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mjlong1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I went with a group of friends to dinner at La Cantera. Even after traveling to Buenos Aires prior to Igauzu and eating at some great restaurants, I believe that this was the best meal of our trip. The steak and salmon were both incredible and the service was on par. The tango show was also a lot of fun and included audience participation.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
Thank jar_cohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

This place is just amazing, we were so deligthed to arrive here. Its a short trip from the main airport. We loved everythign abotu this place, most of the staff are friendly and chatty and are happy to help you in any way. The rooms thmesleves are a sight to behold. When we arrived we were in time to go on a free guided tour of the local jungle area, very interesting, nice touch. There are bike you can rent for free also. As the lodge is located outside of the city, you will probably find yourself eating at the lodge each evening. We did this and loved almost all the food (note: there was an incident involving a piece of plastic in my partners salad, but the meal was stricken from our bill as an apology). But i have to say the female waitress on that night didnt seem to appreciate the seriousness and it took a whole 24 hours before we were told the meal was free...we expected the manager to speak with us, but it never happened, poor service in that regard, the only disappointment about this trip. Instead of using taxis, we decide to use the local bus, about 2 km walk from the lodge, it was super cheap and very frequent and it drops you straight to the falls, we'd highly recommend using this service rather than taxis/tour buses. We heard horror stories of very overpriced taxis to the falls. The location is great, right in the jungle, brekkies were nice, lots to choose from. We brought some wine with us and enjoyed drinking that on our balcony. Overall memorable stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCanteraHoteles, Guest Relations Manager at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Dear Guests,
We apprecitate your comments and at the same time feel very sorry not only for the incident but for the lack of service you received.
We feel very sorry for this, the General Manager has noticed it and talked to the Hotel Manager in order to improve this kind of incidents! Thank you very much for your notes and we will be expecting you any time. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.8 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,371 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#12 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
895 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,739 reviews
1.8 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Address: Ruta Nacional 12 5, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £88 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Jungle Lodge was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing