We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights to see the falls after a trip to the Pantanal area of Brazil. The hotel is conveniently situated for visiting the Argentinian side of the falls, but beware the border crossing to the Brazilian side can be busy and take some time.
The hotel is spread over a wide area with wooden gangways giving a great sense of being close to nature. Rooms are spacious with a huge, comfortable bed. The large wood clad dining room which has been criticised in the past was being painted the day we left, the "white-wash" effect looks much better. The staff were helpful and friendly.
Beware the breakfast! The usual cooked fare on offer, but look away if you have a sweet tooth and expanding waistline. There was an amazing selection of cakes and pastries on offer, but, hey, you are on holiday so dig in!

Room Tip: Wooden floors mean a lot of transmitted noise on the ground floor so book an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyrone321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We recently returned from a 4 night stay at Cantera Jungle Lodge and overall we had a very positive experience there.

We stayed in a superior room, on the second floor and found it to be spacious and very comfortable. The balcony with the hammock was a nice place to kick back and relax. Breakfast was standard, but certainly sufficient: fresh fruit, assorted pastries, bread, cheese, cold cuts, fresh OJ, yogurt, and eggs upon request (since we did not get these, we are not sure if there was an extra charge or not). The pool and grounds were lovely. And finally, on the whole, the staff were very helpful, friendly, and attentive (fresh OJ on arrival!) and only on a few occasions did we feel they were pushing a particular service.

The negatives: I am not sure I would entirely count this as a negative, but since the hotel is in the middle of the jungle, which is what gives it its charm and character, it is far from the town, where the restaurants are located. One night we ate at the hotel restaurant, and while it certainly wasn’t bad, for the price you can get something much better in town. The cab to the town will cost 40 pesos each way. The hotel offers a shuttle service which we used, it leaves the hotel at 6:30pm in the evening and returns at 8:30, which is sufficient time to eat dinner in town. Finally, if you arrange things (e.g. transportation to the parks, airports, etc) directly with cab drivers it will be cheaper than if you ask the hotel to do it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

La Cantera has a more 'authentic ' feel than some of the international hotels we saw along the main road around Iguazu. It is located off the main road down a rough track, so you really do feel like you are in the jungle.
The hotel is comfortable but set amongst the rain forest trees and just a short walk from a native village. The restaurant and bar facilties are good, with a lovely infinity pool. The rooms are reasonable, but the ground floor rooms do seem to suffer from noise from the rooms above. The thin timber construction transmits every noise and movement from all around, so take ear plugs and/or ask for a first floor room.
The front of house staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are clean. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we used the free taxi service from the hotel to Puerto Iguazu, but the menu looked interesting and the breakfasts were very good.
La Cantera is on the right side of the town for the falls and so the journey isn't very long. It is also a great place to come back to and relax around the pool after a long day visiting the amazing falls.

Room Tip: Go for a first floor room if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was a very unique place to stay. It is surrounded by rain forest, has a beautiful swimming pool, restaurant etc. It was easy to get to with our rental car...but it would maybe be a less convenient place to stay if you were traveling without a rental car.

It is not the cheapest hotel in the area but worth the money. The room was large and it adds to the experience of being in the rainforest area.

We traveled with our 9 month old and they were able to accommodate with high chairs in the restaurant and a crib in the room etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samelly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

La Cantera is situated in a rainforest close to Puerto Iguazu and the location is truly nice, a perfect place to relax. The rooms are spacious and relatively nice, but would also need a bit of overhaul here and there (e.g. doors not closing properly). What we did not like about the restaurant given its relatively ambitious pricing were the restaurant which feels like a canteen and in every parilla around the corner the food is better with more choice. What also felt a bit strange is that at 9 PM we were barely admitted for dinner and the service personnel made it clear that they would like us to be as quick as possible with our dinner (they even put the bill on our table without us asking for it), all this in a country where dinner normally starts at 10 PM... Breakfast was OK but also far from great given the price. Also, we found the reception not helpful at all as we found out that all the services quoted were ca. 20-30% more expensive than when booked directly with e.g. the taxi company. One example was the tour to the falls where we were quoted 300 pesos by the hotel only to findd out 5 minutes later through a simple phone call that the market price is in fact 200.

In summary, La Cantera is an OK hotel in a lovely location but you are better off organizing everything else other than accommodation yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Great rooms (pay the extra for the 2nd level to minimize room noise and get the full benefit of the screened porch with hammock). The out-of-town location requires a bit of pre-planning but its easy enough. Staff does great job assisting with travel to airport, to National Park (not to be missed) and around. don't forget to enjoy the champagne with your breakfast OJ.

Not a cheap stay, but an enjoyable. .

Room Tip: pay for the 2nd story-its worth the extra. steps are narrow but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjh2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Friends and I stayed 2 nights at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, our overall experience was good. Everyone was really friendly and helpful. It's not your typical lodging though. To get to your room, you have to walk across the outdoor deck with really tall trees surrounding the walk way. Be prepared to carry your luggage if you have a second floor room.

The room was clean and had all the basic amenities. When you open the glass sliding door, the room leads out to a huge porch covered by screens on 3 sides. The downside of that is you can see/hear your next door neighbors if they are also at their porch. The signal for Wifi in the room was a bit weak (sadly, you can take a girl out of the city but can’t take the city out of her).

As mentioned by other reviewers, the only way to get to the Iguazu falls is via taxi or bus. There is a bus station on the main street but it’s about a 20 minute walk from the lodge. We actually walked and tried to catch the city bus to the falls, however we ended up getting a taxi instead at the bus stop. The same taxi driver took us back at the end of the day. Being the adventurers that we are, on our walk back to the lodge we took a detour and visited the indigenous community nearby. It was pretty interesting and I’m glad we had the opportunity to see how the natives live their lives.

Since there aren’t any restaurants or stores nearby, the restaurant at the lodge is the only option for meals if you have no transportation. The 2 nights we were there, the restaurant did not serve regular dinner menu, instead only the specials/BBQ were available. The food was your typical Argentinean BBQ, for $50/person I felt it was extremely overpriced even though there was a guitar performer setting the mood. On our second night we decided to skip the overpriced dinner and munched on granola bars and nuts instead. Continental breakfast is available in the morning, it’s pretty standard but is better than nothing.

Other than the limited meal choice, we enjoyed our stay at La Cantera Lodge and would consider returning in the future.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sallio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.8 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,364 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#12 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
892 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,737 reviews
1.8 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,818 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Address: Ruta Nacional 12 5, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £88 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Jungle Lodge was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing