We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle retreat for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jungle retreat for the family”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at La Cantera for two nights with our 3 young children and had an excellent time. A genuine oasis retreat welcome after the hectic bustle of BA and the better option compared to highway or locations within what seemed a very uninspiring town. We shared a room with adequate space for the kids and a cot. The 5 series of rooms are all single level (no noise issues like previous reviews of the double storey blocks) and very clean and new. The swimming pool area was loved by the kids and the jungle setting was serene. The staff were very accommodating and spoke English, arrange various things for us such as transport and money exchange.
Food was basic, consistent with other Argentinean experiences, breakfast was fine with fresh juice, passable coffee and reasonable Media lunas and a ridiculous range of sweet treats which were fortunately too high to be seen by our children!
Transport was easily arranged from the hotel although we mixed up using local options; taxis and buses to reduce the cost. There are free shuttles to town although our experience was mildly hair raising and did see the premature death of a local dog without the bat of an eyelid from our driver.
All in all worth seeking out a great option for Iguazu especially as the rates are reasonable and the location complimentary to the natural environment for which most of us are there.

Room Tip: 5 series are the newest and quietest. No jacuzzis but great pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Furphy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.
Is very pleasant to know that you and your family had a nice experience at La Cantera Jungle Lodge.
We will love to see you in a next visit to the Land of the Waterfalls!

Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    707
    206
    65
    50
See reviews for
470
985
80
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel pictures on the website looks 10 times nicer and newer so please don't believe the pictures!!
Good:
1) Friendly staffs - they try to help you out with lots of different things. Good service minds!
2) Free shuttle service to the town - they have limited spots a day, so please reserve ASAP.
3) Decent breakfast - nice selections

Bad:
1) remote location - you have to pass through unpaved road..every time we went in and out of hotel, I got motion sickness due to bumpy road
2) very strange smell from the room - we had 2 different rooms. Both of them stinks. First night, it was real bad couldn't sleep well. It is like mixture of urine and some sort of cover-up scent.
3) old place - not everything is in perfect condition...so please be aware!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SamYDanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank for your remarks, is very helpfull to us to know where we have to work harder.
Hoping to see you in a next visit,

Greetings!!!

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and it was a very relaxing experience. The pool area is exquisite and we also made use of a lot of the facilities. However we were disappointed in the restaurant food. It was very small portions and no taste. We each ordered different things and had the same impression. It was saved by the Argentinian Bbq which they put on every Monday. That was a great experience with delicious barbecued Argentinian meat and salad bar. This was accompanied by local musicians which really added to it.Staff were accomodating and made it easy to plan trips in local areas. friendly an he planning trip trips around the arwa. They made it cery easy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maried642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Estimated Marie,

Thanks for your feedback, we are working on imporve better quality at our restaurant.
Is very pleasant to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

La Cantera is not cheap - be prepared to pay European prices in this jungle-styled 50 room lodge on the Argentinian side of the Iguazu falls. Food and service are good,friendly and reasonably efficient. The rooms are comfortable, the air-conditioning effective and the overall atmosphere makes for a comfortable base conveniently placed for access to the Brazilian and Argentinian sides of the falls. The Monday BBQ was great fun and other evening meals and breakfasts are perfectly acceptable. While here it is essential to explore both sides of the falls! and do the power- boat

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Alan,
Thanks for your comment, we appreciate it a lot.
Is nice to know you enjoyed your stay at La Cantera and in the Water Falls.

Hoping to see you in a next visit,

Best wishes

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a wonderful "jungle" hotel lodge located close to Iguazu falls. The rooms are big, clean and have wonderful beds. The onesite restaurant serves brilliant food - and the staff is beyond helpful. We only had one evening here, but could have easily spent a week!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hello Adele!

Thank you very much for your feedback!
We will be waiting for you whenever you want to come back,
Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely lodge in the middle of the trees. The rooms were a good size and really nice.

The pool area was very relaxing and peaceful. Jacuzzi was advertised on the terrace of my room but looked really dirty and not maintained..

The breakfast and food is not brilliant so probably better to go into town in the evening.

I would still definitely recommend staying here. Very handy for the town and the falls.


I would still recommend staying here, I had a

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor.com
We are very glad you had a nice stay.
Hoping to see you soon,

Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights as a base to see the Iguazu Falls. While the hotel itself is lovely it really is very isolated and far from the town. There is a shuttle mini-bus several times a day, but as we had arrived between thse times we decided to walk to the town. Not to be recommended! We were looking for an ATM and a supermarket and the return journey took us almost three hours. If you want to bring water and snacks with you remember to get them before you arrive. The cabin style rooms are wonderful, each with a small balcony but there is only one chair to bring out to it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and most spoke some english. The first night we had the traditional barbeque which was great, lots of salads and meat and very reasonable. The second night we also ate in the restaurant and were very disappointed. There was a choice of only three main meals, steak, salmon and a vegetarian option and we found it quite expensive. Breakfast was also disappointing, great if you had a sweet tooth with at least six different types of cake! There was ham, cheese and fruit but no eggs on either morning.
The hotel staff were great at organising our trips to the Falls, both the Argentian and Brizal sides. If you're looking to get away from it all, this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: All rooms the same, just some closer to the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thursdaygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear guest,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Is a fact that we are at 6 kilometers far from down town, that is why we offer 3 times the free shuttle to town, it is indeed a bit far!

We are working to improve our dinner menu.

Hope to see next time!

Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.8 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,109 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#12 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
796 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,757 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village Cataratas Hotel
Village Cataratas Hotel
#16 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Property: La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Address: Ruta Nacional 12 5, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Jungle Lodge was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing