We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was by far the worst hotel we stayed in during our holiday in Argentina. The room was ok but the check-in was chaotic, one person trying to check everyone in and showing them to their rooms, no information given about the shuttle into town, it's only by reading reviews on this place on our return that we've found out about them, we would have certainly used it on our second night to escape the awful food provided in the restaurant where we had a very tough steak which bore no comparison to any other steak we'd eaten on our holiday. Breakfast wasn't much better - the staff did eventually get everything out, but on both mornings many items were missing to start with - if you start serving at 7.00am surely you should have everything available for guests then, the orange juice tasted like diluted juice, not the fresh juice we'd been used to We weren't told that we needed to book a table in the restaurant, so had to wait for a table, we ordered a drink at the poolside bar, but it wasn't a pleasurable experience drinking it with the smell of chip fat wafting by.
.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Estimated ann g
We are sorry for the bad experience you had at the Lodge, we are working on improve every thing you show to us on this review.
Hoping you can give us a second chance to come and enjoy this beautiful and marvelous land.
Kind regards

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    694
    203
    64
    49
See reviews for
456
969
79
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
louisville,ky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

First, let me repeat other reviewer's comments that the lodge is in a more remote location. The plus to this is that it is very quiet, the negative is that you have to do some bumping along a rutted road to get there. My daughter and I stayed for two nights and were very pleased with our room. We had a large room with twin beds, a screened porch with hammock and a large bathroom. Negatives were a strong smell of cleaning products/air freshener which I am sure is used to combat the dampness of the jungle. The second was an extremely high step into the combination shower/tub. This would be very difficult to manage for an older traveler or someone with mobility issues. My daughter scraped her toe as she climbed out of the shower/tub on our first night. The pluses were that it was clean, the AC was roaring, and it had a room safe. We took taxis, which were arranged by the lodge, to the Park on both days. We were dropped at the front gate and each evening were picked up at the Sheraton after mojitos on their terrace which overlooks the Falls. The Sheraton is the only hotel on the grounds of the Park and is an easy walk from the train station (there are several small trains that deliver you to various points in the Park). It was very nice to relax with a drink while the Park was emptying out at the end of the day. We had arranged pick up with our driver in the morning so there was no confusion about where to find us. We ate at the Sheraton one night and at La Cantera the next. In both places the food was just so-so, although I did have a nice fish dish at La Cantera. The pool at La Cantera is small but clean and pleasant. There was plenty of seating in the shade which was nice. Breakfast was adequate. The staff in reception was very nice, but frequently overwhelmed. They need more people on staff to check guest in and deal with questions. My daughter waited for over 10 minutes just to ask a fast question. In conclusion, there are lots of hotels closer to the Park and on the main road. What we really liked was coming to La Cantera after a long, hot day at the Falls and relaxing in the seclusion of the jungle. At night walking to your room along the boardwalks with the tiki lights flickering it feels really unique.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegrassgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Estimated Bluegrass,
we appreciate your comment and we are very grateful for your positive points, indeed this is a unique place surrounded by the quiet of nature, and we try to complement it with our comfortable beds and nice pool area. We are so sorry for your daughter’s issue, in your next visit we will recommend a different room where you can have a nice room with a shower, without a shower/tub and with all the commodities you need.
We hope to welcome you back.
Kind Regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a bit out of the way but they do have some free shuttles into town which is a help. It's right in the jungle so obviously a damp area which means the rooms do smell a bit damp as well. They have a serious problem with food, don't bother eating there, just get the shuttle to town where there are loads of nice restaurants! Overall, it's a cool experience in the forest, and the staff at the front desk could not have been more helpful or friendly, they made the stay much much better!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bazonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear guest, we are so grateful for your review, and at the same time we must apologize for the food issues. We certainly hope to receive you again, so can repeat the great expereince in the Magnificent Iguazú Falls.

Kind regards,
Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

A very enjoyable stay of 4 nights. Very nice, large room 'in the jungle'; air conditioning was appreciated, the balcony was enclosed with insect mesh and the double glazed doors kept out the noise. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and professional. The breakfast was a large choice and in the evening we had a snack by the poolside. 'Management' said in an earlier post that they were going to make available large quantities of drinking water. This will be much appreciated - the resort is a taxi ride from the supermarkets

Room Tip: The most recent rooms [500 onwards] are not [yet ] in established jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Estimated guest, thank you very much for your review, is great to know your stay was nice and you enjoyed the room. About the water you mention, on these days, we have a minibar on each room with water and every guest can have it fresh at any time. We would really like to receive you and your family one more time.
Kind Regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

A poor hotel, no value for money. It looks completely diffrent in the web site. the rooms are ok and reception is ok the food is very poor, as the service in restaurants.the public areas (which are not so big) are not clean. No value for money. Not recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clemi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear guest, we regret that we could not meet your expectations.
Kind regards,

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locke, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent two nights in early January wishing to spend some time at Iguazu Falls. The location of the lodge is in a small plot of secondary forest which is reaching some maturity. There are no walking trails on the property except for one very small loop. The check-in office is small, but adequate. It is staffed by one person usually, but often two. There seem to be two different locations for guests to stay. We stayed amongst the trees in a 4-suite unit located in a single building reached by boardwalks. There were a number of these. There were also some new cabins that had little natural plantings around them and would not at all have been acceptable. If you book with them, insist that you have your room in buildings truly surrounded by natural vegetation or go somewhere else. Other reviews mentioned lots of bird singing. In actuality, these are insects which can be quite loud.We are birdwatchers and the number of birds was actually quite small. Our room had a screened-in porch which was nice. They have a very nice swimming pool. However, there is no railing to hold when walking in and the bottom of the pool was slippery and I fell and hurt my back. Fortunately there was no real harm done. Just be careful.

The only real problem was the food. The restaurant does not seat all guests so one must make reservation for one of three sittings: 7:00, 8:30, and 10:00 in the evening. It appears that you do not have the option of ordering off a menu for these meals but rather a standard meal is served. The night we ate there it was a Bar-B-Que. There were a number of salads buffet-style. Then a device was brought to the table with steak, what we think was chicken, some pork, beef rib, a pork sausage and what looked like blood sausage. This meal mimics the churruscaria (sp?). Nearly finished with the meal they brought some french fries, which came too late. The flan for dessert really needs work. The previous night they had steak. The night we were there they had music: a base player who did back-up for an electronic mandolin. They were talented but very LOUD such that a normal conversation was not possible.

By the pool there is a snack area where you can get a hamburger or a ham sandwich with fries. Salads are also available as are soft-drinks and beer.

The biggest problem is that of water. When asked at the desk, we were told that the tap water is not for drinking but to use the water in the mini-bar. In my opinion there should have been at least two 500 ml bottles free per day. Cost for these is 20 pesos (about $3 US) whereas you can get it much cheaper in a grocery store. But there is none in any walking area.

For a little taste in staying at a jungle lodge, this one works OK. I rated this three dots because of limited food options and safety issues.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room in the area of 4-suite bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardTk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review, it has been very well detailed to our next visitors.
Is a fact we must improve with food service, and you can be sure we are evaluating the possibility of having free water in the rooms. So far, as you said, we have 3 free shuttles to town, that way is easier to buy things from a drugstore, such as water or insect repellent.
We hope you can visit us again,
kind regards.

Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Fantastic experience to sleep in a safe clean yet adventurous little resort in the middle of the rain forest. Great pool, nice hot tubs on the balconies and animal sounds all around. Rooms are nice and spacey. What could improve is the speed of customer service at the main desk (long lines lead to frustration) and the quality of the food in the restaurant. Other than that this was probably one of the coolest places I ever stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Cantera H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Cantera Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your review. It's great that you have focus on capitalize each sensation that nature offers to us daily. With regard to the Front, thanks to your comment we will work on improve this.
Hoping you can visit as again,

Kind regards,
Natalia Solsona
Director Relaciones Públicas La Cantera Lodge Iguazú
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.8 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#12 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#6 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#5 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Jungle Lodge

Property: La Cantera Jungle Lodge
Address: Ruta Nacional 12 5, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Jungle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cantera Jungle Lodge was carefully built preserving the environment and having the least impact possible. In the 3 hectares of the facilities there are trees of over 400 years old (Purging cassia tree) and others which are protected because they are endangered species (Rosewood). Our Lodge is featured to be an innovating, exclusive proposal and to provide first class services bringing us closer to each passenger. Ideal for vacations, romantic trips, honeymoons, corporate resting, incentive trips, family reunions, relax and adventure in Misiones Jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cantera Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera Jungle Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing