We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, nice hostel, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Stone Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, nice hostel, good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful, calm, safe compound, small but nice and a beautiful, exotic garden, computer station with free Internet. You can buy mineral water and beer from the reception, but you're also welcome to bring your own stuff, there is a clean kitchen and a fridge in one of the houses on the compound
When I arrived, they offered to call somebody who speaks English (as I do not speak any Spanish), but that proved completely unnecessary - they are perfectly equipped with free maps and brochures, I was perfectly able to understand every direction and advice they gave me. All the info was superhelpful. There is info on tours, tickets, maps of the cataracts, which bus to take to the national park or Brazil, etc.
The hostel is nicely located: calm but only a couple of minutes walking from downtown where you can find restaurants, cafes, take-away-frood, a bank, a supermarket, the main bus station.
I strongly recommend "La Misionera" at Perito Moreno, some 700m from the hostel - cheep, great, yummy empanadas (also for take-away).
I had a double room, bed was very nice; however, I stayed solo, it would have been very narrow if we'd been two people in there. The one thing I really didn't like was the location of my room: It was opposite the shared toilets and the shared living room, and it was pretty loud from that side until late at night. The only window opened directly to the entrance of the reception - again you could hear voices, shouts and laughter until late in the night and from early in the mornings on...

Room Tip: Don't go for room no 1 - too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan831984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    92
    42
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
105
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannonvale, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights with my boyfriend. We had to book into two different rooms as the standard double was sold out on the 3rd and 4th night of our stay. So we had two nights initially in the standard double with a shared bathroom. It is tiny but does the job! It had a fan and a/c which were great! Wifi was good too. Bathrooms were clean and nice.
On the 3rd and 4th night we stayed in the deluxe double-it was a cabin outside but still had ok wifi. Not as strong but fine. It was spacious and clean. I spotted a few ants on the floor but I guess you'll have than in a cabin! However it was FREEZING! I went to reception to ask for a heater or to turn the air con on 'hot' but the man at the desk (owner I think) told me to put on more clothes in the room!!!!!! That the air con was for cooling only. No blanket/heater was offered. The shower only had an on button so it couldn't be regulated and it too was cold!!!

The worst thing about the hostel is the kitchen. If you plan on cooking in the hostel, my advice is book somewhere else right now. The kitchen is gross. There are cats in the sink!!! The kitchen is pretty much outside. It's covered obviously but it's outside. It is very very poorly equipped and very badly kept. The cats are on the tables, counter tops, in the sink.....it's disgusting! We couldn't cook here. However, we did go to a fabulous restaurant across the road called La Toscana which I would highly recommend but this did stretch our budget. We're on a year long holiday so eating out for 4 nights isn't the best for the finances!

The hosts speak very little English. The young man who would work mostly in the evening was lovely though and very helpful. The location is good and they offer cheaper prices on tours to iguazu. They have a pool too which I saw being cleaned twice in the morning.
All in all, it was only okay..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifertroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was a great choice in Puerto Iguazu, especially compared to all the other hostels I saw and people I spoke to (price as well was great). These are not complaints but just comments to help future travellers.

Pros
- Owners were very nice and helpful (if you understand the word walk, he will show you a map and draw a route for you to what you can do in the area).
- I felt very safe, there is a guard at night and rooms have a key.
- Rooms were clean and beds were properly made with sheets.
- Good amount of wall plugs in the dorm room.
- Bathroom is clean and good.
- AC at night was great because it was very hot when I was there.
- Wifi in the common room is good.
- Cooked in the kitchen every night and it was great.
- The owner let me use his canadian to argentinian converter for the day since I lost mine.
- Pool was great and cleaned everyday.

Cons/general comments
- Some locks in the women dorm room were loose. I did not feel comfortable leaving my things there as someone could just rip it off the wood easily.
- Tried a couple beds in the dorm room and the bunk beds were not great. The two top ones were not very comfortable and I had a sore back in the morning. The only bed I found comfortable was the single one in the dorm room.
- It was nice to have breakfast there but if you are lactose intolerant or have dietary restrictions, you definitely need to supplement. There is bread, fruit, eggs, jam, etc. and it is very simple and nice to have but not great.
- Wifi in the rooms is not great and hardly connects.
- Bring a small lock with you since the locks are small and only fit a smaller lock.

Room Tip: - Enough plugs everywhere. - Wifi is not good in women dorm room. - Most beds in women dorm room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasharobitaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This place was great - really tidy rooms, clean shared bathrooms (and not too many for each one), useful communal computer, good WiFi and helpful staff. It's close to another hostel with a good bar, and a short walk from bars, restaurants, the bus stop and supermarkets. Only downside was the really mediocre breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hostel for 2 nights while visiting the iguazu falls.. It is in a good location Aprox 3 blocks from the main st full of restaurants shops etc.. There were 4 of us in total so we always got taxis everywhere as it was cheaper but the bus stop is also in walking distance Aprox 3-4 blocks away.
The owners are very helpful and the breakfast is good we had cakes, scrambled eggs, biscuits, bread with spreads with juices and coffee, tea, milk.
We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom everything was very comfortable and clean I would definitely recommend as it is great value for money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leandro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to spend my evenings after a busy day at the falls. Staff were very welcoming and upon check in provided a map of the town, the falls and a list of bus times to and from both sides of the falls. Plus gave lots of information in planning your time. Wonderful atmosphere in the evenings. Everyone is very relaxed and it was so easy to meet people and compare notes of the area and elsewhere.

Fairly good breakfast, comfy beds, good cooking facilities and good showers.

Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tjheale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This is a very good hostel well located very clean nice garden good breakfast friendly staff. The double ensure is a touch overpriced compared to the double shared which is very good value for puerto iguazu . Near the bus station for the falls and close to town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stan401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.0 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#27 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#10 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tangoinn Club Iguazu
Tangoinn Club Iguazu
#10 of 126 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Stone Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Stone Hostel

Property: Garden Stone Hostel
Address: Avenida Cordoba No. 441, Puerto Iguazu N3370COE, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Stone Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Stone Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing