We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was ok, get a massage to make your stay much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“was ok, get a massage to make your stay much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Tourbillon Hotel is a little outside the town, and I loved the jungle feeling there.

The rooms are nice (big and comfortable), bathrooms could be a little nicer (soap in the shower, which was used already?). The bedding seemed a little dirty at first, but at a closer look there were stains which seemed to live through washing process. So there is defenitly potential for cleaning the sheets..

the air condition is a little though to handle.

Breakfast ist very good, especially if you like sweet breaktfast. Ham and coffee could be better.
Lunch was good for a reasonable price.
But: don't waste your time and money on dinner at Tourbillon - take a taxis to the city. There is a buffet but you can eat a'la card as well, which is what we did. Pasta and salad were much to expensive for what we got. And even if the food was kind of ok, I expected a lot more for my money. So don't waste yours. and the athmosphäre was terrible (dinner buffet, empty buffet table for breakfast buffet in the middle of the room).

It seems they don't change sheets at the table after usage, which resulted in not very clean tables...

The best thing about Tourbillon is Paula from the Spa. As my back hurt from the flight, I thought to get a massage, which was the best idea ever. Paula really gives the best of massages! Get an appointment and see 8or rather feel) yourself :)

Generally the staff was very friendly and helpful.

We don't regret our choice on taking this hotel, but there have to be better ones. (i could not check tripadvisor before booking :( ).
All in all our stay at tourbillon was ok.

(1 of 2 elevators wasn't working during our stay of 4 nights.)

Room Tip: get a room on the opposite site of the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    151
    73
    32
    16
See reviews for
120
164
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Upon arrival, discovered multiple deficiencies. Mold all over room wall and same in the next room. No internet service even though it was part of the deal and essential for us due to business issues. But worst of all was the completely indifferent staff. We finally decided at about 7 pm that this was just unacceptable. The desk clerk refused to cancel our reservation and told us it had to be cancelled on the Argentine web site (something akin to Hotels dot com). But there was no internet! Then finally we got connected for 3 minutes and the web site said if you want to cancel you have to do it by phone. But by phone there was no option to speak to a person and no option to cancel. So we told the desk clerk about that, and said we were leaving. He said he would get us a taxi. There is NOTHING within walking distance of this hotel except, literally, jungle. Then when we took our bags out to the taxi, the driver said he would not take us to another hotel until we paid the hotel bill. The desk clerk said either pay the full bill (3 nights' worth) or the taxi driver won't take you anywhere AND I will call the police. I used my VISA card (and they refunded me in full) in order to escape this house of horrors, and we had a lovely stay elsewhere. My best advice: Don't. Go. There.

Room Tip: No room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roadddmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Rating: I expected a higher quality hotel after reading the other reviews, but this is definitely no more than a 3-star (I believe it's rated a 4-star by whatever local rating service is used).

Staffing: during my 2-day visit the staff was excellent...from the front desk, to the restaurant lunch service staff, to room service, all seemed genuinely helpful.

Cons: 1) a lack of hot water in the morning. While there was no lack of hot water when I took a shower each evening, mornings were an entirely different story. The best the shower could offer up both mornings was what might be considered lukewarm - and that's being generous.
2) Each room has a terrace with bamboo type slats for roofing which does not provide any protection from the rain, preventing use during inclement weather.

Pros: 1) Great SPA. The Stress Reliever hot rock massage was so relaxing - wish I had had more time to take advantage of some of the other treatments offered. If the hotel had been as nice as the SPA, I'd have given it 5-stars.
2) There is a lovely pool with a large wooden deck and jacuzzi, but the temperature during my stay was far too cold to even consider taking a dip.

Buffet: The dinner buffet started at 8 pm, typical for Argentinian restaurants, but I was too exhausted by that time to give it a try.

Internet: I didn't take my computer, since this was a short sight-seeing trip so can not speak to internet speed, but there were two computers in the lobby available for personal use.

If I went again would I stay here, probably not if I booked my own hotel, but this was part of a tour package with limited selection.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grannietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

During our five weeks' holiday in Argentina, Uruguay and Chile which involved stays in 9 different hotels, this hotel was our only disappointment - not because of the room standard, cleanliness and facilities, but because of the failure of the staff to display any interest in providing adequate service to guests.

It would be a shame if management does not address this issue, as it makes what should be a very pleasant hotel to stay at into one better avoided in favour of other alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

A lovely modern hotel situated on the main road between Puerto Iguazu and Iguazu Falls. Lovely, clean modern bedrooms with bright modern furnishings, Bathroom and toilet were separate which is good.
Breakfast buffet was very nice with plenty of fresh fruit & pastries. Evening meal is also a buffet or a la carte, but I got the impression they prefer you to have buffet. So the 2nd night we took a taxi into town and had a lovely meal.
The pool area and wooden decking is really nice but after an early start and a full day around the falls we were just too tired to use these facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

One of 12 hotels in which we stayed during our holiday in Argentina and Uruguay. The hotel is modern, clean and well situated with a nice pool area. But the staff/management spoilt the stay. After 12 hours of travel to get there (no problems) we registered and were almost propelled to the tour desk to book tours. All we wanted was a shower! Later we said but the persistence put us right off and a trip through the foyer was not a pleasant experience in days to come!
30 minutes wait for our bar order to arrive. Breakfast dishes only replenished after a request, our request for drink service by the pool met with an abrupt "NO". Such a pity as it's a nice hotel but it needs new staff and/or management or a good shake-up!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DougWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed in the hotel for four days.
We arrive at late hour we were welcome by the resorption desk clerk which arrange the rooms profetional and polite.
The rooms were very clean and arrange nice.
The breakfast is generous with variety of good things also very clean and excelent service
I would recommend this great place to my friend and family

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orquideas Hotel & Cabanas
Orquideas Hotel & Cabanas
#21 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.4 mi away
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
#14 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Village Cataratas Hotel
Village Cataratas Hotel
#17 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#9 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Tourbillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Tourbillon

Property: Gran Hotel Tourbillon
Address: Ruta Nacional 12 4,5, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Tourbillon 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourbillon Hotel is located on National Route 12, KM 4,5, 5 minutes from downtown Puerto Iguazu and only 15 minutes from the Falls and Iguazu International Airport. Services: swimming pool, solarium and Jacuzzi, Pool Snack Bar, Lobby Bar, Restaurant with à la carte menu and buffet, Play room, Internet center, Wi-Fi, Laundry, Free Parking, Tours & Transfers. The Hotel has 28 comfortable rooms, 24 Triple Garden and 4 Suite Junior with view to the garden or pool. Services: Air conditioning cold-hot, Telephone, Internet WI-FI, jacuzzy, hair dryer, cable TV with 32 "LCD, Minibar, Room Service, Safe Box, laundry, and private balcony with table and chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Tourbillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing