We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax for a week”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I am on a long cycling tour of South America. Having travelled non-stop through Uruguay, southern Brazil and Misiones, Argentina - I needed to take a week off and rest. The hostel I had originally planned on staying at was full, fortunately they sent me here. You do need to be aware that there are two Hostel Bambu's. You pass the other property on the way to this one. Reports at the other property were not great, but it is currently undergoing a refurbishment.

I settled into the large dormitory which is huge, not just plenty of beds, but also plenty of free space. Ablutions were cleaned daily, water is hot. Toilets take a little practice in that they are quite cramped. There is plenty of space to relax, although it may be a little bit cramped if the hostel was full and the heavens opened.

WiFi is the best quality I have had in two months - was able to Skype, upload large photos and videos without a problem. Breakfast is pretty simple, but more than adequate. Bus station, shops, restaurants and a laundry services are all within 2 mins walking distance.

Staff all speak excellent English and will greet and speak to you on a first name basis after a day. Information provided is excellent, not only for the standard tourist stuff like visiting the falls, but some more specialist stuff like arranging for some clients to have their money changed on site to giving me directions to doctors, trying to load pre-paid mobile cards etc.

Big thank you to Juan, Chris and Roberto for looking after me for an entire week!

PS - I left my helmet lying under my bed, please make sure that someone uses it at least.

Room Tip: Lights in the bathroom tend to stay on all night, so consider this when picking your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaytonBurne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    93
    34
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
89
81
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We arrived early by bus and thanks to the good information that gave us the friendly young guy at the reception, we could directly go to the brasilian side of the Iguazu Falls. The room was very cosy and clean and the kitchen is quite well equipped. The location is perfect: only 10 minutes to the bus station but not on the main road where all the traffic is. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We checked in here into a double room. When we turned down the bed for the night, we noticed a lot of black dots all over the sheets - the calling card of bed bugs. We stripped the bed and found a giant bed bug. When we showed the receptionist this, she automatically changed our room for us and upgraded us as well. Naturally we inspected our new room and found this to be infested with bed bugs even worse - the mattress and base were covered in black/blood coloured dots and we found live bugs here as well. Needless to say we hightailed it out of there. Shame because the hostel looked great with a big kitchen and good eating/outdoor areas. The receptionist was a huge help when getting information and acted promptly and with concern to look after us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank poppykettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuquen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I've been to this hostel twice. The location is great, very close to supermarkets, restaurants and, more important, the bus station. The staff is very helpfull and provide good information and tips. The hostel itself is very clean and cozy; the matresses and breakfast are superb! the only shortcoming is that the lockers are placed outside the dormitory. There's a bar and a great vibe every evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerome J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hostel was roomy and breakfast was the best I had on my whole South American trip. There was only one computer which wasn't really enough for the amount of people staying at the hostel. There wasn't a commone room either people just gathered round the big kitchen table. The kicthen was well stocked at the bathroom adequate as well. The location is good and close to the central area but quiet enough to have a good nights sleep. The staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was good, great for meeting people. I spoke to several people and they told me they had moved from the Bambu hostel due to bed bugs and they also said that Bambu mini was far nicer and cleaner. All in all great hostel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4georgie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

we stayed here for 3 mights in march 2012. it was fairly clean (not spotless) and the breakfast was terrible but it was overall ok. not a huge amount of charm really

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcam03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Ian was great help with all the info - suggested prioritized order of viewing the falls (lower circuit, boat ride, train to Devil's Throat, then upper circuit). 2 blocks from bus station. Clean room and bathroom. Weak wi-fi signal, average breakfast. No regrets.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#7 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Village Cataratas Hotel
Village Cataratas Hotel
#16 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
431 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tangoinn Club Iguazu
Tangoinn Club Iguazu
#12 of 127 in Puerto Iguazu
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencial Lilian
Residencial Lilian
#35 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu

Property: Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu
Address: Avenida Gral San Martin 4, Puerto Iguazu N3370AVN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hostel Bambu in Argentina you will find a friendly and well informed staff to help you in every issue, large and comfy beds for a good relax, well equipped self catering kitchen, bar and laid back atmosphere, located in the best neighborhood in Puerto Iguazu, just 2 blocks from the bus terminal and walking distance from supermarkets, bars and restaurants, thank you for picking Hostel Bambu Puerto Iguazu, you wont regret it! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing