We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected a little more”
Review of Hotel Iguazu Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Iguazu Royal
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Expected a little more”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This is a hostel/motel rather than a hotel. The staff didn't speak English, though this wasn't a problem and they were very friendly. The private double room with bathroom and air conditioning had been cleaned to a good standard. The room we were allocated seemed fairly new compared to the others behind the pool. We'd booked this place because it had a pool however, we were disappointed that it wasn't very clean. There are other hostels of a similar standard slightly closer to the town centre. Breakfast was OK and WiFi was good. There is no left luggage area and backpacks were stacked around the restaurant and reception. Security didn't seem to be an issue as we left ours in the same area on the day of check out - albeit with no valuables.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanamiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    72
    41
    17
    9
See reviews for
44
85
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 3.5 weeks trip to Argentina and Chile. Paid US$45 a night for a matrimonial bed (that's what they call a double bed here) with private bathroom. In summary I think it is certainly great value. The hotel is basic but for what we paid it met all the expectations we have for a hotel at that price.

I would certainly recommend this place if you're looking for something inexpensive and central.

Pros:
1. Good, comfortable beds and pillows.
2. Big, clean room with good air conditioning system.
3. Pool - didn't use it much so can't comment.
4. Good location - around 10 mins walk to the bus station.
5. Good, basic breakfast for Argentinian standard - bread, toast, croissants, juice, coffee.

Cons:
Nothing of note. Although see points for consideration below.


To consider:
1. No hot water. Although I don't mind as you sort of don't need it in the summer - you'll be longing for that cold shower! Don't know what it's like in winter, so find out if this bothers you.
2. Staff don't speak any English. Consider if this is going to be a problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed there for one night and were pleased. Room and bathroom were clean, stuff was very helpful, air conditioning - very powerful. Location is O.K. - 10min walk from bus station, 15min from major restaraunts and shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexei s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

this is not a hotel. it is just a disguting place . the electricity is not right. we could not take hot showers because were scared to be electrified. got cockroaches one morning...;do not go there the people who gave good reviews were either odd people or had been corrupt by the owner.
bad bad bad!!!! our worst experience in argentina

Room Tip: do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcdrennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Whilst the room was spacious we found the room to be very gloomy and it smelt very musty. Generally it was a bit run down and tired. The bathroom door wouldn't close, the sink was not attached to the wall properly, the bed matress was very soft, obviously old. Furnishings in the room were sparse and we could have done with somewhere to hang clothes (hooks or wardrobe). For the price we paid, and compared to other places we have stayed in argentina, we expected better. On the plus side the aircon worked well and we had a TV. Also the owner was nice - we struggled a bit with language only having limited spanish (no English spoken here). When we were leaving we asked if they could call us a taxis to take us to the bus station but instead he drove us (for free) which we really appreciated and thought was a nice touch.

Other reviews described the location as central which swayed our decision to stay here- but in my opinion it is not particularly central. Puerto iguacu is a small place so this wasn't a major inconvenience - it was only a short walk to the centre for restaurants, bus station and other amenities. But the hotel is on a mainly residential street outside the centre.

The wifi only really worked in the courtyard near the transmitter - not in our room as advertised when we booked our room. There was also a computer free to use in the breakfast area which we found very useful.

It was nice to have the pool to sit by but it was a bit on the shabby side.

Breakfast was very simple (bread,croissant, jam, drinks) but just about adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSAHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights.
It is terrible. Run down disgusting rooms. Electric scary showers, dirty bedsheet, and when we asked for new ones got a lot of attitude from the owner’s wife (or the women there). The owner was the saving grace as he was being sympathetic.
Anybody who likes the rooms here, has really low standards.
The one star is for the location which is close to the town center.

Room Tip: Tell them you want the renovated ones (i think from room 6-9), those are mariginally better. Or bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelonmymind_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Hotel Iguazu Royal stands out in Puerto Iguazu. The rooms are very clean, the staff is friendly and the location is central. I think the hotel went through a recent renovation because the TV, hot water heater, furniture and AC units all appeared very new. Having worked in construction, I notice these sorts of things. We had a great and comfortable stay. The manager offered us a ton of information about the Falls and town without being pushy or trying to sell us on anything. He was just legitimately helpful.

When staying in Iguazu, you can either spend a fortune on resorts on the outskirts of town or choose among a lot of very old and dirty hostel in town. We looked at a lot of places and aside form the Jasy Hotel, this place is the best..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
#46 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
46 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Carmen Iguazu
Hotel Carmen Iguazu
#38 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yreta Apart
Yreta Apart
#31 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#10 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Yvera Cataratas
Hotel Yvera Cataratas
#28 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Libertador
El Libertador
#39 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iguazu Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iguazu Royal

Property: Hotel Iguazu Royal
Address: Avenida San Lorenzo 132, Puerto Iguazu N3370JLO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iguazu Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iguazu Royal Hotel is located three blocks from the bus station and just four blocks from Puerto Iguazu downtown.Located in a residential neighborhood is a family hotel which offers the best service to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Iguazu Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing