We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great oasis”
Review of Hotel Iguazu Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Iguazu Royal
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great oasis”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. Huge room, nice clean showers with heat and decent power. TV in room with good channels for movie/comedy if or when raining. They have a pool but didn't use during stay. Quiet and not a party place, which is what we were after. Breakfast was great, fresh with lots of selection. Friendly staff. Close to centre of town and to bus station. Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    71
    41
    17
    9
See reviews for
43
85
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is rather basic but given the price that is fine and the only other options are a lot more expensive in this town.

The hotel is run by a nice family but only the daughter speaks English, the rest of the family speak a little English and with our minimal Spanish it was fine but just to be aware of that fact.

The room we had was huge with one double and two single beds in it but they only charged us for a double room. I think all of the rooms are large. There was a tv with cable and a large bathroom. They gave us plenty of towels too.

The room was clean as was the bathroom and the shower had good pressure and was very hot!

Puerto Iguazu is very small so it is easy to get around and the hotel is about a 5 mins walk out of the centre but on a cobbled street so not good for heels!

The pool was not usable whilst we were there as it was quite dirty and green but I think it was because we were off season and many other hotels appeared to have the same problem.

The breakfast is substantial including croissants, good coffee and fresh juice.

The hotel also organised a taxi to take us to the airport on the Brazilian side and he was fantastic. He took us through the border and waited for us to leave our luggage in left luggage lockers at the airport and then drove us to the falls park. I mention this because the hotel organised it and I think he is related to them so a good choice and not expensive either.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Simple, budget hotel just a few minutes walk from the main street and about 10mins from the bus station. Puerto Iguazu town is small but very charming and safe; there are a good number of nice restaurants and shops and I understand it is much less expensive than the Brazilian Foz de Iguazu.
The room was clean, comfortable and very quiet and although the staff spoke no English at all they went to great lengths to help wherever possible.
A good option for budget travellers who prefer peace and quiet to noisy hostels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Hotel at about 15mn walk from bus station. Super nice staff.
Clean, good sized rooms and bathrooms, good breakfast.
Excellent value.

We were very happy with this hotel choice. People complaining should pick somewhere more expensive if they can afford it. This is an excellent place for budget travelers!

One last thing: Pay in local currecy, their exchange rate is not good if you pay in dollars.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Location of this place isn't great - its a bit of a walk and in the meantime you're seeing the other hostels that you gleened over despite being same price or cheaper. But the seller to me was the pool. It was hot and carrying our gear this far I wanted a nice cool pool. Got there early so dumped bags (for info: checkin didn't have english speaker not that this was a problem for us and rating doesn't reflect this) and headed off to Iguazu - which is spectacular! Then returned again hot and sweaty and went to pool. It was gross - cloudy water and green sides. Ugh. Room was simple and nice. At least AC worked. Then if you want meals - all the way back into town... and back again. My advice would be to stay somewhere closer as similar prices and don't let the photos of the pool fool you!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

After many kilometers of flat litoral landscape we weren't prepared for a hilly Iguazu. So a hotel 'a couple of blocks from the bus terminal' – turns out to be a bit of a trek. But no matter.
The room was large enough; the bathroom not so – complete with the rogue-wired power shower! as has been mentioned before. Breakfast was lousy.
Saving grace was the pool.
Had a bit of a problem regarding the room cost – this seemed to set up an atmosphere that persisted. On the second night a thunderstorm knocked out the power for much of the night. We were left to fend for ourselves (lucky we had our own torch).
In the morning – staff were completely oblivious to the inconvenience of guests.
To cap it, they insisted we vacate our room at 1000 and wait for our cab in the lobby.
So, from being prepared to be forgiving about the place – we would give them 'nil point' for customer service. Plus it's a bit of a trek to go get a meal.
It's clear that this place is one of those places that does just enough to get by. So, do yourself a favour – look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check for the poorly wired power shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebottle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here while in Iguazu. It's in a good location and isn't expensive. The room was ok, Bed and room was basic and clean. Found a couple of cockroaches, one in the shower, the other scuttling across the floor. Must have got in through the crack under the front door.
Air con took hours to regulate the temperature in the room.
Breakfasts were incredibly basic...cartons of orange juice, tea/coffee and croissants/bread - that was it!
Stay here if there's nowhere else available.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarletDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
#47 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Azaleas Iguazu
Hotel Azaleas Iguazu
#45 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Libertador
El Libertador
#39 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kelta Hotel - Iguazu
Kelta Hotel - Iguazu
#28 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Carmen Iguazu
Hotel Carmen Iguazu
#37 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Yvera Cataratas
Hotel Yvera Cataratas
#29 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iguazu Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iguazu Royal

Property: Hotel Iguazu Royal
Address: Avenida San Lorenzo 132, Puerto Iguazu N3370JLO, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iguazu Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iguazu Royal Hotel is located three blocks from the bus station and just four blocks from Puerto Iguazu downtown.Located in a residential neighborhood is a family hotel which offers the best service to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Iguazu Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing