We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite! ”
Review of De La Fonte

De La Fonte
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Puerto Iguazu
Price range: US$20 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Chef Matteo Lagostena After years of studying, researching and hard work: he finally could define himself and decided to have a Autor kitchen. Join us in this great adventure through the flavors! El Chef Matteo Lagostena Después de años de estudio, investigación y trabajo duro: por fin pudo definirse a sí mismo y decidió tener una Cocina de Autor. Únase a nosotros en esta gran aventura a través de los sabores!
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exquisite! ”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We felt like royalty at the restaurant. They went way out of their way to make it an excellent experience. We were served with extras by the chef and our main meals were delicious. Everything was beautiful and artistically displayed. Try the ginger chocolate creme brulee!

Helpful?
1 Thank alublink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    73
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply the best food and presentation”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The restaurant de la Fonte provides an amazing dining experience. I enjoyed an encrusted filet that was simply perfect, the wine was a perfect match to the meal. The presentation and service were excellent. Matteo, Mattias, Walter and Romina were very attentive and provided one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. Bravo!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HermosaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was by far the best meal we had after six days in Argentina, including BuenosAires. And it ranks with the best meals weve ever had, and we're from NYC with a large selection of restaurants. Its gourmet food all the way. Everything was beautifully presented, unique and tasteful. We had both the pumpkin ravioli and fish. The service was friendly, thoughtful, and attentive without being intrusive. The restaurant is part of large hotel grounds that are well designed. The inside of the restaurant is elegant without being intimidating. The price of the meal was one third of what it would have been in New York. All in all we can't recommend it highly enough (our cab driver also said it's the best restaurant in Igazu.)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nelmo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Brilliant Food”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in the Sheraton Iguazu and the hotel was spectacular, however the food was dire. Luckily we had a car and tried a few restaurants in the local town Puerto Iguazu.

This was the best of them all - we ate here twice and as other reviewers have said, the food is brilliant and the service by Simona and her team was fantastic.

Excellent ambience and overall, I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
748 reviews
614 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“De La Fonte would have a Michelin star in London”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Ambiance was just right: Several tables inside and several tables outside. Most of it was full by 9pm. Lighting and music were set right and the table settings were fit for any of the best Michelin starred restaurants in Europe.

The restaurant is run by Simona the hotel manager and the chef is her husband who is from Genoa in northern Italy.

The staff we very well drilled and from the start we knew that this was going to be a great meal. My wife is a chef and as you can see from my profile I am a food nut.

We were immediately presented with an delicious amouse bouche and some complimentary water as it was a warm night. The bread and dips are home made which is always a nice touch.

Starters were Parmigiana which was spectacular, hot and cheesey all around just as you would like. Counterbalanced by a tomato salad. The ravioli with slow cooked beef ragu was a savory treat, irresistible. The family next to us commented on how good their Carpaccio was also.

Mains were the highly recommended Sarubi which is a local fish, its normally quite fatty but steamed very well it actually becomes quite light and moreish. Served with greens.

However the star of the evening was a baby suckling pig which had been slow roasting all day before being finished off on a searing hot fire to create the best crackling skin I have ever had. Served with mashed potato and a salad I would put this in my top 5 pork dishes of all time. Generous portion too.

Dessert was a chocolate parfait served with English custard and a few unusual jellies just to sex it up a bit. I like that.

Lemon palate cleansers and some hot water and we were just about ready for bed, so stuffed.

There are cheaper restaurants in town but trust me when you bite into the food here and see the quality you will know where the extra money went.

Really well done team, I hope you get an award soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De La Fonte also viewed

Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 

Been to De La Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing