We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Guembe Hostel House
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed here for three nights, met up with my brother for reunion.
He booked a private room in advance and there was no room left in the dorm so I could stay in the private room (which had three beds) with my brother.

The location is good, just a block away from the busterminal and on the way there is a great bakery for sandwiches which you can bring to Iguazu waterfalls.
The hostel is nice and really quiet and has a good swimming pool.
Staff was friendly but did mostly not take notice of your presentence, could also be the lack of speaking Spanish! ;-)

Good place to stay and price/quality is good. Be sure to visit both sides of the Iguazu falls it is really worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertuithaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

We did like el guembe hostel for our 2 nights stay in Puerto Iguazu. We have taken a double room with private services, clean, spacious, number 8, on the second floor. WI FI internet at good speed in the room and in the garden of hotel. A small swimming pool and barbecue.. You need to walk only 5 minutes to reach the bus to go to IGUAZU FALLS (20 minutes drive). A supermarket - 4 minutes by foot and a LOTS of good restaurants nearby...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela_sulmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Had water on the floor on the 2nd day coming from the outside. Everything (house, rooms, furniture etc.) was very old with some bits broken. Reception doesn't speak English. Bus station not far and bars and restaurants are close by. Air-conditioning was a blessing. Breakfast very basic. Wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToasterC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed here for four days and could have stayed longer. It is about 150 meters from the bus stop. Leave the bus station by the main door, turn left cross the road and turn right. It is up this road on the left. The staff are great, friendly and plenty of information. This place is kept clean, has a huge kitchen and your bed is made everyday for you. It is a converted house but left as it was and has a great homely feeling. The pool, though small is a big plus. I will come here again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Константин С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastian t, Gerente at El Guembe Hostel House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bego1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matías N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iguazu Royal
Hotel Iguazu Royal
#36 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Peter Pan
Hostel Peter Pan
#58 of 132 in Puerto Iguazu
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Iguazu Rey Hostel
#42 of 132 in Puerto Iguazu
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Park Iguazu
Hostel Park Iguazu
#79 of 132 in Puerto Iguazu
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
#30 of 132 in Puerto Iguazu
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Uno
Residencial Uno
#88 of 132 in Puerto Iguazu
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Guembe Hostel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Guembe Hostel House

Address: Av. Guarani esq. Gobernador Lanusse, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £9 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your El Guembe Hostel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing