We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroach Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Guembe Hostel House
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I booked into this hostel after having a pretty mouldy experience in another hostel nearby and I was hoping for a good nights sleep and a hot shower.
They were pretty helpful when I arrived letting me check in at 9am as the room was ready. The girl didn't speak English, but I don't speak very good Spanish so can't complain and we got round communication with Google translate.
Returning from my day trip out I took a shower that was hot, but getting out I noticed there was a dead cockroach on the floor. Then more live ones started to appear. The guy on reception was very helpful coming to the room to remove the dead cockroach and get rid of the live ones explaining that there are occasional cockroaches in the area, but the hostel didn't have a problem. Then more appeared and it was to much for me.
After one sleepless night in the hostel (it was now late at night and I had paid) I hightailed it out of there to a more expensive but clean option.
I spoke to some other people who had been there a few nights and they said that they had no problems so maybe I was unlucky.
Saving graces - location is good, very close to the bus station. Also the staff on reception were as helpful as they could be. But if you hate cockroaches like me, then don't stay there!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_A3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

The hostel is extremely dirty. The room smells of damp walls. There are plenty of blood marks of dead insects on the wall, and for me the worse is bed linen. So dirty, we were thankful we had sleeping bags with us. The bathroom was even worse, the smell was amazing. We had to give up and pass on shower.
The staffs are smiley, but unfortunately not helpful and not informative. Any question and they shrug their shoulders, offering to call the manager, who unfortunately does not answer the phone.
Comparing to another hostels in South America this one dose not allowed you to hang around after check out and they don’t offer luggage storage. This facility is available at the bus terminal but only until 7pm.
Puerto Iguazu is a beautiful place; don’t spoil your time by staying in this inhospitable hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwaDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Sinc it's one of the cheapest in Iguazu, it was a good hostel. There's a pool for when it's too hot and air conditioning in the rooms. It's not that clean though and breakfast is average, like anywhere else but white a homemade cake.
I really disliked that we had to wait the whole day for our bus after check out and they wanted us to pay for using the shower and even the pool! It was really hot and we were bored, I don't really understand what it would cost them to let us use the pool but I found it insulting (I understand the shower, but why not the pool?). Not enough bathrooms.

It's not the best hostel there is but if you're on a budget, it's definitely fine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieSultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed here for three nights, met up with my brother for reunion.
He booked a private room in advance and there was no room left in the dorm so I could stay in the private room (which had three beds) with my brother.

The location is good, just a block away from the busterminal and on the way there is a great bakery for sandwiches which you can bring to Iguazu waterfalls.
The hostel is nice and really quiet and has a good swimming pool.
Staff was friendly but did mostly not take notice of your presentence, could also be the lack of speaking Spanish! ;-)

Good place to stay and price/quality is good. Be sure to visit both sides of the Iguazu falls it is really worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertuithaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We did like el guembe hostel for our 2 nights stay in Puerto Iguazu. We have taken a double room with private services, clean, spacious, number 8, on the second floor. WI FI internet at good speed in the room and in the garden of hotel. A small swimming pool and barbecue.. You need to walk only 5 minutes to reach the bus to go to IGUAZU FALLS (20 minutes drive). A supermarket - 4 minutes by foot and a LOTS of good restaurants nearby...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela_sulmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Had water on the floor on the 2nd day coming from the outside. Everything (house, rooms, furniture etc.) was very old with some bits broken. Reception doesn't speak English. Bus station not far and bars and restaurants are close by. Air-conditioning was a blessing. Breakfast very basic. Wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToasterC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed here for four days and could have stayed longer. It is about 150 meters from the bus stop. Leave the bus station by the main door, turn left cross the road and turn right. It is up this road on the left. The staff are great, friendly and plenty of information. This place is kept clean, has a huge kitchen and your bed is made everyday for you. It is a converted house but left as it was and has a great homely feeling. The pool, though small is a big plus. I will come here again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Park Iguazu
Hostel Park Iguazu
#80 of 133 in Puerto Iguazu
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Iguazu Rey Hostel
#42 of 133 in Puerto Iguazu
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Peter Pan
Hostel Peter Pan
#61 of 133 in Puerto Iguazu
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residencial Uno
Residencial Uno
#88 of 133 in Puerto Iguazu
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Iquazu Falls
Hostel Iquazu Falls
#19 of 133 in Puerto Iguazu
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
TangoInn Downtown Iguazu
#31 of 133 in Puerto Iguazu
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Guembe Hostel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Guembe Hostel House

Address: Av. Guarani esq. Gobernador Lanusse, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: £13 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your El Guembe Hostel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing